We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location-that's it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #24 of 167 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Location-that's it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel is dated and the rooms show it somewhat. There is a firestation nearby which caused interrupted sleep. Front desk people were smiling all the time! A fun hotel at a good location if you're in town to have a good time. If it's for business, you may lose sleep because of internal and external noise.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Dear tulu,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

I am sorry that you encountered outside noise during your stay. As with most hotels in downtown, street noise is something to be expected: Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of city noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk.

Our hotel completed a multimillion dollar renovation in the Fall of 2010. We renovated all of our guest rooms including all new: carpet, drapes, wall vinyl, furniture, bathroom tile, & vanities with granite countertops.

I am glad that you enjoyed excellent service from the front desk, I will make sure to recognize them for all their smiles! We hope to have you back next time you are in Chicago.

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    767
    425
    81
    22
    16
See reviews for
443
267
61
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This large downtown hotel is in an excellent, central location, and is well run and warmly midwestern.

Staff was expertly trained and uniformly welcoming, rooms were clean, and the service desk responded so quickly to a problem with our shower that I barely had time to get dressed before the workman arrived!

Breakfast was excellent, stocked continuously and served in a spacious, well-lit room; there were even staffers wandering around offering warm-ups on coffee and mints.

The exercise room and business room were well-kept and open 24 hours a day.

In short, all the family was extremely satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

A great location just off the Magnificent Mile on Illinois, almost at the dividing line between The Loop and the Magnificent Mile. My wife and I stayed here and could walk to the northernmost tip of The Mile and as far south Millennium Park. All staff including front desk, valet, breakfast staff and cleaning staff were outstanding. Our room was a king suite with seperate dining area, living room and bedroom. In wall safe was an appreciated item. I requested an inside room, not fronting Illinois, to reduce exposure to the fire trucks screaming out of the fire hall next door. Noise was not a problem. Rate was around the $100 a night mark, great value for this gem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the awesome reviews on this site! I booked a King suite. Upon check-in, I was notified the suite I booked was not available. They ended up giving us two adjoining rooms. Traveling with two toddlers, I was looking forward to the extra open space and a living room area, but didn't have time to object nor had time to dispute. The customer service was great, but booking rooms that aren't available is unacceptable.

Pros: good customer service, comfortable beds, nice breakfast included, location, relatively cheap for a downtown hotel.

Cons: VERY loud (I slept with the TV on though which tuned out all the noise), dirty hot tub, "heated" pool was too cold for my kids to even want to be in, booked room wasn't available, expensive parking (although all hotels are like this downtown)

Room Tip: Don't count on getting the room type you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear kmcvig,

I do apologize that we were unable to accommodate the suite that you booked. This is an unfortunate situation that is not common at our hotel & I am sorry that it happened to you. We do try to accommodate guests when this sort of thing happens. Like you said, in this type of situation we do offer two adjoining rooms. This usually is a benefit to guests as not only do the two rooms have all the amenities of a suite, but the two rooms have about 100 additional square feet compared to the suite & also have two full restrooms compared to the suite’s one.

I am sorry that you encountered outside noise during your stay. As with most hotels in downtown, street noise is something to be expected: Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of city noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk.

We pride ourselves in offering one of the best values for hotel valet parking in the area. Parking in a dense urban area like downtown Chicago can be more expensive than those from less urban areas are used to. We realize the additional expense that is incurred by our guests that choose to drive to Chicago & we have compared our valet rates to many comparable hotels in the area. Our most recent rate shop of overnight valet rates of our competing hotels found the rates of: Springhill Suites $48, Residence Inn $45, Hilton Garden Inn $45, Embassy Suites $46. Therefore we pride ourselves in offering one of the best values for hotel valet parking at the current rate of $42 per night to our guests.

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the property for three nights in early January while in Chicago for a professional conference. The price was great (lower than the conference hotels) at about $89/night and the location convenient if not esthetic. As previous reviewers have noted, the local fire station is quite close but that bothered me less than I feared (I had a fourth floor room facing Illinois). What bothered me more were the noisy young people across the hall who slammed doors, ran and screamed in the halls and seemed to have more dramas in their lives in one night than I've had in a decade. I finally complained because I had to be up early and after two hours and several visits by security later it finally quieted down. Why there was no adult supervision is beyond me (and it makes me feel crotchety to say something like that) but it made the first and most important night of my stay particularly miserable. Fortunately, they left the next day and things were better. Breakfast was the usual (although meat in the eggs on two days meant I wouldn't eat them) and the room was comfortable and spotless. The staff was sympathetic to the noise issue but should have been
more proactive about dealing with it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
NYHistorian,

I wanted to say thanks for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel & service we give our guests.

I am so sorry that you were disturbed by noisy neighbors during your stay. I am glad that security was able to take care of the issue.

We look forward to having you back the next time you travel to Chicago.

Graciously,

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

2 nights King room - $90US/night

Pros
- Location north of the river very close to Michigan Ave (Magnificent Mile). One street away from Grand Subway on the red line.
- Spacious and clean room with microwave and fridge. Modern Decor
- Complementary wifi
- Complementary hot breakfast - Great selection of scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, fruits.
- Pool and fitness centre were available.
- Large flatscreen TV with cable channels.

Cons
- We were in room 715 which was close to the lift. Room door a little thin and you can hear people in the hallway a little. Also hotel across the road from a fire station - a little loud at times (the hotel does offer earplugs if you wish).

Overall great hotel in a convenient location.

Room Tip: Rooms a little further from elevator and away from Dearborn st might help reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Finally! A great place to stay in Downtown Chicago that is affordable, clean, in a great location and with a superior staff! I couldn't believe the state rate was such a bargain, and even though the valet parking wasn't cheap, the service provided made it a good value.

The front desk staff on check-in was exceptional. Very polite, professional and friendly. We asked for directions and recommendations several times for restaurants, the lakefront, museums, and a local bar - all of their assistance was spot on.

The guys at the valet stand were so helpful. We decided to go around the corner to get a bite to eat and asked them to keep the car close by so that we could use it afterward. They made the arrangements and did it all without skipping a beat. Though I would allow 15-20 minutes lead time when you call for the car from the garage.

As a Hilton Honors gold member, they upgraded me to a spacious suite with a king size bed in the bedroom, a full living room, and a kitchenette with a mini-fridge and microwave. The decor looked new and everything in the room worked great and was spotless. I loved the cabinetry they used (looked custom) and the granite countertops throughout.

The breakfast service was one of the best I've had at a Hampton. Lots of choices, including different selections for fresh fruit, and good hot entrees. Plus it's located on the second floor with great views of the street below. They had breakfast attendants who were responsive and helpful.

The doors to the rooms are not sound-proof however. But since I had a suite, the noise didn't make it through to the bedroom.

All in all, one of the best Hamptons I have visited.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.