We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest Hampton Inns ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of the nicest Hampton Inns ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a terrific downtown Chicago location, with very professional and accommodating staff. The value and location is what originally attracted me but I will definitely stay here again. My room was a one bedroom corner apartment, completely unexpected but I was grateful for room 1119. If there's a negative, it would have to be the street noise but nothing ear plugs couldn't handle next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I'm glad to hear the one bedroom corner suite exceeded your expectations and our hotel in general did as well. Thank you so much for all the nice comments about our property, and particularly the ones about our staff. They give 110% every day and really make the hotel what it is today. By the way the corner suites are my favorite rooms in our hotel. They're probably more spacious than most apartments downtown and have so many windows its really quite pleasant. Sorry to hear about the noise, but we look forward to seeing you again in the future (and earplugs are available at the front desk for free 24 hours a day).

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    494
    90
    25
    19
See reviews for
491
301
64
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is our third time staying at this hotel. We just never have a bad experience here. It's quiet, the staff is friendly and efficient, and the location is perfect. This time we had a king suite, and we really loved the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
On behalf of everyone at the hotel I would like to thank you for the great comments about our hotel and also for your loyalty!

It is always great to hear when our guests have great experiences with us, and especially when it is something that brings our guests back for future stays. The King Suites are great rooms and they're really quite spacious as well. Hope you had a good trip home and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in town!

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The size of our room was great, the beds very comfortable and the room as well as the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to the major shopping areas, the Magnificent Mile, river cruises and Willis Tower. In the area there are a lot of cosy reataurants. But breakfast was a bit of a disappointment as the plates as well as the cutlary were made of plastic and no bacon to go with the eggs. The breakfastroom was not very inviting and felt a bit chaotic. But all the same, we world like to stay at Hampton inn and suites again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I wanted to thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us this review and also for all of the nice comments you had about us.

I would have to agree with you 100% on the size and quality of our rooms as well as the prime location. Its good to see that they quality of our staff is making good experiences with our guests as well. However, I'm sorry to hear about how hectic breakfast was when you were our guest. During the busy times on the weekends the breakfast area does have more people both siting down and grabbing food, but we do our absolute best to make sure things run smoothly for our guests. Hope to see you guys again in the future!

Alex Sailor


Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great trip, beautiful hotel! We loved it. We felt unsafe when we first arrived late in the evening. Those fire sirens are pretty loud, but that is out of your control. Other than that, I would defiantly stay again. The staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about the hotel and our staff.

I'm happy to hear you had a good weekend with us! I'm sorry to hear that the sirens were fairly loud from your room, but its good to know it didn't have a major impact on your experience with us. I hope you had a safe trip home and maybe we'll have the privilege of having you as guests in the future!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Three friends and I spent a girl's weekend in Chicago. This Hampton Inn was perfect! We had two adjoining rooms, which made it super fun! The hotel is one block from the train, so getting back and forth to Midway was easy. We walked or took the bus wherever we went. The only thing missing was a refrigerator in the room for our Thai leftovers. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I'm glad to hear you had a good girls weekend in Chicago and that we could be a part of it. The adjoining rooms are great and really make you feel more at home. I'm sorry to hear about your leftovers and not having a refrigerator. There are a few options for next time in case you find yourself in the same situation at our hotel. We have suites, wet bar rooms, and refrigerators available per request for $10. If you make it into town again feel free to contact me directly and I'll make sure you have one in your room.

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I am a Hilton Honors member but this was my first stay at a Hampton Inn. Surprisingly pleased with the size of room, comfortable bed, helpful staff, extensive breakfast, soothing decor and great location. Previously stayed at Palmer House when in Chicago but will continue to book at this Hampton because I felt more comfortable with its classy yet laid back feel.

Room Tip: Located near a fire station but I am a light sleeper and did not hear any siren during the night. M...
See more room tips
Green Features: Note asking to reuse towels if you felt comfortable with that and since we were staying 4 nights we requested that our sheets not be changed to save laundry.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I just wanted to let you know how happy it makes myself and everyone at the hotel know good of an experience you had with us and how we compare to some of the other local hotels. Its really hard to explain the "feel" of the hotel without great reviews like these to give future guests a good idea about what to expect. Our staff is the best in the town in my opinion and through their hard work you can see the type of memorable experiences we create here. I'm very pleased to hear you'll be back next time you're in town and I look forward to seeing you then!

Thanks,

Alex Sailor


Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

You can't get more centrally located. Every downtown sight and activity is within walking distance: The Magnificent Mile is a few blocks over, river cruises as well, Millenium Park, even the Willis Tower if you enjoy strolling a mile. The staff was super helpful and friendly, going out of their way to help arrange transportation, point us in the direction of places to buy groceries. Speaking of which, our unit had a kitchenette counter with a refrigerator, microwave, and sink, great for those of us who don't want to eat out all the time. All Hampton Inns are clean and tidy, and this one is no exception.

Room Tip: There is a busy firehouse on Illinois Ave to the right of the hotel as you face it, and the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I'm very happy to hear that our location worked out so well for you. Its so hard to get an idea about how good our location is if you've never been to the city before. That's why i love seeing reviews like this on here, because our website can tell you about our location. However, seeing reviews from other travelers is nice because you can really get a good idea of what to expect. Also, I wanted to thank you for the compliments about our staff. Every member of our team gives 110% everyday, and its always nice to see that reflected on our guests reviews. I hope you had a safe trip home!

Have a great week,

Alex Sailor

Alex Sailor
Guest Experience Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Alex.Sailor@Hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-830-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#21 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.