We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn Double Points
Ranked #31 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milltown, United States
1 review
“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Even though this hotel is located near the firehouse it was unbelievably quiet. The room was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and offered us an assortment of choices. Many good restaurants are in the area and the location was perfect for everything we wanted to see. The price was reasonable and there were plenty of amenities. We would definitely stay there again when we return to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    543
    95
    26
    21
See reviews for
538
325
70
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

During a recent trip to Chicago for work, I spent Monday - Friday at this Hampton Inn. I was pleasantly surprised by everything from the valet to room to daily housekeeping. It seems like they really put an emphasis on "service with a smile"! My room had updated decor and was huge - I had a living room, kitchen with a fridge, microwave, and dining area, and a large bedroom and bath. As usual with Hampton Inn, I appreciated the daily free breakfast and the breakfast dining area was also very nice. The valet and bell staff were all very friendly and accommodating as well.

I have to say, however, that my favorite people there were the ones I barely saw - housekeeping! It may seem silly but as a person who spends 80% of my nights in hotels, it's really great to come home to a nicely organized room. Check out the photos! My favorite was the washcloth cocoon that was freestanding so my toothbrush had no chance to touch anything yucky! THANKS, LADIES!

I will absolutely stay here when I am back in Chicago this summer!

Bonus: The location is central to everything!

Room Tip: Check out the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, Guest Services Ambassador at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
ngrogan1

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. There are certain things that people look forward to when traveling to a city, and we provide a few of those things such as great service, wonderful complimentary amenities, and a perfect location! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience, and our housekeeping department will be very happy to hear of your wonderful compliments towards them. We appreciate all of your great feedback, and look forward to serving you when you return to Chicago!

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AREQUIPA, Peru
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived late at night, but had a nice welcome. Room was ok, breakfast ok as usual at Hampton Inn. Near to the Metro (Grand). Lots of restaurants nearby. I had a very alrge room with ensuite (old) bathroom. But for one night it was ok.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, Guest Services Ambassador at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Bruno V

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your experience. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to host you in the future and provide an even better experience next time.

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff was incredibly helpful and the happy hour provided was outstanding. One suggestion is to decline a handicap accessible room unless it is needed. The TV was parallel to the couch making it impossible to watch. Also the shower was very hard to use as built to allow a wheelchair access also provided a way to leak water on the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, Guest Services Ambassador at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
ajacks9

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to know you had a wonderful experience while with us. However, we do not have a happy hour at our location. Perhaps someone had celebration and we did something nice for them because that is something we do. We definitely appreciate you wonderful comments, and look forward to hosting you when you come back to our beautiful city!

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here for four nights in late April 2015 and The Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Chicago is easily the best hotel I've ever stayed in.
To get to the hotel from O'Hare airport, by far the the cheapest way is to take the subway (blue line) and change trains at Jackson to the red line going north (it says Howard on the train). Travel three stops and get off at Grand. From there it's a short five minute walk to the hotel. Avoid the shuttle services to and from the airport as they are unreasonably expensive.

I got a good deal for a suite on the 7th floor and the suite was fabuolous. It had two huge rooms with a kitchenette equipped with everything you might ever need including a dish-washer. The suite also had two flatscreen TV's and enough space for two families.
The hotel has a swimming pool and a sauna on the 2nd floor.
The staff was professional and helpful and provided me with plenty of information about Chicago. There was a free complimentary buffet breakfast provided to all guests in a very spacious breakfast room on the 2nd floor. Breakfast is served from 6 am until 10 am.

One minor con would be that the tile floor in the bathroom and the cupbord in there, which had a safe, did not seem really clean. So bring slippers. I also ran into a couple of nasty characters who were staying at the hotel, but that's hardly the hotel's fault.
The traffic noise from the street outside might be bothersome to some, but with earplugs I slept like a baby. There's a fire station nearby and while I heard the sirens from the fire engines from time to time, I was never bothered by it. In fact, I found it a little charming.
So if you have plans to visit Chicago in the near future and are looking for a place to stay, I would highly recommend The Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Chicago. And if you can get a good deal for a suite then go for it. You will not be disappointed. The Hampton Inn & Suites is great place to stay right in the middle of downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: I stayed in suite # 729 and though it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, Guest Services Ambassador at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
RainerS14

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review. As we can see you had a wonderful experience with us, and we are very proud of that. We strive to give all our guests superb service every day, every time, so we are delighted to know that we were able to that for you as well. Our location, amenities, and fabulous service makes us one of the best locations in downtown Chicago. We always take care of our guests whether traveling for business or leisure. Traveling to the big city and having people readily available to assist you with any needs is a plus at making your trip enjoyable, so thank you again for all your feedback. We look forward to hosting you in the future!

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

When you need to go solo as a female to a conference in a strange city there are several things you need. A nice clean room, a comfy bed, helpful staff, and a safe central location. The Hampton inn provided all this plus a swimming pool, a free basic but good breakfast and a great price! The staff were a credit and so happy to answer all sorts of queries. It was great after a long transatlantic flight to sink into a chair with a footrest and relax, then walk to a nearby restaurant to meet colleagues and avoid jet lag! I would certainly stay again, I was overlooking the fire station and there was no problem as the sound proofing was good and I had a high floor. Hope to stay again

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Ambassador at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 6 days ago
BoldlyGO

Thank you so much for your wonderful five star review. We are very happy to know that our great service and amenities accommodated you so well. Traveling to a big city can be overwhelming, so it is nice to have people that can make your trip as comfortable as possible. We are delighted to know that we were able to provide a great experience for you. We appreciate all of your awesome feedback, and look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel for a few reasons- location, price for a suite, and free breakfast. The location for us was really ideal, around the corner from a Red Line station, and in the area where we wanted for nightlife and dinner- so that stuff was all walkable at night, and we could take the Red Line for our sightseeing during the day (though a lot of sights are walkable from the hotel!). I'd requested a high floor, away from the elevators and the fire station and was given a room that all 3 of those things. The one bedroom suite was quite large (except maybe the bathroom, but that was fine!) and clean, and we heard minimal street noise (it IS a city- you WILL hear something). Beds were super comfortable. Staff was all polite and efficient and the cleaning staff was really great. Breakfast is convenient and perfectly adequate- I just like to have a bowl of cereal and coffee to get my day started and there's much more there than that.
We really loved Chicago and being able to get a great night's sleep at the Hampton Inn made it just that much better. Would recommend for sure and stay here again.

Room Tip: Do ask for a high floor away from the fire station for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiCartmill, Guest Services Ambassador at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
NewJerseyAmyj

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. We are happy to know that our location and amenities were so accommodating to you while you were here. Our staff strives to give the best service daily, and we are happy to know you were able to have a great experience! Being in a great location is always a plus, and when you add in great service it makes for a wonderful time! We appreciate all of your great feedback, and we hope to host you next time you're in Chicago!

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Green Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.