We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bereavement Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bereavement Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Due to a an unexpected death in our family, we needed accomodations near the family and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. According to my Mother, she and the other family members were well taken care of by the wonderful staff at the Loop South. I highly reccomend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    288
    136
    53
    35
See reviews for
162
164
82
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

My colleagues and I were booked in this hotel as the result of overflow registration for an exhibition/congress. On the surface, the hotel is clean and relatively new, and the staff tried hard to keep customers happy. For those attending meetings at McCormack Place - this is anything but a desirable site. The hotel sits in the middle of a very bad neighborhood, requiring taxi service to get you anyplace (that is, if you can get a Taxi to come here). The hotel rooms are large and clean, but relatively spartan. There is no food service or restaurant in the hotel. Our travel planner took this option as it showed up as recommended by McCormack Place when all other hotels were overbooked. The travel planner relied on the website to make this decision and believed that it would be more suitable than traveling to/from Chicago from the only hotels with space available (at the airport). Given the option again, we will make the trip from Airport Hotels.

  • Liked — Property is new
  • Disliked — Property not located in an area that is highly undesirable. Services at the hotel are extremely limited.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSLManager, Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The hotel is now under new leadership and is managed by a national management company. Since your visit the hotel has added a Cocktail Lounge, Deli, and our restaurant should open in June. The hotel has established relationships with several outstanding restaurants that will deliver to your room. Menus are in the guest rooms. A 10 passenger van has been recently purchased and will provide scheduled transportation in 10 block radius. The hotel is the second closest hotel to McCormick Center and is less than a year old. Please reach out to me I would be honored to coordinate your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

This was a Very nice experience. The hotel is new and has a very pleasant decor and a fully trained/experienced staff who is there to serve you. It is clear that they value your patronage and will go the extra mile to accommodate your needs.

I spent 10 very pleasant days in their care and would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers. Parking was plentiful and the hotels location was ideal for the either convention goers or tourists alike. Just a few Minutes drive to the entire trade center and all of the highlights such as the Shead aquarium and the Natural History museum. I highly recommend booking your stay with The South Loop Hotel.

Julie Kumler
RE/MAX equity group
Portland Oregon

  • Liked — The superb service
  • Disliked — Lack of storage in rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

Avoid this hotel unless it is your last choice. Prices in the $200 and up range are outrageous for this Budget Motel type place. Six months after opening the items I encountered should not have happened.
-The room was cold (literally) and uninviting and I had to turn on the motel-type heater at the window to heat it up--a process which took a good 24 hours.
--It looks like the owners tried to renovate an old building but ran out of money at the end--and so they scrimped on the finishes and fit-up.
--There is no hotel restaurant and no restaurants in the nearby (bad) neighbourhood. The "breakfast deli"--the only source of food in the place opened at 7:30 am (the posted hour) with one employee--resulting in a line of 20 people trying to get something to eat--there is no other option.--I instead went to the Convention center and ate there since I was going there anyway.
--Don't allow them to give you a room on the side of the hotel facing the "El" train line--its really noisy with trains going by multiple times an hour.
The rooms look like a cheap motel.
For example there is a closet--but no closet doors. There is an ironing board--but no iron. There is a big bathroom --finished with a cheap corian counter and tile and cheap residential style fixtures. There is a jacuzzi tub--but with no jets. There is no clock in the room. The TV was a flat screen but half the channels were unviewable because they were too blurry. The cheap art work was literally screwed though the front of the picture frame to the wall with sheetrock screws--it seems they think you would want to steal it.
There is a desk but no notepad or pen.
Bottom line the place felt like a cheap motel room--but at extravagant prices. I have stayed in those motels and have nothing against them--but not at these rates and not at a hotel which mis-bills itself as a "boutique experience".

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Misprepresentation by the management of the type of hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

I had a great stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel--clean, pleasant, wonderful staff, and excellent service. Only a $10 cab ride from places like Weber Grill and Harry Caray's, a few blocks to the heart of Chinatown. The up-and-coming South Loop neighborhood is a great quiet place to stay without being too far from the action.

The service was awesome, and the staff is super accomodating. I will definitely stay here on my next trip!

  • Liked — The great staff
  • Disliked — They are in process of building a restaurant and bar, so there isn't one on site yet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean McDevitt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We had a bad experience at the Hyde Park Ramada and moved here for the last 4 days of a 5 day trip. It is a brand new South Side hotel and beautifully decorated with a 'jazz' theme. The hotel came with free parking and free wireless internet for $25. less per night than the hotel we moved from. It is not 'in' a neighborhood itself, but it is close to the Interstate, Lake Shore Drive, IIT and the Chicago White Sox stadium. If you have a car, this place is highly recommended as it has a large, well lit ground level parking lot.
The room was very spacious and nicely appointed. We had two queen sized beds and a separate sitting area. Plasma TV on the dresser, and free wireless internet.
The best thing about the hotel is the staff. Very friendly and helpful, not the jaded, disinterested automatons you see so often in large city places.
I consider this hotel to be a real find, and a great stop for people with cars and laptops on a budget, and looking for a relaxing place to stay while seeing the sights of Chicago!

  • Liked — Staff is friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked — No shopping in the immediate neighborhood
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

This hotel was AMAZING! The wonderful staff make you feel like your at home! You are a part of there family when you stay there. I really LOVED Ron the bellman what a great and wonderful person. He would go beyond the call of duty to help you and the same with the rest of the staff NEVER I mean NEVER have I had this kind of service at a hotel! The hotel is SPOTLESS, wonderful extra's and just an overall joy to stay at! The price for this kind of service was an absolute bargain and help you just can't put a price on it. The quick bus ride we had to go downtown or to the navy pier we were only on at the longest 30 minutes! The bus let's you off right at the side door you can't beat this! I've told everyone of this wonderful experience we had at this hotel! Thank you to the staff for such a wonderful place to stay!

  • Liked — I Loved the large rooms and the staff!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.