We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real suite with a separate bedroom, great location and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to $40 on Dining!
Ranked #28 of 169 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tacoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A real suite with a separate bedroom, great location and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Visited the Hampton because after much research find it is one that actually has a separate bedroom. Many of the suite hotels only have a pony wall dividing the master bed from the living area, for the same rate we can get a separate bedroom at the Hampton.
When we arrived check was quick and very someone was friendly, special request where addressed as well for extra pillows and a fan. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the corner suite a really enjoyed the larger room with extra windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    783
    446
    82
    23
    17
See reviews for
468
278
61
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a great hotel! The staff was friendly at check-in and offered me popcorn. Hats off to the housekeeping staff! This was one of the cleanest hotels I've stayed at, which should be every hotels priority. The room, with its soft color scheme, was inviting and comfortable. The bed put me right to sleep. The location is perfect!!!! It's smack dab in the middle of where I needed to be. My only critique would be for all the staff to say a simple "Good morning, how are you?" For example, the breakfast staff, didn't say anything really. I would definitely stay again!!!!! Thanks for a room with a view! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much while you were here. We do take great pride in cleanliness as well as our location; I am glad you found it to your liking!

We do try and stress to each of our staff the importance of greeting our guests and I am sad to know that we did not follow through during your Experience. It is great to know that you would like to be with us again and can't wait for the opportunity to make your next Experience even better!

All the best,

Ron Justus
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn &Suites - Chicago Downtown
Ron.Justus@hilton.com
p:312-832-0300
f:312-832-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Room - overall was clean and accommodating, double beds were comfortable. We wish there had been a mini-fridge in the room to store meal leftovers. We had requested and received a room away from the elevator, and the main street due to the fire station noise.

Amenities - we did not use the pool, hot tub, or breakfast bar on this visit.

Location - Once we valet parked at the hotel we walked to Navy Pier, and up-and-down Michigan Ave.; also walked to nearby Giordano's Pizzeria, and Yolk restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We would have to agree that our location is excellent and glad that it helped with your Experience while you were here. Sorry that you could not take advantage of our great amenities such as pool or breakfast but hope that you can make it back to see us again and see if we can make your next Experience an even better one.

We also do have Mini Fridges available upon request should you need one on your next trip.

All the best,

Ron Justus
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn &Suites - Chicago Downtown
Ron.Justus@hilton.com
p:312-832-0300
f:312-832-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Most everything was average or good except the sofa hide-a-bed. So uncomfortable! Our kids probably would have been better off sleeping on the floor with the flimsy mattress from the sofa bed underneath them. The free breakfast was a mad-house. No good place to sit and no brown or cane sugar for the oatmeal. The front desk was helpful. Very disappointed that the pool closed at 10pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your Experience was less than Spectacular. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service and I am saddened to know that we fell short while you were here with us.

I do have to apologize for the sofa bed and please know that I am going to make every effort to locate and bring that sofa bed back up to our high standards we set for ourself.

Please feel free to contact me should you have a trip planned to come back into the city. I would be happy to assist in anyway possible with your reservation and accomodations personally.


All the best,

Ron Justus
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn &Suites - Chicago Downtown
Ron.Justus@hilton.com
p:312-832-0300
f:312-832-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites in downtown Chicago. It was about a 10 minute walk from the Clark & Lake Blue Line train station which is about a 45 min ride from O'Hare. This is an advantage for those who do not want to spend $50+ on a cab (the fare from O'Hare using the train is $5) The hotel is also right in the heart of downtown (5 minute walk to Michigan Ave - Magnificent Mile).

The staff at the hotel were great. We were greeted as Hilton HHonors members and the lady at the front desk asked us what we were in town for. I told her I was there for a yoga workshop and she was nice enough to arrange a bag of treats (water, granola bars) for me to take to my workshop.

The bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom clean and that's all we really needed.

The complimentary breakfast offered a wide variety of choices from fresh fruit, eggs, toast, yogurt and cereal. We were so impressed with the quality and variety. The staff working in the dining room were so friendly and the service was fantastic (cleaning tables very quickly). We stayed August 9-11 so I would like the manager to know what a great job the staff did.

There is also free WiFi which is also nice perk.

I would highly recommend staying here - fantastic customer service and definitely great value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent visit with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review.

I am pleased to hear that our accommodations and location were a perfect match for you. I would also like to thank you for the recognition to our staff. My team and I truly put our hearts into this hotel and I hope our culture here has made your stay an exceptional one.

We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Ron Justus
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn &Suites - Chicago Downtown
Ron.Justus@hilton.com
p:312-832-0300
f:312-832-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was an almost perfect stay in Chicago. There was only one drawback that I will note in a little(see breakfast).

First, I had read about the noise issues, so I called ahead and asked for a room away from the fire station and away from the elevators. No problem when I called and no problem when I checked in. I was in room 302 (1 bedroom suite) and not once did I hear any noise. I also came prepared with a white noise machine as I am a very light sleeper. Sleeping way perfect. Beds were comfortable, pillows were nice and soft. Not one bad thing to say about the room. It was spacious and clean. Housekeeping was so helpful in getting us extra shampoo and blankets. Room had a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We only used the fridge. Very convenient to have.

The staff are all excellent. Again, nothing bad to say here. They were courteous, helpful and overall just outstanding. Kudos to the management for hiring and keeping such a great staff.

Hotel is easy to get to. Take the train on the red line and get off on Grand. Hotel is one block away. Quick and easy. If you take a taxi from Midway, with no traffic, it was around $30. Train fare is only $2.25 per person, so if you have light luggage and don't mind a little more time, take the train.

There are plenty of restaurants, a Starbucks and a grocery store all nearby. Very convenient location. There is also the free trolly to Navy Pier about a block away as well.

Breakfast was great with the exception of the eggs. They tasted like powder. But the upside is they offer hard boiled eggs as well. So skip the scrambled eggs and enjoy all the other offerings, which there are plenty of. Plenty of breads, bagels, muffins, pastries, waffles, juices, coffee, oatmeal, cereals, peanut butter, etc. You won't go hungry and overall it was just fine to start the day. If you want more, I would suggest Corner Bakery or Yolk, but they are not free of course.

We did use the pool and hot tub one night. Again, another nice perk offered. It was a bonus to unwind after a long day of walking and sightseeing.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. The price was right and overall it is just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved it! Great hotel and great experience!! Truly friendly and accommodating staff! I cannot say enough positive things about our stay. Excellent location as well. We would stay at this location again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent visit with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review.

I am pleased to hear that our accommodations and location were a perfect match for you. I would also like to thank you for the recognition to our staff. My team and I truly put our hearts into this hotel and I hope our culture here has made your stay an exceptional one.

We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best!


Ron Justus
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Chicago Downtown
Ron.Justus@hilton.com
p:312-832-0330
f:312-832-0333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#23 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.