We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had 5 amazing days in Chicago at this hotel. Great service, great staff, lovely room, right in the heart of everything and within easy walking distance of all major attractions such as Millenium Park, Cloudgate, restaurants and bars, shopping, Magnificant Mile, etc. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear MichB26,

Thank you so much for spending 5 days at the Hotel Burnham. We really appreciate your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. One of the best things about staying with us is that we are centrally located to all the major attractions. It sounds like you had a good visit. We hope your next visit to Chicago bring you to the Hotel Burnham. We are looking forward to seeing you once again.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Chicago, IL 60602
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    233
    35
    17
    13
See reviews for
131
380
83
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

For my last stay at this hotel on business, I accidently booked the hotel with an extra tour of the architecture of Chicago as a special package. Although I would have liked to do the tour, I had a full day of meetings so that was not possible. I just goofed when making the reservation. The Burnham staff asked when I wanted to take the tour so I found out about my error. They fixed the problem immediately and booked me into a room at the usual business rate.

The room I had was on the 14th floor looking out at the Chicago Theater sign. The room was small, but perfect for a one night stay. I also enjoyed the glass of wine while checking in. In this case, I also had breakfast in the restaurant and it was very good. I try to stay at this hotel whenever I am in this area of Chicago.

Room Tip: All of the rooms on the higher floors are nice. Lower floors have more street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mercurychase,

I'm very happy to hear that the staff was able to assist you with reorganizing your reservation. I must say that are wonderful to work with and I could not ask for me. We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

It make me proud to hear that you will be back for a 2nd visit. See you soon!

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This first class hotel has everything going for it. First and foremost, it is beautiful inside and out. The restoration of this property is outstanding. The location is perfect to so many places including theater and highlights of downtown within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helpful in giving directions and suggestions. The food in its restaurant is very well prepared. My room was very large, comfortable, and well appointed. The very high ceiling added to the spacious feeling.

Room Tip: The suite rooms are very large and sunny, with lots of windows, especially if you are lucky enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear LarryH0322,

We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I only spend one night at this hotel. But I really loved this place, is a very different hotel. Not like hilton, marriot or the other hotel brands. They will let you use the hotel bikes so you can go around the city and explore. If you have the opportunitie to stay in here do it. You wont regret it. The staff is very friendly also.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Enzi2006,

We are so excited to hear that the Kimpton Bikes was a big hit during your stay! We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was really everything you could ask for---quiet---clean---comfortable and a good value. They even gave me a complimentary bottle of wine---and had an umbrella to loan out. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear DJleland,

We try to think of anything you might need during your stay. I happy to hear that the umbrella and bottle of wine was helpful. We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I almost forgot to review this hotel, and I dont know why. It has everything going for it. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. The building was 19th century and built by one of the giants of the Chicago school of architects. The location is astounding and central, with a straight shot few blocks to millennium park. Kimpton often has quirky, trendy hotels, many in older buildings but this one is different. The building is top-notch, the amenities and finishes dont seem to be trendy for its own sake. It is a true gem. Chicago has many fine hotels I must say but now that I have stayed here, I would be hard-pressed to return to the W, the Drake, or the Park Hyatt, especially since this hotel is also much less expensive, which is an added benefit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Kimparklee,

Wow! I'm really excited to hear the Hotel Burnham is your first choice over the Hyatt, Marriott, W and We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The Kimpton hotel chain is pretty great and this hotel does not disappoint. It's in a cool, older building in the Financial District and just a short walk to the Magnificent Mile and River North. The Financial District gets pretty quiet at night and has a lot of chain stores, but it's so close to everything, it doesn't matter. The staff here are great and the free evening wine hour was nice too. The rooms were also very nice and nicely decorated. I read on here that some people thought the rooms were too small. They are on the smaller side. We had a double room though and had plenty of space.

If you are interested in getting a good view, be sure to pay a small up charge for a higher floor.

Overall, I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Ann R,

Thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor. We are located in the heart of Chicago Loop. Very accessible to all the major attractions. We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride of ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, the Hotel Burnham is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, the Hotel Burnham provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and adjacent to Atwood Café, the hotel is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.