We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE it here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Dining Credit
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Algonquin, Illinois
1 review
“LOVE it here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stay here every time we visit the city for the weekend. The hotel is beautiful and has been restored back to it's historical state. The staff is incredibly professional and friendly. The rooms are nice and clean. The restaurant and bar are nice and the food is excellent. HUGE bonus for us: The hotel is pet friendly and the staff treat your pets like their own. Love, LOVE, this place!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites facing State street offer an incredible view of Lake Millennium Park and Lake Michigan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamFOM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We do love our furry guests, and would never want you to travel without them! Thanks for your review, and I hope to have you and your pet back again soon!

Well wishes from the Windy City!

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    267
    42
    20
    16
See reviews for
156
434
90
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here last weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday. When we walked in, there was a party goin on with people around the fireplace talking over glasses of wine. The front desk took care of us very quickly as we were really tired from the long drive. Within minutes, we were whisked up to the 15th floor to a beautiful Queen room with an awesome view. There on the desk was a handwritten note welcoming us with a birthday greeting and a bottle of wine with an opener and 2 glasses!
It felt like we just came home!
The view was great - on one side of the street we could see the Kristkindle Market and on the other side of the street we could see the Marshall Fields/Macy's building.
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Downstairs the next morning for breakfast at the Cafe Atwood was awesome - we had Mimosa's and Eggs Benedict - the Cafe was beautiful and the staff were wonderful!
Great location for anythin you woul want to do in Chicago - everything was either within walking distance or a $7 cab ride.
We spent 2 nights - can truly say it was one of best hotel expierences we have had!

Room Tip: Sign up for their frequent guest program for an upgrade and a $10 mini bar coupon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamFOM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear WOFCHIK,

Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about your time at the Hotel Burnham. I am so glad that you had (what sounds like) a fun weekend birthday celebration, and that you felt at home...that's what we shoot for!

It's hard to get anything more beautiful, than Chicago during the Holiday's. I'm thrilled you got to enjoy the scene from your room!

Until next year,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I will definitely stay here again. The proximity to downtown was excellent, the staff was superb, and the room was very comfortable. I also used the weight room and while it was small it had everything I needed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamFOM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We look forward to having you again, Tb2952! Thank you for your review.

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I resided in downtown Chicago for approximately 18 years, had dined at their restaurant once. I had always wanted to stay at the hotel after they completed the full renovations to bring the hotel back to its original state. It is absolutely gorgeous! They have done such an amazing job making you feel like you are literally on a historic adventure, however updated with gorgeous glamour. Every staff member is wonderful and helpful, and so friendly. My husband I and I stayed there to celebrate our 2nd year anniversary and to attend the Opera. We traveled with our small dog, Sadie. We were so surprised and pleased that this gorgeous hotel allows pets as we were very happy that she could attend with us and not to be boarded. There are so many noteworthy compliments:

1.) they hotel key is literally an old time gold key that you use. It makes you feel like you are staying in a historic treasure.

2.) It has a great view of downtown Chicago

3.) They have a wonderful complimentary wine hour for guests in a lovely seating area w/fireplace

4.) the food at the restaurant is fantastic!

5.) they make you feel special as they are generally interested in what you are doing in Chicago while you stay with them.

6.) they have a great stocked hotel fridge and there is plenty of room to put anything additional that you purchased outside of the hotel in it.

All in all, this is the best hotel I have EVER stayed in to date. We had an amazing stay and experience that was memorable and we will stay there again most likely when we celebrate many of our wedding anniversaries :)

Room Tip: Any room is amazing. We chose to stay on a floor that was previous office spaces and it had the orig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamFOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Happy Anniversary, xtine312! We are all so glad that you and your husband enjoyed yourselves, it sounds like you had a lot of fun! Thanks for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community!

See you next year,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I know my husband will want to stay here again when we return to Chicago. We love the hotel itself with all the history. The building is beautiful. The restaurant looks amazing...so cozy with an inviting bar. It has long huge windows to look outside at all the shoppers. The hotel staff is always very friendly and will help you with anything. They have a wine hour from 5-6 p.m. nightly for the hotel guests. There is a small "living room" with fireplace to sit if you get there really early since there are not many seats. You just couldn't ask for a better place. It is across from macy's. If Michigan Avenue is crying out to you it is only a $6.00 cab ride away. Anything we went to seemed to be 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: The corners are the best. We did have a room #405 where we had an excellent view of the thanksgivin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamFOM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear AlwaysShopping,

I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay here at the Hotel Burnham. Thanks for the review!

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Staff was BEYOND nice and accommodating from the moment we pulled up to the valet until we checked out. Darnell at the front desk was awesome. Made sure we had a room with a great view of the Thanksgiving Day parade and seemed genuinely concerned that we were happy throughout our stay. Rest of the staff was great as well. Nicest bellman ever. Hotel was very clean, lots of charm and very chic. Can't wait to stay again. By the way, a girlfriend of mine has stayed at a bunch of other hotels in other cities owned by this same chain and she had great experiences at all of them as well. Sign up for their rewards program and get free WiFi and a $10 mini bar credit plus I found a 20% off coupon code for room after I did which made the room charge beyond reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Bnbvkelly,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Burnham and certainly thank you for the amazing review. As a Kimpton Hotel we pride ourselves on providing the best customer service to ensure that our guest has the best time possible. I'm happy to hear that it was a home run! Thanks again for sharing your review on Tripadvisor and we look forward to your next visit. Happy Holidays to you and your family.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Centrally located, with ready access to Blue Line -- so easy to get to from ORD. Staff were very professional upon arrival. Eighth floor provided excellent view of city, and building interior is wonderfully restored. Kimpton hotels are my favorite, so as a first time stay at this property I was looking forward to seeing the room. All amenities up to Kimpton standards. I would have rated the stay excellent If the carpet condition (a big deal for me) wasn't as worn. If I was staying more than one night, I would have asked for a room change to see if other rooms were similar. Overall I'd recommend.

Room Tip: This hotel is in the financial district, and is quiet at night. Easy walking distance to other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Cooncat123,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Burnham. We love to hear that our guest enjoyed the hotel as well as the staff. We take pride in prividing the best customer service possible. I would like to apologized for the worn carpet. We are working on getting a refresh of the guest rooms in 2013, this will include a carpet change. Again, I apologize and hope this doesn't change you perception of the hotel. Thanks again and Happy Holidays to you and your family.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,486 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#9 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,641 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#6 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, the Hotel Burnham is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, the Hotel Burnham provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and adjacent to Atwood Café, the hotel is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.