We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to $40 on Dining!
Ranked #28 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Hotel was very clean. Lobby felt a bit cramped, but the rooms were a good size. We got a room with one queen bed, and it was more than enough space. Fridge was actually a fridge, and not a mini-bar, which was nice. Room came with all the necessities in pretty good condition, so no complaints. Shower worked well, good flow, good temperature. Location was very close to the Red Line and Mag Mile, so no complaints there either.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hey Will,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and for the great compliments! Its good to know that you enjoyed your experience with us and like our rooms. It sounds like you had one of our suites, and they really are great. Our corner suite rooms are actually bigger than most apartments in the city. Like you said our location is great too so it makes getting around the city a breeze. Thanks again for the review and I hope you had a safe trip home!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    461
    84
    24
    17
See reviews for
476
285
64
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The hotel upon arrival had the valet service which made it easy to get out and get to your room. Check in was supposed to be four but we arrived at 11 am. Our room was ready so that made it nice to get situated and them go out on the town. Kids enjoyed the pool. We checked out but were going back out on the town so they had a baggage area to hold all your stuff in a secured room. We came back before four and were able to get our stuff and our vehicle. Made it really easy. Loved this hotel and the service. Would stay here again. Also the breakfast was free and was enough to fill us all up. Great place!!!!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello Lamre,

Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel and all the the compliments! Im pleased to hear that we were able to check you in early and that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our free breakfast is awesome and quite filling, so its good to know that you were able to take advantage of that. The checkout process works quite well here and it makes things so much easier when you can store your luggage, and leave your car in valet until 4 pm. I hope you had a safe trip home and thanks again!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I'm always happy with Hampton Inns no matter which city we stay in. In Chicago we chose this hotel not only because of its location, but also because of the fact that suites were available. Yes, there is fire station next door to this hotel and we were a bit concerned in the early evening listening to all the sirens. But by 9pm, they totally died down and I only heard 2-3 sirens in the middle of the night. The hotel was actually very quiet. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the hot breakfast every morning which provided plenty of variety for the whole family.
The only word of caution I would give - although it's a "suite" hotel, it doesn't have the kitchen amenities of other suite hotels we have stayed at. It does have a kitchenette with a microwave, fridge/freezer, sink and eating area, however, it does not have any utensils, plates, cups/glasses, cutlery or any dishes of any kind. Keep that in mind if you're thinking of having some of your meals in your room.
The hotel is located near a great selection of restaurants. We had dinners at 3 restaurants that were literally just across the street - RPM Italian, Cantina Laredo and Sable Kitchen.
If you are using the Chicago Double Decker Bus Tours, there is a stop just 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello Syanda,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for all the great compliments about our hotel. Im so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us, and it sounds like you guys ate really well while you were here. I'm sorry to hear the sirens went off while you were here, but its good to know that they weren't much of a disturbance to you. We only stock the kitchens with supplies in our corner suites, but you're welcome to call down and request some for the room. I hope you had a safe trip back to Toronto and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We chose this hotel because we could sleep 6 people without having to book two rooms. We had a double suite. Very reasonably priced! Rooms are not fancy but are very spacious and include kitchenette. I read some reviews that said this hotel was loud being next to the Fire Station. Maybe it was the location of our room, but we didn't hear anything. Having a hot breakfast was very nice each morning before setting off to sight see. Kids enjoyed the pool every night also. Nice location. Adults could do several things within walking distance, but with younger kids everything was a short cab ride away. Extremely good value when traveling with several kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hey Rachael,

Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel and for sharing your experience with us. Your title brings up a great point about our hotel, we are "perfect for families with several kids". In my honest unbiased opinion I would say that we are the best family hotel in the city and were really affordable. Like you said, our suites can sleep 6 comfortably, and our corner suites are bigger than most apartments downtown. With a complimentary breakfast, pool, hot tub, sauna, and great staff our hotel makes your experience in Chicago something special. I sure hope were able to have you as our guest again in the future.

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cabos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Room was nice; staff extremely nice and helpful. Location was perfect. called cab service to us for transportation to Wrigley Field. Cab driver was extremely nice; told us about the area, gave us tips on getting tickets to the game.
We were within walking distance to great restaurants, night spots, the historic area. Felt very safe waking around the north area. Very expensive hotels around us; this one was up to par,

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator
See more room tips
Green Features: Ask guest if they want to be water friendly to hang towels for 1 more use (which i do),
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello Jazzertoo,

I wanted to thank you for sharing your experience with us and for all the great comments about our hotel! I hope you were able to get good tickets for the game. Its good that you were able to get good advice from the driver. We are actually only a block away from the Red Line train that takes you right in front of the stadium, which can be a bit easier/cheaper if you wanted to try that next time. I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were happy to be smack dab in the middle of it all. We were able to walk and enjoy the sites. Great Bar on the corner with $1 drink specials, daily plently of locals having s good time. Also, Ruth Chris is adjacent..so many plus points..the stores...Nordstrom....TJ Maxx...plenty of shopping to keep you busy...great grocery store..Trader Joe's..Subway..7/11...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello!

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review! I couldn't have said it better. Our location is great! Surrounded by some of the city's best restaurants and bars, it makes the whole experience so much better. I hope yo had a safe trip home!

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice hotel, good location. Complimentary breakfast and staff was good Apparently Chicago isn't big on hospitality - rude front desk people. 200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200200

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello Jeffrey,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave us a survey and also for sharing your feedback with us. We spoke the other day via phone when you were busy, and I was still awaiting for your return phone call. I'm very sorry to hear that your experience with our front desk staff was less than adequate. I hope you believe me when I say that this is not typical of our staff and does not reflect the type of service we offer. As you can see the many comments of praise for our staff on here, but I would really like to speak with you further on this matter. Please feel free to call me back at your earliest convenience.

Have a great weekend,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#20 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#29 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.