We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient but......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn Double Points
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very convenient but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed here for three nights just before Christmas. I had a corner room on the 14th floor. The room was plenty large enough, very clean, had a good view, and the hotel is very convenient to Michigan Ave and the Red Line. However, there were several problems. First, the room was noisy. Obviously, there is a fire hall within a block or two. I was awakened every night by sirens. The third night the fire hall had three alarms waking me up each time. The Kuerig coffee maker did not work, the mini fridge in the room did not work, and the ice maker on this floor did not work. I reported the problem and was told there was nothing they could do. Just be aware that you need to check these things upon arrival if they are important to you.

I have stayed at many hotels in Chicago and this would not be my choice when I return. I did get a good rate, but I guess you get what you pay for. Convenience is it's main draw as I see it.

I did try the Weber Grill one morning for breakfast, and the food was good but little pricey. The breakfast bar is quite impressive.

Check-in and check-out were quick and the staff pleasant. I would rate this hotel mediocre at best.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from the fire hall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us concerning your recent stay. The River North firehouse is located a couple of blocks south of the hotel and on active days fills the entire area with siren noise. Unfortunately, this is an issue all of the hotels face in this area. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    509
    123
    25
    28
See reviews for
294
270
92
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Flew in from London the night before around 1am, and asked for extended stay in the morning. Awoke to a loud drill in the room above mine at 8am. Asked if the construction could be put off for a few hours, staff was extremely rude and said there was nothing they could do. Will never stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We apologize for the noise issues you encountered during your stay with us recently. We are currently undergoing a renovation to improve our product and the guest experience. We will be following up with you separately to discuss this. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My mother-in-law, sister-in-law and I took a long weekend in Chicago and my SIL chose this hotel of which she is a gold member. The location is fantastic - two blocks to Magnificent Mile and maybe 6 blocks from all the shopping on State Street. We picked a good weekend because the room was under $100 which is unbelievable but true. At registration, they asked my SIL if she wanted the points added to her card or the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant. We chose the breakfast vouchers and oh my goodness, hit pay dirt. The Weber Grill gave us a nice typical breakfast buffet with bacon, eggs, hashbrowns, fruit, etc PLUS we could order (from a booth) omelets, french toast, pancakes, etc without standing in line. The omelets, french toast and pancakes were exceptional. These vouchers were definitely the way to go.

Will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay experience. It was great hearing that your monther, sister in law, and you enjoyed your time with us! I will also be sure to share your positive comments regarding your dining experience with our friends at Weber Grill. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed in this hotel with my wife as we celebrated life and the stay was very pleasant! The room was very clean and well organized, as I have come to expect from Hilton. The staff was also very nice and professional. As an added bonus - they served warm Apple Cider in the lobby; it was like drinking Granny's Apple Pie - VERY GOOD! The pool / hot tub area was also very nice and well kept - but over crowded with travelers. The only minor inconvenience that we experienced is with the hotel elevators - not sure if traffic that weekend was higher than normal but it seemed like only 1 of the 3 elevators they had were working. This made for long waits going up/down. Otherwise, the stay was exactly what my wife and I needed - for a reasonable rate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding you and your wife's stay with us! It was great reading that we lived up to your expectations of Hilton and played a part i making your weekend with your wife a memorable one! We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again the next time your travels include our wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location for getting around Chicago. The only disadvantage is that the valet parking costs $61/day which is nearly the same as the room rate. We were very fortunate to get a good rate because we stayed over Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and our central location to many of Chicago's famous attractions. We all share your frustration with the high cost of parking with the recent double-digit tax hike that took effect this summer, but it is a pain that all hotels (and parking institutions) are facing. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I took a quick pre-Christmas trip to Chicago, and the location for this Hilton Garden Inn couldn't be beat. We were just off the Magnificent Mile within walking distance of shopping, great restaurants, the Art Institute, Eataly, and the Chicago Christmas Market. The red-line el train stop (Grand station) was right at the hotel, so we could get around easily to other places.

The rooms themselves were standard and not bad--but nothing special. Sleep quality was a bit of an issue because we could hear every bit of hallway noise enter the room, even when people weren't trying to be loud. We covered the bottom of the doorway with a towel, and still we heard every conversation and every door slamming. I don't know what can be done to remedy the problem, but we would really reconsider staying here again just for that very issue.

Service was good, and the room rate was decent, especially since we booked a rate that included parking, which would have been super expensive otherwise. The pool and hot tub were small and well-used, but we enjoyed them.

This hotel is going through a remodel, and I really hope it can be upgraded to be more comfortable and quiet in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our location to the many area attractions you highlighted is a great perk, especially this time of year! The issue you mentioned regarding hallway noise is an ongoing challenge that we are always looking to improve. As you mentioned, we are undergoing a remodel and hope some of the steps we are taking during this process will also help with noise reduction. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Perfect location, especially if you arrive via 'L'; a Red line stop (underground) is steps from the lobby. Our bed was very comfortable, Starbucks kiosk and free daily newspaper in the lobby. Room was exceptionally clean if a bit worn. We set the controllable thermostat to "off" and our room was warm enough with no fan cycling noise. You can hear all the noise from the hall however. Plenty of hangers in the closet, individual coffee service was also available in the room. Front desk staff were friendly and professional. There are lots of restaurants in the surrounding area and a grocery store just north on State Street. This was an excellent mid-price hotel option. Would stay again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Avoid the12th floor if you are chlorine sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard M, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed comments regarding your stay experience with us. We appreciate your positive comments and most importantly are pleased that you would elect to stay with us again! We will have completed a full guestroom renovation my mid-March so that should address the "worn" feel you highlighted. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#36 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.