We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Old Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekend Special
Ranked #12 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Arlington Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Taste of Old Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I live in the northwest suburbs of Chicago, and my wife and I stay in the city every Spring, usually at a different hotel each time. We've been doing this for years, so we've stayed at lots of them. All of them have their strengths and weaknesses, but our favorite is the Burnham Kimpton. The service is friendly without being servile. The beds are firm and comfortable, and the rooms well appointed. The lobby and halls, with their beautiful old wood and metal work, has an old fashioned elegance that never goes out of style. The Atwood cafe, with its windows looking out on State and Washington, is elegant but intimate. And best of all, it's off the tourist track of Michigan Avenue, a little more in touch with the real, working heart of Chicago's Loop, but it's also just a two or three block walk straight to Millennium Park and the Art Institute. This is an old school hotel made fresh and new. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Chris B,

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you for your fantastic review of the Hotel Burnham. We are excited to hear that Hotel Burnham is your favorite hotel out of the many you have experience. Sharing your feedback on tripadvisor is awesome, because it allows others to read and want to give us a try as well. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    734
    214
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
121
350
80
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great service , Well maintained, Friendly and helpful staff. Nice hour of complimentary wine. Check in was the fastest I have ever seen. Ended up getting a great price and would go back again. Great location within walking distance of many restaurants and bars along with a Walgreens right next door if you happen to forget something. Wonderful , Wonderful !

Room Tip: Ask for a humidifier in the winter and room service will deliver it otherwise its very dry. Street s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Sheldon 7220,

Great feedback! Thank you for the wonderful review. We're glad that we could make your stay enjoyable. We are located in the best neighborhood downtown, the Loop. It is convenient to walk to Theater's, Shopping, Parks and good eats. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just spent 2 nights downtown Chicago at Hotel Burnham. It's a very nice boutique hotel. Quite charming, well-maintained, helpful & friendly staff and great location. we would highly recommend this hotel. They sometimes offer specials so we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: we had an opportunity to upgrade to a suite and loved our room & view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear JoAnn B,

Thank you very much for rating the Hotel Burnham 5 Stars! We really appreciate you feedback and is very excited that we could exceed your expectations. Our goal is to give you an experience that is worthy of sharing with your friends and family, so they can stay with us also. I hope we have the opportunity of accommodating you when you are in the Chicago Loop area. Thank again for the awesome review.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stay often at the The Hotel Burnham and it never disappoints! The friendly service is consistent, making me feel at home. The front desk staff is by far the best I've encountered. They take care of all my needs. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and clean.It's the only place I stay when I visit Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Chris K,

Thank you for being a loyal Hotel Burnham guest! We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit. I'm excited to hear that we have been consistent throughout your visits. The staff is wonderful and is always looking for ways to keep the guest coming back. Again, thank you and we can't wait until your next visit.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I just completed my third stay at the Hotel Burnham, and walked away convinced that it had finally outdone its sister, Hotel Allegro, as my lodging of choice in the Windy City. Both Kimpton properties provide a great mix of cool architecture, great design, good value, and ridiculously high levels of service. But the Burnham's cozy feel is simply unbeatable, especially on those cold Chicago days ... there's nothing like coming in out of the cold, being greeted by name by the desk staff and sitting in front of the fire to warm up. The Cafe Atwood's bar is terrific too - the mixologists there really know their cocktails! Highly recommended for business travelers - though I'm eager to take my wife there someday soon too ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear GDMatthews,

A little health competition is always good for sister's! You just warmed up my day with the superb review. Can't wait to see your wife on the next visit. Please let her know that we will welcome her with open arms. Thanks for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. Anytime you want to get away, come to your second home, Hotel Burnham.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Hotel Burnham delivered...luxury and warmth on a cold Chicago weekend. Being an In Touch Member certainly helps. We were upgraded to a beautiful corner King Suite and enjoyed our magnificent view of Millennium Park and north on State St. Breakfast in the Atwood Cafe is a delight...much appreciated warmth as we watched the snow fall and the wind howl through giant picture windows. Food was excellent as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite on an upper floor of the Northeast corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Daniel G,

Thank you very much for rating the Hotel Burnham 5 Stars! We really appreciate you feedback and is very excited that we could exceed your expectations. Our goal is to give you an experience that is worthy of sharing with your friends and family, so they can stay with us also. Happy to hear that we warmed you up during the sub below weather. Hopefully you enjoyed the hot chocolate and tea. Thank again for the awesome review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Another wonderful stay at a Kimpton hotel! I never fail to have my expectations met and exceeded. The service was first-rate, thanks to a friendly and helpful staff, and the location was perfect. Once again, the Kimpton team has taken an interesting older building, retained the charm and architectural details, and transformed the space into a comfortable and welcoming experience. No cookie-cutter rooms here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Roadsscholar,

I'm happy we did not disappoint. Thank you for the GREAT review! The Historical Reliance is always a crowd pleaser. Daniel Burnham really brung a lot of charm to Chicago and of course the Hotel Burnham benefit from this architectual genius. Thank you for the great response.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#13 Family Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, the Hotel Burnham is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, the Hotel Burnham provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and adjacent to Atwood Café, the hotel is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.