We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being refitted but still good job!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-15%
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Being refitted but still good job!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The restaurant was closed on arrival and for the next 24 hours, but still the room was tidy and well stocked, even if it was a tiny bit small (like being back in Europe)

24 hour room service was a small menu but food was good and not too over priced

Staff where friendly and helpfull.

get the blue line to O@hare - round the corner from the airport, silly cheap and quicker than a cab!

Good job!

Room Tip: I went back of the property to avoid street noise
See more room tips
Green Features: not sure they had any, not sure why i have to fill this in.....
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear EnglishmaninAZ,

Thank for you a great review. We are excited you enjoyed your time in Chicago. Hotel Burnham is such a charm, we are the first steel framed skyscraper of our kind in the midwest. Design by the renowned Daniel Hudson Burnham in 1895. This Building is really something special and our guest love it. It is a very European style Hotel with ornate design. We hope to have you with us again. On your next visit, please the Atwood (restaurant) will be open for you to dine.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    225
    35
    17
    13
See reviews for
127
370
82
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary, and the staff at Hotel Burnham truly made it a memorable trip. When making reservations, I mentioned that we would staying for our anniversary. With that one little mention, the staff (special thank you to Gretchen who is one of the best hospitality manager’s I have met), ran with it and truly cared about making the weekend a great time for both of us. When we checked in, everything was perfect and the staff had provided some great goodies for my wife to enjoy (her first time staying in a Kimpton). I have stayed at many hotels but the Hotel Burnham and its staff have so much charm and character that it is now one of our favorites

Green Features: You can feel comfortable staying here as the hotel truly cares about the environment.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear John J,

Thank you for this marvelous review. The staff is the BEST and they give it everything they have to ensure that our guest is comfortable and satisfied. This sound like a home run on our part and that is just what we are looking for. Again... Happy Anniversary and we look forward to have you with us again in you new favorite KIMPTON Hotel.

Thank you,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is ideally located if you want to see/do al the touristy things in Chicago. Its one block from the Blue line CTA train stop for easy and cheap access to the airport. Several CTA buses from other nearby stops take you to most tourist attractions. Tons of nice places to eat within a 10 minute walking distance- Giordano's, Hot woks cool sushi, wildberry pancakes etc. We walked over to Millennium Park in 5 min early morning when it was free from crowds you typically see during the July 4th weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Travelbug874,

I hear you love Chicago. Thanks for the great review. Great review.... Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I hope you had a good time touring some of the attractions. The transit system is amazing and extremely easy to get around on. Because we are so centrally located to most attractions it makes it very easy to get to the required destination. We love having you with us. Thank for staying at a Kimpton Hotel.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Excellent location! Loved our room and the atmosphere in the hotel. We only stayed one night, but would definitely stay here again. Looked like they had bikes in the lobby that guests could borrow as well as a reception. We didn't take advantage of either, but will next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Shannon M,

Thank you for the wonderful review... I hope this will not be the last time you stay with us. The bike will be in the lobby for our guest to ride until November 1st. Hopefully, your return visit will be before November 1st and you can definitely take a spin on our cool Kimpton Bike. Thank you for your kind words.

Best,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryn mawr, pa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I really like the Kimpton brand, their combination of luxury and whimsy appeal to me.
This particular hotel in a very historic building, the Reliance Building.
Check-in a breeze even though we were over an hour early and booked through Hotwire.
Very very comfortable bed with great pillows under a high ceiling.
Spacious bathroom with terrific amenities. A luxurious stay that includes wine hour every day.
Atwood Cafe was quite good, with great windows and people-watching seating.

The location is spectacular, steps away from the Red Line, the Blue Line, The El, Grant Park, Millennium Park, fantastic shopping.
Contrary to what others have said, I heard no street noise, and I was on a pretty low floor.
All in all, another great Kimpton stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Lefty713,

Yabba Dabba Doo, We love your review! We are happy to know that the staff and services that were provided meet your expectations. Please recommend us to all your friends and family we will definitely give them the same service and amenities. Hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a very well restored old building. Beautiful rooms, very attentive staff. Good wifi.
The great thing is the location. Central to everything in downtown Chicago.
The bad thing is the location. Construction crews have been jack hammering at the intersection of State and Washington where the Burnham is located almost continuously for the last seven years. In addition, the L train runs a block away and it might as well go through the hotel. There are also street kids drumming on plastic cans across from the hotel and lots of traffic noise. I realize that all of this noise is outside of the control of the hotel, but travelers need to be aware of it. I was on the 15 th (top floor) and there was a lot of outside noise day and night.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green hotel. They recycle and have a green hotel certification .
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Mr. RaySF84,

First and foremost....We Back! We definitely agree that we are on a busy intersection with lots of people exploring the city with buckets, trains, and city work. We sincerly apologize for the discomfortable and lack of sleep this caused you. Only if we were in control of the City of Chicago (Officials) of course this would never take place (the jack hammering). The City crew has moved a few block west of the hotel so there is a sign of relief. We hope this doesn't discourage you from visiting the property again. Thank for give us another try and lets hope on the next visit State & Washington is free of city works.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I was in Chicago visiting some relatives who came up from the D.C. area. This hotel is in a fantastic location, close to a lot of attractions. It was also necessary to find a hotel that allowed dogs and this one did. The rooms were clean, charming and well appointed. The staff were extremely friendly as well. It's a no brainer to recommend this hotel, but here is my caveat: if you have a dog, the hotel has NO green space. Yes, Millennium Park is three blocks east, BUT they don't allow dogs, and I was chased out of there several times.

The hotel cannot of course change the park rules, but some type of green space would be great. It was very difficult to take my dog out so he could just do his business.

Outside of that I really enjoyed everything else about the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Andrew E,

Thank you so much for giving us this amazing review. We wish we could change the rules of the Park Districk.... Unfortunately, we are powerless to the government... I will have the staff brainstorm on getting a small area of green space (not sure where at this time). We are happy to know that the staff and services that were provided meet your expectations. We love dogs so we hope you come again with you dog. Hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#13 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, the Hotel Burnham is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, the Hotel Burnham provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and adjacent to Atwood Café, the hotel is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.