We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #40 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
St. Augustine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great location, we walked to everything for our girls shopping trip. Hotel s very nice with a great staff. The room and public area were very clean. We choose the valet parking as driving and parking downtown is a challenge. We choose to walk & push stroller to all of our dining and shopping locations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad that we had a part in what sounds like a wonderful shopping trip here in our great city! We look forward to wecloming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    477
    116
    25
    28
See reviews for
265
251
88
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

the hotel is located in the really great location, very close to metro station, many sightseeing, restaurants, grocery store and shopping. the bed in the room was awesome! however breakfast wasn't included. a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments posted on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed our central location and new bedding! We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Del Este, Paraguay
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is on an excelente location near Magnifcent Mile. The subway is just outside the door!
The rooms are big, with confortable beds, mini bar and a great coffee maker with complimentary coffee capsules every day.
The restaurant is good... breakfast is affordable and has a lot to offer. The hotel also has a small Starbucks on the lobby, but it closes very early. There's a sauna, an inside pool and a well equiped gym. It does the job!
If I return to Chicago, I could definately stay here again.
The only con: they had a refaction work on the lobby, that obstructed the way and make the hallway dirty, but I was just a thing of a few days.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciated hearing that you found our newly remodeled rooms to be to your liking! It is our hope that we continue to be your hotel of choice the next time Chicago is part of your travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here the other night, and I was very impressed with how clean it is.

Usually staying in hotels I hate using their pillows and almost feel dirty after sleeping in hotels bed, but this hotel was so clean and fresh I did not have that thought at all, and really liked their shampoo and conditioner which doesn't happen very often.

Hotel is in a great location. Right in the middle of the city, close to everything! and I highly recommend staying here.

PLEASE NOTE: Parking is NOT CHEAP, It was 60$ a day. That is insane in my opinion!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments with us. We enjoyed hearing that our cleanliness and bedding lived up to your expectations! Cleanliness is job #1 so its always great hearing that we meet these expectations. Parking is a challenge for all of us due to the high level of taxes placed on all parking options here downtown, so we share your frustration. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Finishing up renovations this month. From the looks of it the are almost 100% complete. Fitness center is large and they not only have dumbbells and treadmills but also steppers, bikes, room for work on the floor (yoga, stretching, push-ups, etc.) and a cable system which is a rare find. Webber Grill restaurant is attached downstairs and provides a buffet breakfast for about $10 with available omelets, waffles, French toast, etc for an additional $5. There are MULTIPLE restaurants within walking distance. Also, train stops and subway access are very close. Walls are a little thin but about average for most hotels. The room doors need some adjustment as they slam shut and it's pretty loud but hopefully they will have this taken care of soon if enough people bring it up. Parking is a little high, $55-60 for valet and $45 overnight for self park. Also for self park it only takes about 3 hours to get to that $45 mark. I parked for 2 hours and it was $30. This is to be expected downtown but still a little ridiculous. Nothing to do with the hotel as it is not their parking lot but is part of the overall experience of staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. As you highlighted our renovation is now complete! It was great to hear that you found our updated fitness center to your liking. I will also be sharing your comments with our friends at Weber Grill so they are aware of your praises. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is a great one for anyone traveling to Chicago. It has the perfect location. It is close to almost all of the major shopping and tons of restaurants. I was beyond impressed by the staff at this hotel. They weren't only friendly, but they truly cared about you and how your stay went. When I come back to Chicago I will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. Your compliments regarding our staff and level of service was greatly appreciated! We strive each day to deliver on our promise. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just stayed three nights at the Hilton Garden. The hotel is just finishing up a complete remodel. Everything is new and clean. The service was also great. And the location is awesome. With the face lift this is a terrific place to stay and I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay and our recent remodel. It was great to hear that you were pleased with your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.