We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Hilton Garden Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #40 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Traverse City, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“We loved the Hilton Garden Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

We booked our hotel in early November for a one night stay in early December. We used expedia and got a rate of $99 plus tax. The great thing is that parking is only $22 a night if you self park with no in/out privelages. The parking garage is attached to the hotel so it is convenient. We had a room with a king bed, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, blow dryer and more. The room felt exceptionally clean. The bed was a therapeutic. The comforter was white and soft and you could tell it is kept clean. It felt like home, not the tacky, old multi-colored comforters/bedspreads many hotels use. The view was good. The staff was nice and helpful. There is a pool and jacuzzi tub on the 12 floor along with a business center. The pool is a bit small but very clean and the jacuzzi was wonderful. The hotel is in a great location with easy walking to the magnificant mile on Michiagn Ave and much more. There is a mini-starbucks store right in the lobby. The restaurant P.F. Changs is attached to the hotel along with a grill with a nice bar. I would go back to this hotel again, even if I didn't get the same great rate. It is tough to get that low of a parking rate at most hotels.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, decor and amenities in room
  • Disliked — Nop concierage
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    477
    116
    25
    28
See reviews for
265
251
88
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

I attended a convention the week of Nov. 6th. Before I made my reservation, I tried to obtain a room at one of the more exclusive hotels, but they were sold out due to several conventions scheduled that week. The Hilton Garden Inn was a very pleasant surprise. My room offered a good view of the cityline, good size and comfortable linens. I am very picky about my sleeping quarters, and this was very suitable and very clean. The bathroom was adequate. The service and staff was great! This was my first trip to Chicago and I wanted to experience the luxury's that Chicago offers. The hotel is in a great location and the Weber Grill located in the hotel had good steaks. Also, on the corner, I dined at PF Changs, which is always very good. Make sure you visit the Hancock Observatory and dine on the upper level for lunch, make sure you visit the restroom for the view. Also, you can't miss the Navy Pier. My favorite, of course, was the shopping on the Magnificent Mile! What an experience. Needless to say, I came with luggage weighing 24lbs and left with 46lbs and two carry on shopping bags.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Towels (not plush, but ordinary)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

I stayed in this hotel for leisure for five days and was overall quite satisfied with my experience. The big advantage of this hotel is its location - it is very conveniently located in the near north area just two blocks away from MagMile and a few more from the Loop. It is also one of the more inexpensive hotels in this area and offers spotlessly clean rooms, free high-speed Internet access and comfortable beds. The service we received was efficient and faultless. Additionally, I found the hotel much more quiet than I expected from reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor. All in all, I found it was a good base for exploring Chicago.

What are the downsides? The rooms as well as the lobby are a bit on the small side by US-standards. The lobby and the adjacent Weber Grill Restaurant can become pretty crowded at times, especially during breakfast and dinner "rush hours". The Starbucks in the lobby has very limited opening hours (actually it was closed most of the time when I fancied a hot drink) which is not a big problem as there are various grocery stores and cafes around the hotel. All in all, it is not really a luxurious place to stay but rather a hotel that offers above-average standard at reasonable prices.

Would I stay there again? On a similar occasion, yes.

  • Liked — Location and value for money
  • Disliked — Room size - not really small, but I have seen better
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

The hotel is in a great location, however the rooms and amenities are below expectations. The night I stayed their website price was $405 a night - I pricelined for about $90. The latter price was more than enough. The rooms are small. The staff are way less than three star. Take it from a seasoned traveler.... ok, but don't pay a lot for this.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paramaribo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

very good hotel, ideally situated. everything is within walking distance. very clean. friendly staff. it has a pool with a small jacuzzi, a business center and high speed internet in the room. the best thing about this hotel is that it's a very quiet hotel although it is located in downtown.

Sita & Gieta

  • Liked — privacy
  • Disliked — slow elevators, cold halls
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

Stayed here for a long weekend in Chicago. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. Room was pleasant as you would expect. The hotel location is great (walking distance) for the Magnificent Mile (shopping) and The Loop. There are plenty of bars/restaurants in the area, including the Weber Grill attached to the hotel. There is a pool & jacuzzi, however no sauna or steam room, and the pool is very small indeed! There is free internet access in the rooms, or in the business centre if you haven't brought your laptop!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

I booked a room for myself and a friend through Hotwire and got a good deal on the room. At check-in the staff were friendly and helpful and the desk staff always had a friendly smile and greeting whenever we passed through reception regardless of what time of the day or night it was. The room had two queen-sized beds and we experienced no problems with house keeping, the bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean every day. We had breakfast in the Weber Grill attached to the hotel on the first day and it was the only low point of the stay. The breakfast was cold (this was at 10am and breakfast sevice ended at 10.30 am) and expensive but the waiting staff were very nice and on another visit (this time for lunch) the food was very good. Most of the other guests were also quite young and there seemed to be a few bachelorette parties staying but even so it didn't seem too noisy. Overall, a fantastic hotel with an unbeatable location.

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — The tiny pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.