We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to $40 on Dining!
Ranked #26 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lebanon, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked our trip over the internet not knowing what to expect and we were very pleasantly surprised. When we checked in Janita, the front desk clerk, was awesome. The hotel was very nice, the room was clean, beds were very comfortable, the wi-fi worked great and the free breakfast was outstanding as to quality,variety, seating and cleanliless. We found the staff to be quite friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Jeff M,

I would sincerely like to thank you personally for such a great review! YOU'RE AWESOME!!! I was trully my pleasure to be of service to you & your family. Our entire team is sincerely committed to providing the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve. I hope you guys come back to visit again soon.

Your friend,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    457
    82
    23
    17
See reviews for
474
282
63
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great location, helpful staff, clean rooms, scrumptious breakfast bar! This is our second stay ay this hotel. We come to Chicago every February for Founders Week at Moody Bible College and will certainly plan to stay here again in the future! The breakfast is not the average stale pastry and reconstituted juice. Waffles, eggs, fresh fruit, a variety of breads, pastries and cereals attended by a helpful and attentive staff! So convenient to walk right downstairs to the large breakfast area and enjoy the start of your day while looking out at the snowy Chicago streets!

Room Tip: they provided a roll away in our king room because we had an additional family member come with us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Sheree O,

Thank you so much for this awesome review. I am so delighted that you enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. I would also like to thank you for your continued business and for coming to visit us again this year. We hope to see you again next February!

Your friend,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Staying at this inn and suites was very satisfying experience. From the moment that we checked in at the front desk to the hour that the doorman hailed a taxi to the airport, we felt very special. The entire staff was courteous and extremely helpful.I booked one of the "smaller" suites and was given the larger one. The sitting area was very comfortable; the beds facilitated a good night"s sleep in an hotel!!! The only negative is that if one were using the sink, anyone who was sleeping might be awakened by the light. A door or divider would enhance this room. The trademark continentel breakfast was very good with many options: something for everyone! Lastly the location is ideal, near Michigan Avenue and almost half way between the Grant Park and the Oak Street Beach. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and more scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
GiacomoMinneapolis,

WOW!!!! What a 5-star review! On behalf of the entire staff here at the Hampton & Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown, I would like to say thank you for writing this awesome review. We are sincerely committed to provide the exceptional service that our guests both expect and deserve. We truly hope that we can be of service to you again soon on your next trip in from MN.

All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

By far, the greatest experience in a hotel stay I've ever had. The staff was so friendly and helpful it literally made our trip to Chicago. Janeli, Janita, Abraham and the others, thank you so much for all you did to make our trip so special. Our suite was extremely charming with a 60's retro feel, but the bed felt like something from the future. I considered lowering it 8 floors to the roof of my car and taking it home :) The pool was a magnificent play ground for my kids. The hot tub looked wonderful, but dad duties called. My room was ready at 11:00 and they let me check in then. They even offered me a late checkout of 1:00 PM for the next day. They checked our baggage and allowed our vehicle to stay in valet until we were ready to leave that evening. As far as our family is concerned, there is no other place to stay in Chicago. I would pay double to stay here, before staying a free night else where. Thank you again Hampton staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Ferrell13,

Wow! What an awesome review! I would like to personally say thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. My team & I are so delighted that we were able to help make your Chicago experience that much greater. We would love to have you visit us again, hopefully much sooner than later.

P.S. Unfortunately, we could not allow you to lower the mattress from your room to your car. I am sure that would cause so type of safety hazard {LOL}. However, we do sell our products online. Email me personally if you're interested in learning more.

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Upon check in, staff was courteous and friendly. Kara, the front desk clerk, was very helpful in pointing out guest services and offered any extra assistance with directions, etc.

Our room, a king suite, matched the online description very well, was pleasingly clean, and larger than expected.

I loved being just a short walk from the Red Line. This location is awesome! We could walk everywhere we wanted to go in River North, or easily access the L - wrigleyville, wicker park, second city .... Everything seems to be 20 minutes or less from the hotel.

At night, we heard the soothing low rumble of the train and the occasional (not so satisfying) sirens from the nearby fire department. (Previous reviews suggested requesting a room away from the fire department, which we did, sovit wasnt too horrible).

I was a little disapointed that the breakfast options were on rotation - I would have loved biscuits and gravy every morning - but I understand the logic behind the rotation, so I can't complain too loudly.

All in all, although it was a bit pricy for us, we were pleased with our choice and if we could afford it, I am certain we would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
katlover86,

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us a review. We were delighted to read what you had to say.

We appreciate the comments regarding. Each and every member of our team always strives to give the service our guests expect and deserve from check in to check out, and beyond. I do regret that our pricing was a little steep for you. We do offer lower price during the off-peak seasons which are typically September-January . Feel free to play around with a few dates on our website to find the best pricing for you. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago. Our biscuits and gravy are calling you! :-}


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I had an excellent trip in Chicago and our experience at this hotel played a large role in this experience. We were right next to amazing restaurants, bars, lounges, shopping, and the Red "L" Line is just around the corner. We had never stayed here before but will probably be repeat customers after this recent trip! The attentiveness of the staff was extraordinary to say they least.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
cityskylyne,

WOW!!! 5-stars! We could not have asked for a better review!

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us such an awesome review. We were delighted to read what you had to say.

We appreciate the comments regarding the convenience of our locate and also the attentiveness of our staff. Each and every member of our team always strives to give the service our guests expect and deserve from check in to check out, and beyond. However, I did notice that Rooms & Cleanliness we only 4-stars. Is there something(s) we need to work on for your next stay with us? We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel so if you would like to discuss these issues further, please do not hesitate to contact me. My contact information is listed below. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit from the ATL.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel does everything possible to make sure that your stay in Chicago is wonderful- you will not be disappointed if you stay here! The staff will cater to any need you have with a smile, the breakfast is well taken care of, the rooms are clean, the location is in the middle of the city, walking distance to much of what you'd want to see- we couldn't have been more pleased!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
cathy b,

WOW!!! 5-stars! We could not have given a better review even if we wrote it ourselves!

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your busy schedule to write us such an awesome review. We were delighted to read what you had to say.

We appreciate the comments regarding the sincerity and dedication of our hardworking staff. Each and every one of our team memebers strive to give the service our guests expect and deserve from check in to check out, and beyond. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit from Cleveland.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;