We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn Double Points
Ranked #31 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As we are great fans of Hampton Inns we were happy to book this one in Chicago. The location was great and an easy walk to The Magnificent Mile and the River side. Plenty of good restaurants nearby. All the staff without exception were so friendly and helpful and gave great service with whatever we asked for. Had read about the Fire Station nearby so we were given a room as far away as possible from it and on the top floor so we were not disturbed by the noise.
Such a shame that we do not have Hampton Inns in the UK!

Room Tip: Top floor as far away from Fire Station as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you Joyville46 for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. It looks like you truly enjoyed your experience with us! I am so delighted to hear that our location was perfect for you and that our staff welcomed you with open arms. My team and I truly put our hearts into this hotel and I hope our culture here has made your stay an exceptional one.

Even though there are no Hampton Inns in the UK, our doors are always open for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    542
    95
    26
    21
See reviews for
538
324
70
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at this Hampton last year for Father's Day weekend, and we said that we would probably not return. Nothing to do with the hotel itself, but the fire station down the block. We decided to give the hotel another try because, other than the noise, it is a fine establishment. As stated in other reviews, the staff is friendly and quite helpful with suggestions and directions. The rooms were big and super clean. Maid service was top notch. Location cannot be beaten. However, the fire station did not fail to produce. We asked months in advance to be placed in the back of the hotel, but, a person cannot get the desired room type in the back. In other words, the hotel is divided into sections of different types of rooms. We wanted a king, however, the only kings were on the side of the hotel facing the fire station. King suites are located in the back of the hotel, but we did not need or want a suite. Other family members needed the suite for more room, and they slept soundly for three nights. We, unfortunately, did not. I know that this is not the Hampton's fault, but I do think next Father's Day we will need to find a quieter place to stay.

Room Tip: Good luck getting a quiet one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you Nettie S for sharing your experience of your second visit with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I am delighted that our location was great for you and that you were treated well by our friendly staff. However, I am disappointed that you were not completely satisfied due to the level of noise that you encountered from the neighboring fire station.

We would love to have you visit us a 3rd+ time, so please tell me what I can provide as a remedy. We do have standard double bed rooms on the interior portion of the hotel which gives you a great view of Trump Towers. There are also king room featuring a wetbar (microwave & fridges) facing the Illinois Street side of the property.

Please contact me at your convenience and I would be more than happy make accommodations according to your needs and wants. I hope to hear from you soon.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The two most important things about a hotel are location and a comfortable bed. I was very happy with the Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown Chicago. The property is a little older but the staff were really nice and everything was clean. Being a Hilton Honors member I'm a big fan of Hilton Hotels. This was probably the best Hampton Inn I've ever stayed in my life. About two blocks from a Jewel/Osco grocery store and many restaurants. I took a train from O'Hare to the Clark/Lake station and walked to the hotel in 15 minutes only costing 5 dollars. I shared a double room with my brother for two nights.
Things they could improve would be thicker towels, better pillows, and later hours for the pool/whirlpool area. It closed at 10pm. Also on the next block is a fire station but they do give out earplugs in the lobby. Overall this Hampton Inn was much better than one located on a highway. Nice exercise room with a indoor pool, whirlpool, and steam room. I didn't try the free breakfast but it looked slightly better than a regular highway hotel. Anyway I decided to go eat at Xuco (Rick Bayless) and the New York City Deli which are really close. There are so many incredible options for food in Chicago. We were on the back side of the hotel which may be more quiet but it didn't have much of a view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you wanderlust1966 for sharing your experience of your recent visit with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I am pleased to hear that our location, comfortable beds, and excellent customer service got us crowned on your list as "The Best Hampton Inn" you've ever stayed in. THANK YOU!!!!

I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the towels, pilliows, and pool hours as we are always looking for ways to improve our product and services.

We look forward to having you, and your brother too, come back to visit us again real soon.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, MI
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I only stayed here one night, but the location is great. It is downtown at the corner of Illinois and State, about a 5 minute walk to the "Miracle Mile" if you are into the shopping scene and about a 20 minute walk from Navy Pier. There are tons of restaurants to choose from very near the hotel. Right next door is a restaurant called "American Junkie" which is not yet on Trip Advisor but we highly recommend. The only down side of this hotel was that you could hear pipe noise (water pipe presumably) within the walls. Being in the city though, it was pretty much drowned out by the street noise. Also, the staff was very friendly. Lastly, they do have a complimentary breakfast, which is not always the case in the downtown hotels. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you noturns2 for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. Our team always strives to deliver the best service that our guests expect & deserve. I hope you truly enjoyed your experience with us. My team and I truly put our hearts into this hotel and I hope our culture here has made your stay an exceptional one.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have to share this gem. Austere exterior aside, inside you'll find genuinely warm staff with a can-do attitude, oversize rooms which are thoughtfully appointed, great pool and sun deck and enough brakfast options to keep anyone happy. Free wifi is a bonus. Just off Michigan Avenue, River North is booming - tons of restaurants and bars with a block or two and Trader Joes is just a couple of blocks away. Be sure to ask the cost of upgrading to the corner suite - it will be worth every penny. Best coffee is town is in the next block at Xoco, so start your day with a saunter over there.

Room Tip: Request a corner suite - they're roomy and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you lovemyjob1 for sharing your experience of your recent visit with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. What a great review? I can hear the excitement in your words. Love you recommendation to XOCO for coffee.

I am happy that you truly enjoyed your experience here with us. My team and I truly put our hearts into this hotel and I hope our culture here has made your stay an exceptional one. We ALL look forward to you visiting us again soon.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The location, facilities and staff made our 4 day stay just perfect. The breakfast is the standard Hampton Inn menu and a nice quick way to start the day. The location is safe and there is so much to do in walking distance. The free wifi is great and the room was clean. I would stay at the hotel if I make it to Chicago again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you fwbsjb for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. I am so happy that you and your family were completely satisfied with our property and high level of customer service. I surely hope that you all will be able to visit Chicago again soon as 4 days is hardly enough time. Come and get a taste of a Chicago winter and see how we adapt to the weather change.

We truly look forward to you all coming to visit us again soon.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

i have never written a hotel review before i leave that to other people but i have to tell everyone about this hotel my husband and i stayed there for 12 nights from the 30th may 2013.omg when we arrived and was taken to our suite which was a corner suite i was amazed at the size the cleanliness and shear luxury.by the evening of the second day i started to get a bit worried i felt sure the staff had mistaken us for english royalty.every member of staff the doormen the reception staff the cleaning staff the maintenance man the dinning room staff could not have been any friendlier polite and knowledgeable we where offered advice on the best shops the best places to eat the sites to see the reception girls knew we where there for the blues festival they down load us a 4 day program of the event nothing was to much trouble so a big big thank you to everyone for making our holiday so special.A NOTE TO THE MANERGMENT you should be so proud of all you staff (i think they all deserve a pay rise ha ha )

Room Tip: corner suits are larger if you are a light sleeper take advantage of free ear plugs hotel is next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you jackiehHullEngland for sharing your experience of your recent 12-night visit with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown. What a great review??? I particularly LOVE the part about the raise! Ha Ha. I am so so ecstatic to hear how pleasant your vacation was primarly due to the excellent cust omer service that you receive for our staff members. We cherish each and every one of them. Our entire team truly put our hearts into this hotel and I hope our culture here has made your stay an exceptional one.

We cannot wait until you and your husband come to visit us again on your next visit to Chicago from England.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Green Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.