We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Houses Lincoln's deathbed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago History Museum

Chicago History Museum
1601 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60614 (Formerly the Chicago Historical Society) (Lincoln Park)
312-642-4600
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Chicago History Museum like an insider
$85*
and up
Ranked #47 of 952 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum brings the Second City's long and colorful history to life, with exhibits on everything from the Great Fire of 1871 to the city's rich background in sports.
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Houses Lincoln's deathbed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend in Chicago celebrating my birthday. We love museums, so we decided to check this one out. It was pretty great. There's a ton of stuff to see, trains to climb on, an actual El car to walk inside -- and lots of Lincoln stuff. I got chills when I turned the corner and there was the bed that Abraham Lincoln died upon. Behind a glass wall -- but still. This is a fabulous and fun museum. It would be perfect for kids!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    146
    34
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lot to reflect on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A black settler as far back as the time of the early French-Canadian traders. French- Canadians who were most likely having some Indian ancestry, with settler's all the way to Louisiana having African ancestry, are some of the participants in an historic episode of Chicago. Yes, seeing this museum can bring you back to the canal trade, the rail trade, a disastrous fire, wonderful fairs and festivals, a cultural center, or even an agricultural and economic center. There is so much to see and so little time to see it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So, So as a festival venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Was here for the Chicago Maritime Festival. Nice facility but not the best venue for a festival. The place was over crowded with festival goers. Between the day workshops and the evening concert they kicked everyone out - no so good for out-of-towners as the exile was longer that it took to have a leisurely dinner nearby on a very cold day.

The other problem was that the evening concert took place in the museum auditorium where a wedding band in a near by rented room was so loud that it competed with the music on stage.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“I had no idea there was so much history to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The museum was a definate must-see during our 3 day stay in Chicago. Taking you all the way back to 10,000 years ago they bring you up to current day. The Chicago Fire, the Gangland days of the 20's, the racial inequality - all nicely shown in art and dramatization.

$14 dollars each to get in, self directed or with audio headsets. Check your bags at the door and cameras are allowed.

We're really glad we went.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Make it your first stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Interactive for kids and ground ups. I recommend you visit first so you get a sense of what Chicago is and why. They also have different exhibits of USA history. I got to see a temporary exhibit of Lincoln, LOVE IT. they had the bed where he died.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Chicago History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.