We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #29 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We only had two days to spend in Chicago this time, and this was our first stay at Hampton Inn Downtown. We found the room to be quite clean and comfortable. it was very close to restaurants and attractions, and right across the street from the fire station. Not a big deal, since being downtown you will always hear sirens, but can get a bit noisy. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Additionally, the rate was far less than comparable hotels in the area. Will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello Pegi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm happy you were able to take full advantage of our location and our breakfast. We have one of the best complimentary breakfasts I've ever seen in hotels. Plus, our location like you said is great. Its perfect for nearly any purpose of visit to Chicago. I'm glad to hear that you'll be returning and we look forward to having you as our guest!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    486
    89
    24
    18
See reviews for
488
297
64
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrington Park
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

another hampton winner. don't miss the breakfast buffet. staff helpful as well. good location to downtown. small, but efficient fitness center. book your airport limo return in advance. price within reason

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hey Neil,

I really appreciate the great comments regarding out hotel and team! I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Our breakfast buffet and staff are two of the best things about our hotel, and its good to know you were able to enjoy our breakfast while you were with us. All in all I would have to agree with you 100% in that we are worth the money... and then some. Hopefully we have a chance to have you as our guest again in the future.

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The location of the Hampton Inn in River North is ideal for exploring the city. We lived in the Chicago suburbs for many years before moving away. Our Summer vacation took us back to Chicago with our son who was too young to remember Chicago when we left. We chose the Hampton Inn Chicago because of it's Tripadviser reviews and proximity to restaurants and public transportation. The hotel & rooms are nice and the staff is friendly. We stayed in a suite so that our son had his "own room" and we did too. The sound of the city can be a bit loud, but ear plugs help greatly (available at the front desk). We did not have breakfast at the hotel, but chose to explore some restaurants that specialize in breakfast. Overall, it was a good hotel, but we did not feel that it was worthy of a #1 ranking on Tripadviser.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hey Rick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for the kind words about our hotel. I'm glad you were able to stay in one of our suites and have the extra room. They're so spacious it makes them perfect for traveling families. Our location is great so its nice that you were all able to take advantage of that while you were with us. I hope we have the chance to see you next time you come into the city.

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I wasn't surprised. I always get great service. This hotel was near everything I needed to get to. The staff was friendly. There's a bar area downstairs that I didn't use this time, but looked to be very nice

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hello Linn,

Thank you so much for all the great compliments about our hotel. I'm glad we worked out perfectly for you, and I hope you truly enjoyed your experience with us. Hopefully we can have you as our guest again in the future.

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My Mum and I recently returned from a few days in Chicago. Have stayed here before and decided to upgrade to a suite this time. Loads of space, and having a coffee percolator in the room was perfect. Outdoor terrace was disappointingly bare, nothing like the picture on the website but couldn't complain otherwise. Loads of choice at breakfast. Very convenient location for all downtown and easy to get to from the airport on the blue line. Still haven't seen everything so will be back again ...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hey JoeySarah,

I really appreciate the great review and all the compliments about our hotel and staff. I'm happy to know you'll be back, and I have good news. Our outdoor terrace will be more inviting than when you were with us. We are in the process of revamping part of it and have progressively taken some stuff out of the area in order to prepare for the job. Also, we have brand new furniture we will be putting out as soon as it wraps up in a week or so. Hopefully if you return you'll be able to enjoy it. Hope you had a safe trip home!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband, daughter & I stayed at Hampton Inn & Suites conveniently located in the downtown area making it easy to walk to all the places that we had planned to see! Very clean & QUIET! I never heard anyone at all while there. The beds lie GREAT! Such a great hotel! Enjoyed the Continental breakfast! I do recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to enjoy the CITY LIFE!


The Outlaw's, North Carolina

Room Tip: Our room was perfect!
See more room tips
Green Features: You have a choice if you'd like to use your towels twice .... to save the environment!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hey Bonnie,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I'm happy to know your family had a good vacation and appreciate you including us to be part of it. Like you said, our beds are GREAT! I slept in them for the first time this winter when I got stuck in from a winter storm, and I was really impressed with how comfortable they were. Considering I have a bad back I'm quite picky. I hope we get to have your family as our guests again in the future!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed here for the whole thanksgiving week last year. Staff was friendly, and the hotel had everything we would be needing then. The location is convenient, and the room clean. The brand offers free and hot breakfast every day. Besides,I like free printing services Hilton provides(as always^_^)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hey HHHCCCYYY,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and for the compliments about our hotel and staff. I hope you enjoyed your experience with us over that holiday week. I would have to agree we are really affordable for all that we offer for being in the city. I hope we get to see you again next year, or even sooner!

Have a great week,


Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.