We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first visit! Will definitely return soon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Chill Offer
Ranked #39 of 182 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great first visit! Will definitely return soon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The staff was amazing. Marcus and Rich at the front desk were incredibly helpful. They even printed directions to help us navigate the city when we first arrived. Everyone was very polite. The continental breakfast had lots of choices, and the breakfast area was peaceful and relaxing. I'm OCD and germaphobic, and even I couldn't complain about the cleanliness of the hotel. Even the public bathrooms were taken care of well. The lobby is gorgeous. The elevators are nice. The valet parking really helped because we didn't have to worry about the car at all during our stay. The hotel's location is perfect because it is right in the middle of everything. It doesn't take very long to get anywhere from this location. The Chicago Fire Station is right next door to the hotel, but it wasn't a big deal. I am a light sleeper when I am away from home, and it did not bother me at all. The Rosebud Trattoria (restaurant that is on the first floor of the hotel) is fantastic -- highly recommend it! We will definitely return to this hotel on our next trip to Chicago.

Room Tip: A high floor gets you a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Babs B, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the cleanliness of our property. We take great pride in our overall cleanliness so I am delighted to see that we have done well by you! I would also like to say THANK YOU for recoginizing 2 of our stars at the front desk, Marcus & Rich. We are very lucky to have those 2 on our team to deliver great service to our awesome guests such as yourself. I am also happy that we made you feel right at home so much that the nearby fire station was not a bother to you. We look forward to having you HOME again with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night after the Magnificent Mile lights festival and it was really nice. We got a handicapped room which was huge and had a nice living room. The bed and pillows were very comfy and not too plush. The free breakfast in the morning was really nice with tons of options. The only thing that I didn't like was the amount of noise we heard from outside. Turns out there is a Fire Station across the street... we checked in late when it was dark. Bring your ear plugs!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuresahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
THANK YOU so much, adventuresahead, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites last month after the Mag Mile Lights Festival. The Lights Festival is one of my favorites. What a great way to kick off the holiday season, plus who doesn't love Mickey & Minnie Mouse? We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding our spacious rooms & comfy beds. I am sorry that you encountered outside noise during your stay. The great thing about being in a dense urban downtown is the excitement of many people, things to do with a constant a hustle & bustle; however, with that comes noise. As with most hotels in downtown, street noise is something that will be encountered: Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of city noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout all hours of the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. We also know how annoying this can be so for those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer complimentary earplugs at the front desk.

We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. I hope the fire station did not scare you away from us because we would love to have you come visit us again. I will have a nice quiet room on the interior portion on the hotel awaiting your arrival. We look forward to seeing you again soon.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We took our two families to Chicago for a holiday weekend. Booked 3 rooms which we requested to be close to one another and away from the fire department noise we read about. We were pleased to find our rooms adjoined and were on the 12th floor. The rooms were typical of Hampton's standard. The only thing I could truly criticize was that the bathroom floor behind the door looked as though it had never seen a mop. The children enjoyed the pool and the dining room was very nice for breakfast which was included. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Valet car service was quick and efficient. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the fire department.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Kathleen C, for sharing the experience of your family's recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites for the holiday weekend. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments regarding the friendliness & helpfulness of our staff. On the other hand, I regret that the bathroom floor was not up to our cleanliness standards. We have addressed this issue with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again in the future. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests so your comments are more than greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you & your 2 families back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Kalamazoo.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel last year and loved it, so when the three of us decided to visit Chicago for Christmas, there was no question of us staying here again. It's just as nice as it was last year. This time we traveled with our college age daughter, and the hotel went out of their way to get us connecting rooms. They're on the back side of the building, and you can't hear the fire engines at night as we could last year when we stayed in a corner suite. The rooms are very clean, the beds are soft, and there are all sorts of extra little touches that when added up make such a difference. Breakfast is free and while it's not the greatest selection ever, it's adequate and the coffee is very good. The staff is very friendly and so attentive. They're really the nicest staff of any hotel I've ever stayed in. We love Chicago, and now that we live closer and are within driving distance, we'll be up here more, and this will always be our first choice of hotels.

Room Tip: If you don't mind fire engines all night, any room is good. But ask for a room on the back side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romancewriter_tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
THANK YOU so much, romancewriterTN, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you came back to visit us again & took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff & the cleanliness & comfort of our rooms. I am delighted to hear that we were able to meet your request for adjoining rooms. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. Now that you live closer we look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton sooner. We take great pride in showering you with exceptional service year after year.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel would have to be one of the best experiences we've had. My husband, I and our 8 & 11yr old daughters stayed for 3 nights in a one bedroom suite. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and the girls were offered some freshly cooked popcorn which was well received. We were given a room on the 12th floor and even though we heard the occasional siren from the fire station it was hardly an issue. The room was spacious and clean with two televisions which satisfied the cartoons & sports buffs without argument!! We had a fridge & microwave also.
The included breakfast was fantastic, very plentiful with a good variety of choices. The staff were friendly and that was right through the whole hotel. The hotel has an indoor pool that the kids used, a fitness centre and a business centre with free use of computers and printers. The location of this hotel was exceptional and the choice of restaurants surrounding the hotel was fantastic. We actually received some kids dine free cards which we used. We loved Chicago and if we come back we would definitely use this hotel again. We have a booking at the Hampton inn empire state building in New York and hope it is equally amazing!!! Great work Hampton inn & suites Chicago - downtown!!

Room Tip: We had a high floor with very little noise. The one bedroom suites were well worth the small surchar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Lisa W, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate your comments regarding our propetry. We are so happy that we were able to mimimize conflict by having the 2 TVs in the suites. We would hate to make the girls upset. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. Hope you enjoy your trip to New York! We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We could not have asked for a better place to stay in Chicago !! right in the center of everything, we walked everywhere .. the people were so friendly !! the free breakfast , WOW !! amazing .. will definately recommend to stay here and we will be back ..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
THANK YOU so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites over Thanksgiving week. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff & the quality of our breakfast. We could not have asked for better guests than you & your family! We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago. We are sending our love & support to the people of CT.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our family (2 adults and 2 teen boys) reserved a room with 2 doubles for a Saturday to Monday stay in Chicago last weekend. What a great place! We will be back! Right on State Street, and we enjoyed walking around the city, even south of the river. The staff at check-in was excellent, helpful and polite. Our room was absolutely spotless and the beds and linens soft and comfortable. We had asked for a room away from the fire station, and that is what we were given. The boys enjoyed the buffet breakfast - the food was very well made and presented, and it was a nice atmosphere for dining with other guests - felt like home. My husband appreciated the 24-hour coffee availability, and the kids liked it that they could get a cup of hot cocoa when they wanted. We also used the pool and sauna and hot tub. All clean, relaxing and fun! Staff helped us with directions and ideas for family fun, and were knowledgeable about taxi rates to different locations, which we found VERY nice. We were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: higher up away from the fire station is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fingertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
THANK YOU so much, fingertravel, for sharing the experience of your recent family vacation with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate your comments regarding the helpfulness of our staff & the cleanliness & comfort of rooms. We are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Wisconsin.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#94 of 182 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 6,795 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 182 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,397 reviews
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing