We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now, save up to 25%
Ranked #43 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a nice, quiet hotel in a great location. The el stop is next door, buses run in all directions, great restaurants nearby, even a Jewel food store around the corner. The room itself was clean and comfortable, with a fridge and a nice view of the Hancock Building. My corner room had two windows.

Room Tip: stay on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Wonderful news! Thanks for sharing your comments. Glad you enjoyed your room with a view. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    428
    105
    22
    27
See reviews for
234
218
79
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this HGI on a recent Christmas shopping trip. The location was perfect! Michigan Ave and all of the downtown sites are literally right outside your door.

The hotel was clean. The room was well equipped with a fridge. The walls are a little thin but turning on the fan on the wall unit really helps to drown out the noise inside and out. Internet access is included in the room rate. Parking is high but on par with the rest of the hotels in Chicago. The breakfast buffet at Weber Grill was good but expensive for what you got at $15 per adult.

All in all this is a great hotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for the nice overview of your visit to our hotel and our nearby attractions. We are fortunate to have Michigan Avenue just steps away. Glad you enjoyed your stay! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice hotel, very clean, great service, great people.. Not upscaled in any way but great value for the money, much better than other hotels for the same price. I believe the biggest advantage : no need to drive at all! That is wonderful, believe me, thinking this is Chicago ( horrible traffic city!) and I am here on Thanksgiving weekend, biggest shopping weekend of the year. I hardly hear any English, seems like entire world is here to shop :-) Anyway, is nice to have a great dinner and wine and walk for only 2 min to your hotel. The rooms are comfortable and relaxing! Will certainly become my "spot" when I come back to the city.

Room Tip: Chose level 22 or 23 and away from the street which can be noisy from the sirens. You may miss the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Shopping along the Magnificent Mile is one of our hottest attractions. I agree with your sentiments about how convenient our location is...once you get settled you can just walk to everything and not have to drive! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

From Check in to Check out this hotel was great. The location allows easy access to everything in Chicago. The train stops are directly across the street. The direct neighborhood offers amazing restaurants, bars and 24 hour stores. I enjoyed my stay here and would definately return. I cant stress enough how perfect the location is for tourists in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
You summed up our location perfectly. There is nothing better than stepping out for a day or night of fun and taking the elevator home! Everything a guest in our fair city needs is just steps away and everything else is easily reached either via the subway downstairs or a short cab ride. Thank you for the helpful insights about your experience staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Excellent ! Ease of check-in, large clean room for $99 per night (mid-week) and quiet room. Room has mini frig, microwave, flat screen TV, desk and queen bed. I will refer Hilton to all friends when visiting Chicago!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for referring your friends to experience our special brand of hospitality too! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Suzana,one of the front desk clerks was outstanding.From time of check in to departure.So very kind and considerate.the entire staff is great !!!!Friendly ,prompt and courteous!Weber Grille restaurant is consistently good. suzana got me to my scheduled meetings ,and my dinner meeting with great directions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are blessed to have Susanna at the helm so to speak. She knows and loves Chicago. Guests often ask for her by name because of all the wonderful support and quality concierge assistance she provides our devoted guests. If there is every a special occasion or memory one would like to create while visiting Chicago, Susanna will compose a list of ideas and options for your to choose from. Thank you for your kid words. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

just stayed at the garden inn for one night and were very happy. Great location extremely close to mag mile and night life. The hotel was wonderful! Clean, quiet, spacious and great bed! Did not deal with front desk, other than check-in, but went smoothly. Will def stay again! Ate breakfast at the Weber Grill attached to hotel. $15 buffett. Had pancakes and omlett made and were yummy. otherwise would not say the buffett was worth $15.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us. Your feedback about breakfast at Weber Grill is very helpful; we strive to learn and improve our guest's overall experience. I'm delighted you had a good trip to Chicago and hope you choose us to be your home away from home again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.