We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now, save up to 25%
Ranked #45 of 169 hotels in Chicago
memphis,tn
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nice location, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Could not wait to get to Downtown Illinois. Upon first arrival I noticed how much this place reminded me of Mnahattan. Taxi cabs everywhere, alot of traffic, shooping , food, and people walking. The hotel is a nice location, not far from it all, Bed was too firm, and I didnt get a good night sleep only to see the sign at check out that i guess i didnt pay attention to at check in. there is a knob on the side of the bed that controls the firmness of the mattress. Our mattress had to have been turned all the way up which was the cause for my bad night, but that still didnt take away from this nice hotel. The pool area was very nice. Parking was high but this is downtown Chicago

Room Tip: I did hear ambulances probably about five times within 24 hours but again, this is downtown Chicago
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our 12th floor pool and adjustable beds. Next time you come back to stay with us, we will demonstrate our versatile "sleep system beds". Our mattresses are completely adjustable to your personal preference. There are knobs on each side of the bed near the headboard. Turn the knob to the left to make the mattress to make it more “firm” or to the left for “soft”. Please allow the mattress a few minutes to adjust internal air baffles to the new setting. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    437
    107
    23
    28
See reviews for
247
225
80
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williamston, Michigan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

First, I couldn't believe the price, only $122 a night for a hotel in the heart of Chicago. Of course, that jumps up $49 if you bring a car with you, but that's the story everywhere. You do have in and out privileges with valet parking. Didn't know how it worked at first, so first thing you do when you pull up (there's a semicircular drive right in front) is tell the parking guy you want valet parking and they'll take your car to the parking garage. They give you a ticket with a number you text when you want your car brought down. I found the rooms and beds more than adequate for our family. Nice flat screen TV plus a microwave and fridge and coffeemaker. The real value is the location, so much is nearby. Probably only 15-20 minute walk to Water Tower Place and about the same to Navy Pier, although if you go to the southwest corner of State and Grand, you can catch a free trolley to Navy Pier. Plenty of places to eat nearby. There's a Weber Grill right in the building and a P.F. Chang's down at the corner. There's a Starbuck's in the lobby open in the mornings.For your kids, just go a couple blocks west up Ohio and you'll come to a Rainforest Cafe, an interesting place to eat. There's a Hard Rock Cafe right next door to it if you're looking for that kind of place. Also, there's a 2 story McDonald's that's open 24 hrs across from the Rainforest Cafe. If you want your own groceries, there's a Jewel-Osco market on State Street. If you use the subway, there's a stop on the northwest corner of State and Grand. If you want to go the Museum Campus, that's about an $11 cab ride. I would most definitely stay here if I were doing the same kind of trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Wow, you really got to know our neighborhood well during your stay with us. Thank you very much for exploring the area and sharing your experience. There is much more to discover here in the River North area; we look forward to welcoming you back again someday soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyer Michigan
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great location.norstroms Michigan ave. and shopping galore great view if you get a room facing east. Great restaurants. Weber grill and great sushi right next door. Starbucks in the lobby and close to the river and theater district.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. Glad you our location was convenient for you. Indeed, we are right in the center of the best that downtown Chicago has to offer. Please come back to explore more in and around our River North neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We had our vehicle valet parked when we arrived on Friday. We had it brought around to us this morning so we could travel home. Even though the vehicle's windows were tinted and we had covered our purchases, the vehicle had been ransacked and everything stolen. The vehicle had not been broken into so had to be one of the valets who had the keys. We filed a police report and the manager on duty as well as other personnel on duty at the time were helpful. We hope to hear from hotel management. Probably won't be a good day if you're a valet at this hotel. We left at 4 a.m. this morning so don't know if other guests had their vehicles burglarized as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I appreciate your speed in bringing this opportunity to the attention of our hotel security department. An investigation is underway. Our hotel director of operations is working with the valet/parking facility's management company on this matter. We will be in contact with you to follow up. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a really nice Hilton Garden Inn almost like a Hilton except for maybe the baring a lobby area, but if you're just looking for a nice hotel room and a good rate right downtown this is it. There are couple good restaurants bars nearby like Harry Carays that you can walk to but of course just be careful at night there's always riffraff hanging out on the corners begging for money that will harass you if you do not completely ignore them put your head down and just walk speedily where you're going.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about the value of our price for quality accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back again someday. Hopefully you are earning HHonors points with every stay. Those points add up quickly whenever you stay at a hotel under the Hilton umbrella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here recently and the best part of the hotel is its location. It's near most everything. There is so much to do that is within walking distance. Plus the there is a Train stop right there. The Mag mile is only a 2 minute walk away. I will definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your vote of confidence. It's great to know you enjoyed being within walking distance from our downtown restaurants attractions. See you here again someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We've been to Chicago a dozen times but what makes this hotel perfect is the location. We bought a 3-day cta unlimited pass at O'Hare and this took us to a downtown red line which dropped us off literally a stone's throw away from the door, all within 1 hour! In 3 days with that pass, we took the bus to and from the museum of science and industry, the subway down to Daley plaza where the Christkringle market was and Macy's, and the subway up to the Gold Coast shopping area. Besides the huge money we saved in taxis, there are tons of restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. PF Chang's is next door. Michigan Ave is only 2 to 3 blocks from the hotel. Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. Rooms were standard sized, only complaints were the walls are thin, can clearly hear next door neighbors and noises from the hallway, and no fan in the bathroom. Due to the holidays we could not check in early either. Overall this is now our #1 choice hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and would like to apologize for the inconvenience. We've notified the front desk and security department about this issue. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Chicago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.