We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in Downtown Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Tingo.com
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 167 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Plymouth Devon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A good hotel in Downtown Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This is a typical Hampton product, good rooms, friendly staff, high level of housekeeping that combine to give a very good all round experience. I would certainly stay there again. It s situated in the heart of downtown Chicago where everything is in walking distance. Like Frank says "My kind of town, Chicago is" .

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
THANK YOU so much, dongab, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments as Chicago is also OUR kinda town!!! We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    721
    398
    72
    20
    16
See reviews for
412
251
59
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed atthe Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Chicago. It was excellent. The rooms were clean and modern. The location is fantastic and above all the personnel is friendly and very helpful. It is definitively a place to stay in Chicago.
Paulo

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Paulo K, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments about the friendliness/helpfulness of our staff & the cleanliness of our rooms. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from DC.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed with my college age daughter and her 2 friends in the 1 bedroom suite. Based on the recommendations here, I asked for a quiet room away from the fire station and we had no problem with noise. The room was spacious and clean and really just perfect for us. The location is close to the Magnificent Mile, Millenium Park and the stores on State Street. We wandered the area during both the night and day and always felt safe. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and worked hard to accomodate our requests. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
THANK YOU so much, dablakes, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments about the helpfulness of our staff. I am so happy that we were also able to meet your room request. We look forward to having you & your family back with us at the Hampton on your next trip into Chicago from Michigan.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites quite a few times with my girlfriends when we come to Chicago for girls weekends. We love it. This time was the real test. My family was getting together for Christmas (before Thanksgiving) My sister and brother in-law have both worked in the hotel industry and are very picky so I was concerned. They loved it. The corner suite was perfect for their family of five. We had a reg double room and my son had a king room. All were very comfy and clean. The free breakfast was great. The employees just make it all the better. Such a helpful friendly bunch. Not one that you could complain about. Thanks for making me look good in my choice of hotels!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Sporzi86, for sharing the experience of you & your family's recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. & I must say, WHEW!!!!!!! I'm glad we passed the test! We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago whether it's with the girlfriends or the family again.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here Friday - Monday for business over the very busy parade/shopping weekend. All the staff was very friendly and helpful, from the doormen to the front desk to the housekeeping/facilities staff. Everyone seemed genuinely interested in guests enjoying their stay.

I had a room on the 12th (top) floor - king bed, wet bar (mini-fridge, microwave), very nicely decorated and comfortable. My only complaint would be that - like most hotels - you can always hear everything going on out in the hallway. I did see that they were offering free earplugs so I guess they know it's the case!

I took advantage of the free breakfast, and the 24hr supply of coffee/tea. I did not get around to using the fitness center or the pool, but both appeared clean.

I was attending a conference at the Marriott on Michigan Ave and it was quite convenient (and less expensive) - a 5 minute walk or so - so very close to all the action and only a few blocks to the river, as well. Lots of restaurants and bars of various sizes and caliburs nearby to suit any taste. Ended up eating at the Rosebud which is connected to the hotel on the Saturday night (parade/fireworks night) as getting in anywhere else without a reservation would have been impossible. The service was good and the food was also good. Having the fridge/microwave allowed me to take the leftovers and have them for lunch the following day.

I would stay here again for either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: I always try to get a high floor (or top floor) away from the elevators, stairs, ice machine to try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
THANK YOU so much, PR_BRIDE, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites during the holiday/parade weekend. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments about the sincerity of our staff as we are always here to help. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago. & Maybe next time you will have alittle leisure time to utilize the pool area, so don't forget your suit!


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario, Argentina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just a few blocks from the Magnificent mile in downtown, near bus stops and Metro station. Rooms are spacius, wifi free. The breakfast is very complete and as well as coffee and tea during the day. The staff was always well disposed. Safe to walk at night. The area is very bright and clean. Parking is very expensive if you do not need to use the car for some reason, should buy a stay at one of the many nearby and move subway or bus.
Rooms on the N Dearborn Pkwy are front Headquarters Chicago Fire Dept. and often the noise is heard, especially if you have a light sleep. Ask for rooms on upper floors

Room Tip: Rooms on the N Dearborn Pkwy are front Headquarters Chicago Fire Dept. and often the noise is heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
THANK YOU so much, FALARG, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. Maybe you can come in the summer when the weather is not so cold & enjoy our awesome beaches. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Argentina.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at the River North Hampton Inn & Suites a number of times but I was reminded by my most recent stay why I return. ALL of the employees were as warm and nice and as accommodating as they could be! The hotel gives great value; great location, nice, updated, CLEAN rooms, a lovely complimentary breakfast with lots of options and did I say, really nice employees? Everyone was so very welcoming. I would recommend the Hampton Inn & Suites to anyone visiting Chicago. River North is a happening area, great sights, shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: There is a fire station nearby so you may want to ask for a room far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Laura F, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments about the friendliness of our staff & the cleanliness of our rooms! We would love to show your family & friends just why you love us so please recommend us to them all. We really appreciate your repeat business & we look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip in to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Green Hotel in Chicago
#23 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list