We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Chicago Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #13 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Heart of Chicago Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Last week, my husband and I stayed at the Hotel Burnham in celebration of our 30th Anniversary. As a Chicago native who has long lived away from the city, I have never taken the time to play tourist and stay in a downtown hotel. From the onset, our stay at the Hotel Burnham was wonderful. We arrived at the hotel around noon and a room was ready for us. We were asked if our travel was for a special occasion and we mentioned that it was our anniversary. We dropped our bag in our room and hit the town. When we returned to our room, we were greeted with a bottle of wine and a small box of Frango mints, a Marshall Fields original. It was a delightful surprise.

Hotel Burnham is located at the corner of Washington and State Street, across from Macy's. Our room overlooked Washington, and we could watch the hustle and bustle of the ever moving city reclined on the Chaise Lounge in the bay window. The room was very sound proof and the hallways were quiet. Quiet central air provided a nice cool room on a hot summer day. While not an incredibly large room, it was well appointed. A mini bar in the cabinet went unused, but was available. The closet held robes, an umbrella, a safe, iron and board, a hair dryer and a yoga mat for use while a guest. Toiletries are made by C.O. Bigelow and were very nice. A sign assures you that the front desk may have items you may have forgotten, such as toothpaste. The queen size bed had both feather and fiber filled pillows to choose from. The hotel lobby was comfortable with several seating areas. Throughout the day infused water, iced tea and fresh lemonade are available to guests. In the evening, you are invited to enjoy a glass of wine at the wine reception. Morning offers coffee and a variety of teas. There is restaurant in the building, but we did not dine there. The hotel staff was very helpful throughout our stay. We needed a place to leave our bags after we checked out as our train did not leave for several hours and they were very accommodating.

The location of the hotel is ideal, especially if you plan on going to one of the nearby theaters. The Bank of America, The Chicago, The Cadillac Palace and The Oriental Theaters are within easy walking distance. Macy's and State Street offer many shopping opportunities. There is a Garret's Popcorn nearby, which is not to be missed. We enjoyed the hotel's central location to Navy Pier, the Museum Campus and all points in between.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Kim K,

Wow! We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Our afternoon Lemonade has been one of the main attractions of the summer. And of course the Kimpton Bike has take Chicago visitor by storm. We are delighted with your feedback and ask that you share your Kimpton experience with all of your friends and family. Please help us share the secret about the wonderful Hotel we have. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    233
    35
    17
    13
See reviews for
131
381
83
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I cannot express enough how lively our stay at Hotel Burnham was! Our 4 day stay was fun filled, extremely comfortable and the staff were so very accommodating.
We paid a small fee for an upgrade to the King Suite (1403) and were not disappointed. The room is beautiful, with stunning views!
It is well worth joining the Preferred Members Club to enjoy free wifi and borrowing of bikes. This is an ecursion nit to be missed. There are 28km of beautiful urban bike trails! Be sure to like their Facebook page for fun freebee promos.
Thanks Hotel Burnham for a fabulous weekend! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear SClark133,

Wow! We loved your review. Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review of the Hotel Burnham. We pride ourselves on getting it right. We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with the Historical Reliance Building and that we lived up to the Kimpton Standards as well as your expectations. Our Kimpton Bike has taken the city by storm, everyone want to ride. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for a fantastic review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is not a four star - THIS is a FIVE star Kimpton Hotel. I was blown away at how amazing our stay at this property was. First, the small, yet inviting and very comfortable lobby is indeed a place to mingle and meet guests. We checked in literally in about less than ten minutes. The elevators, stairs, and hallways are beautifully decorated. This facility was remarkable clean. We requested a top floor room and they put on the 14th floor, but warned us the room would be pretty small. When we walked into the room - it was VERY small, but this was because it was a business room (I think that's what it was called). Five minutes into the small room, the front desk staff called and asked us if we were satisfied with the room and he asked us if we'd like to see a bigger room on the third floor. When we saw the bigger room (which I believe is the normal size rooms) they allowed us to switch rooms, which was great. The rooms are nicely stocked with liquor, some snacks, and wine. The wine hour was flawless and I was tipsy after a few glasses of FREE Chardonnay! The general manager was amazing; she was actually serving the wine! The staff was outstanding, the service was flawless. This is an amazing property. If you are looking for location, value, and an AMAZING hotel, this place is where you want to be.

Thank you to the General Manager for running this place flawlessly.

Room Tip: Book through your cell phone on hotels.com for a good discount. We saved 40%. Also, the business roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear JamesonJunior,

Wowed! Thank you for the Flawless Review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Hotel Burnham. We are definitely happy that we were able to make a good impression on you. Please share your experience with your friends and family we want to wow them also. Thanks again for the great feedback about our hotel and staff.

Ps. A nice glass of wine makes everything okay!

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We love Kimpton hotels and this was one of our favorites in Chicago. (We actually tried out all the Kimpton hotels in Chicago if you are trying to decide which one to stay in: http://twoeconomists.blogspot.com/2013/07/chicago-pt-2-where-we-stayed.html)

The staff was extremely friendly and kind. Our room was a corner king room on the 8th floor with a view of the iconic "Chicago" sign facing north and the Millennium Park stage facing east. We were close enough to a ton of shopping. Close to the L stop and walking distance to most of the downtown attractions. The bathroom was pretty basic and the elevators small, but that is to be expected in a renovated building from last century. The lobby was also a little small, which made it harder to hang out there during the wine happy hour (another wonderful perk of Kimpton hotels). Our only major regret was that we didn't eat at the restaurant and we didn't stay longer.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear CoffeeFanDC,

WOW, We Love your review! We are so excited that you chose to stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. And we are even more delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is fantastic and we are lucky to have them. The history of the building actually brings everything alive, but the location cannot be beat. Hands down we are literally located to most of the major attraction in the city. Excited to hear that you had the best view in town "The Chicago Sign". Thanks for a wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location! Its next to lots of great shopping, 2 blocks from Millennium Park, and surrounded by lots of restaurants. And the staff here is soooo nice! Then there is the other side of the spectrum. The room here was the smallest hotel room ive ever seen, no less stayed in. The room I was in was about the size of a college dorm room. Also, the shower in my room was the old school bathtub/shower. So, it is great in some ways, and the opposite of great in another way. If you are willing to live with that room size, then its a great spot to stay. If you, like I, cannot deal with that room size, then keep looking!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Cmdreyer,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the shopping and restaurants just outside the hotel. The Historical Reliance Building was originally a doctors and dentist office built in 1895. The first steel frame skyscraper in the Midwest, so it a very special place for most people that visit Chicago. Thanks again for the great feedback about our hotel and staff.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay with a group of friends. It was our first time in Chicago and as our time was limited, we needed a central location so that we could pack in everything that we wanted to see and do. We chose the right hotel! The location was brilliant.

Our room was spotlessly clean and although it was compact, it had everything that we needed for our stay. If you forget anything in the way of toiletries etc, the hotel has a wide range of complimentary items that you can request from reception. We had emailed ahead and requested rooms on the same floor, which the hotel honoured. However, as the rooms were on the second floor two of our party opted to move rooms the next day to a higher floor with a better view. I had unpacked by then and to be honest couldn't be bothered to move! The rooms were a little tired but I understand they are due to be refreshed later this year.

Included in our room rate we had a continental style breakfast in the Atwood Café, consisting of coffee, orange juice, toast/muffin/bagel and a fruit plate and this was really good value. The Café has wonderful decor and we really enjoyed taking a leisurely breakfast and soaking up the atmosphere. The wine hour in reception was fantastic too. We took full advantage of this (maybe a little too much on some occasions!).

The staff were fantastic and as has been said on previous reviews, Jean-Luc (sorry if I have spelt that wrong!) on reception deserves a special mention. In fact, I would go as far as to say that he made the holiday for us. He was always so friendly, knowledgeable and professional. If you get to read this Jean-Luc, thank you very much for all of your help.

In summary, we had a great stay and I would be happy to recommend this hotel to my friends and family, which is about the highest accolade I can give!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Jelliekat,

WOW, We Love your review! We are so excited that you chose to stay at the Hotel Burnham. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. And we are even more delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is fantastic and we are lucky to have them, especially Jean Luc. The history of the building actually brings everything alive, but the location cannot be beat. Hands down we are literally located to most of the major attraction in the city. The Atwood Cafe is also an amazing place to have breakfast, lunch or dinner. The space where the Atwood Cafe is housed s the one Carson Pirie Scott Store in Chicago. So the history of the building is most interesting. Please come to visit the hotel again soon.


Ps. Hope you enjoyed your meeting.


Warm regards,


Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Hotel Burnham in Chicago a number of times. We return because of the wonderful experience. The hotel has excellent decor, and the staff is wonderful. They now offer free bicycles to those who need them! Burnham is located in Chicago's theater district, just a short walk from the best theaters and Millennium Park, and about 15 minutes by foot to the Miracle Mile. All things considered, you can't ask for anything more!

Room Tip: The upper rooms (7th or 8th floor and above) are the best, since the retain more of the old "ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Peter P,

Welcome Back! It's always a great feeling to have a guest visit multiple times and get the some service or better. We aim to please and we are definitely very pleased with your review. The bikes are an extra bonus and all of the guests love them. We also have added yoga matts in every guest room just in case you are in the mood for yoga. Our staff is fantastic and we are surely lucky to have them. The Historical Reliance Building helps bring the Hotel Burnham experience alive. Thanks for being a loyal guest, we appreciate you.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, the Hotel Burnham is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, the Hotel Burnham provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and adjacent to Atwood Café, the hotel is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.