We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff I've ever encountered!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Save Special
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff I've ever encountered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The service at the Hampton on Illinois St in Chicago blew me away. Every single staff member genuinely seemed to care how I was doing, if I was finding my way, served us mints during breakfast, etc. The breakfast selection was hugely abundant as well.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
THANK YOU so much, KRipser, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this AWESOME review. We are very pleased that we were able to help make your Chicago experience GREAT! Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate your positive comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    569
    107
    29
    21
See reviews for
585
340
71
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A very centrally located hotel, just a few blocks from the Magnificent mile in downtown Chicago, with straightforward amenities is recommended both for a business or leisure stay. The rooms are spacious, containing the connectivity that we are zoo accustomed to, and the bathroom is standard. Complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. The fitness, is very mediocre but its size suffices to perform some rudimentary exercise. The pool, though relatively small (1 push two strokes), is relaxing and clean. This hotel differentiates itself by the friendliness and service-mindedness of its personnel. In particular I compliment the doormen team who have been extremely helpful in a proactive fashion throughout my stay (still on crutches). the complimentary breakfast is of poor quality, but given the abundance of good restaurants around the block easily forgotten.
Nextdoor's fire department tends to be somewhat noisy (do they really need sirens when there is no traffic in the middle of the night), but sleep quality and pricing for my 6 night stay were well balanced.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the West Illinois to avoid the fire departments quest to create noise 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Shogu, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

I do regret that you were not satisfied with the pricing & also troubled throughout the night by outside noise during your stay. The great thing about being in a dense urban downtown is the excitement of many people, things to do with a constant a hustle & bustle; however, with that comes noise. As with most hotels in downtown, street noise is something that will be encountered: Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of city noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout all hours of the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk.

We value our guests, so in the future if you have any concerns or comments, please reach out to any of our staff who is here to assist you in any way possible 24/7.

We appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Pros: Great staff, terrific location, very good value. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Free breakfast is satisfactory, price is right especially if all you want is a muffin or cereal or a waffle.

Cons: Yes it is right next door to the fire station which was active all night long. I slept through most of it until about 3am then the sirens made it difficult to get back to sleep soundly.

All in for the one night it served its purpose, would stay again but only if I could get a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room, there aren't any 100% quiet ones but the further away from the street yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
THANK YOU so much, nymiamiguy, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

I do regret that you did not get much sleep while staying with us due to outside noise. The great thing about being in a dense urban downtown is the excitement of many people, things to do with a constant a hustle & bustle; however, with that comes noise. As with most hotels in downtown, street noise is something that will be encountered: Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of city noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout all hours of the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk. We also have other room types AWAY from the firestation which are located on the interior side of the hotel.

We value our guests so please remember that if anything is bothering you or you have any concerns, there is someone at the front desk to take care of you 24/7.

We appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,
Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The location in River North is great for getting out and exploring the Magnificent Mile, the Chicago River, and the Loop. Transportation options are great, and we had a short walk to the Blue line for easy access to O'Hare. The fire station can be noisy, but it is an urban envionment, after all! Views from the 12th floor were good, but lower floors probably not so much. For the price, a great place to have a comfortable bed and get out to see the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Stephen W, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from Oklahoma.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Pierre, SD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our first time to Chicago and we really lucked out with this hotel. Some reviewers had complained about the noise from the fire station nearby, but our room was directly across from the station and the noise didn't bother us a bit. We had a nice room, very comfortable bed. It was a little small but was fine for the price. Being our first time in Chicago, the staff was wonderful in helping us find places, get cabs, suggesting eating places. Will stay there again when we go back!

Room Tip: We were on fifth floor - a little higher would have given a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
THANK YOU so much, fragilmystic, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites & your 1st ever visit to Chicago. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a king bed suite. Nice room with separate living area 2 TV's and then sep bath also small kitchenette with microwave wet bar and a small eating area. Wonderfully comfortable bed with pristine white sheets and duvet . The staff were so helpful and each one that you came across said good morning etc and smiled . Breakfast was much more than a normal Hampton inn breakfast with 2 hot dishes each morning and then the normal waffle fruit toasts muffins etc. all in all a wonderful stay and will definitely stay here again- also tons of restaurants in walking distance and short walk to Michigan ave - I will mention the fire station we only heard the sirens up to about 10.30 pm and never after that time so that was not a problem at all

Room Tip: Pay a little extra than the normal room to get the suite much more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
THANK YOU so much, Jettsetter, for sharing the experience of your recent 3 night stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

We appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago from North Carolina.

P.S. We can't help but to LOVE the Tar Heels since Michael Jordan played there 1st! :-)


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a very nice Hampton Inn, in a great Chicago neighborhood. The staff, especially Ken at the Front Desk, is attentive and friendly. Service is really terrific.

I was upgraded to a very nice suite and it was really great to be able to spread out to do my work. The only issue I had with the room (612) is that the elevator runs directly behind the wall where the bed is located. One has to wonder what sadistic hotel designer thought this was a good idea. If they had simply reversed the set up, this would not be a problem. As it was, it felt like a freight train was running behind my head until most people were in for the night at around 10 pm. Unfortunately, I got an unwelcome wake up call at about 6:30 when the business travelers started leaving their rooms and it all started again. People have mentioned city noise as an issue here but I heard nothing from inside. My situation was all internal. I am sure the hotel would have moved me had I asked, however, by the time I realized the extent of the problem, I settled in for the night.

On the plus side, as always, bedding at Hampton is excellent - far nicer than other hotel brands in this same class. Good wifi, good TV, good everything except quiet...

Room Tip: Away from elevators!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janita W, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
THANK YOU so much, AllisonNNH, for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this awesome review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve.

I would also like to extend my sincere apology for the lack of sleep you experienced during your stay due to your room being near the service elevator. I am glad that I got the chance to speak with you regarding this matter prior to your departure. I love the suggestion that you gave me & I will be passing that information along to our General Manager. You will also be receive a package in the mail within 30 days to express how deeply sorry we are of the inconvenience.

Again, We appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests. We look forward to having you back with us at the Hampton on your next trip to Chicago.


All the best,

Janita Walton
Guest Experience Manager
T: 312-832-0330
E: Janita.Walton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#14 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.