We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Act” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Missouri City, TX, United States
1 review
“Class Act”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I went to Chicago for our 30th wedding anniversary and we wanted a hotel that was close to the downtown attraction. The Hampton fit the bill. The staff was attentive and welcoming. The room and all facilities were clean, and to top it off, the front desk personnel remember that we were celebrating our anniversary and sent a complimentary bottle of wine to our room. Very impressive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    776
    429
    82
    22
    17
See reviews for
451
269
61
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, TX
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We chose this Hampton Inn because of its location and the price. We were not disappointed. Our stay was 2 nights long.

PROS: located in a nice area of Chicago, less than 2 blocks off the Magnificent Mile, one block to the red line train, one block from free Trolley, close to several restaurants. Clean, well-maintained property, large dining area on 2nd floor, 3 elevators for multi-story property so that we were never waiting overly long, incredibly organized front desk staff* and attentive doorman.

*we walked to several sites and caught the train to Wrigley Field. The front desk maintains a file with hand-held notes outlining directions to a variety of places, particularly train and bus instructions; just ask!

CONS: valet parking only (but this is common in all downtown hotels). The price was cheaper here than at other Hilton properties we checked in Chicago. Chicago is a noisy city, so expect noise. Other reviewers noted the close proximity of a fire station. We asked for a room away from this noise and were granted a room as requested. The view wasn't great, but we slept well. You decide! There was a hum on our AC. I wear earplugs so it was not a bother, but I did mention it as I left and the front desk staff asked enough questions that I believe it will be addressed.

I taxied over to the Art Institute for $5, then walked back easily. My husband took a bus to the Field Museum for $2.25 and taxied back for $8.

We ate nearby at the Weber Grill Restaurant and Cantina Laredo, both good. There are many other options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Assisant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I am so glad that you were able to really enjoy yourself while you were here with us. We pride ourselves on having unbeatable service as well as an excellent location. I can assure you that we take each and every guest comment very seriously and that the issue with the AC was repaired.

I hope to see you on your next trip to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this property and it was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room we had was a King Suite and it was clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was a usual Hampton Inn breakfast, however, the staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast area was very roomy. Hotel is located perfect for the Navy Pier free trolley, the Red line train and Hop on Tour bus. There could be some noise from the local Fire Department, but we stayed on the opposite side of the building and was not bothered by it. Some noise (vibration) from the L Train near-by by acceptable. We would for sure stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room above 5th floor and opposite side of Fire Department
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
THANK YOU so much, HerschelChester, for sharing the experience of your recent post-Thanksgiving stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve which will hopefully keep you & your family returning to our property for years & years to come.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I spent five nights here on a business/pleasure trip. The room was fine, and I never heard noise from other rooms, although there is night-time noise from downtown Chicago, including sirens, etc. The staff was outstanding in its friendliness, etc. A big shout-out to Damian at the front desk, who was able to not only extricate a broken corkscrew from a wine cork, but also open the bottle of wine for us. I left a pair of spare glasses in my room after I checked out, and they were mailed to me after they were located at no extra charge (unlike a hotel in St. Louis I once stayed in where they charged me the shipping for items I had left behind.) The free wifi was fine, and I enjoyed the breakfast buffet, especially the waffle maker. The breakfast staff replenished items when they ran out. My only complaint was that the oatmeal was runny several of the days. The hotel is a great location to walk to most of the tourist destinations or to get to mass transit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We recently (July 2013) stayed at the Hampton Inn + Suites Chicago and had a wonderful experience. The staff were remarkably friendly and helpful, the rooms were immaculate, the morning complimentary breakfast suited all of our differing breakfast preferences, and the location was perfect - lots of nearby restaurants, a grocery store, walking distance to most attractions, and easy access to public transportation. The pool, although small, was a refreshing break after a day of site seeing. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor. No problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent visit with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review.

I am pleased to hear that our accommodations and location were a perfect match for you. I would also like to thank you for the recognition to our staff. My team and I truly put our hearts into this hotel and I hope our culture here has made your stay an exceptional one.

We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lovely corner suite comfortably slept 6. Easy access to buses,the RedLine and the Magnificient Mile. Would definately stay here again. be sure to enjoy the Terrace next to the Pool. The staff was very helpful and very in touch with what was happening in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Assitant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent visit with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review.

I am pleased to hear that our accommodations and location were a perfect match for you. I would also like to thank you for the recognition to our staff. My team and I truly put our hearts into this hotel and I hope our culture here has made your stay an exceptional one.

We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

From the moment I contacted the group sales department, my event was treated as something special. The outdoor terrace next to the pool was ideal for our welcoming BBQ on the 4th of July. The staff provided music, strings of lights, and served an excellent meal. The breakfast room worked perfectly for our final meal of pizza and salad. No matter who was working with us. . .from front desk to bellhops to breakfast staff to housekeeping. . .their attitude and attention to our needs exceeded my expectations. The suite rooms are generously sized and worked well for the nine families in our group. All had microwaves, small refrigerators, and sinks. The corner suite that my husband and I stayed in served as our hospitality room with a full-sized refrigerator, stove top, sink and dishwasher, plus a dining area and plenty of windows for the kids to check out life on the streets of Chicago. We had a wonderful five-day stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Our 11th floor room overlooked Chicago's Fire Station #1. Watching the fire trucks provided gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#24 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.