We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a sleep-over...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 169 hotels in Chicago
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great for a sleep-over...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a very well located hotel in the south loop of the main Chicago area. There are two bus stations within 50 to 75 meters of the hotel. The bus runs from early in the morning till late at night, making it very convenient to move into downtown or into the train terminals.

The hotel is very well kept, clean and has a sense of security and safety. Clean, with large, comfortable rooms. Excellent for business travel or for a low-budget vacation.

I had a wonderful experience with this hotel.

Room Tip: try to get an upgrade to a larger room; they are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I am very happy that you had such a wonderful experience at the hotel. The CTA system being near the hotel helps to get you wherever you need to go. I am glad to see you found everything convient and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    255
    117
    41
    30
See reviews for
137
143
78
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Tick the box for free parking in Chicago and the list gets very short very quickly. We needed to visit Columbia College and we had a tight budget -- and would rather spend money on meals instead of parking. So this place is great ... clean, big comfortable rooms, nice staff. The reason they can offer free parking is because the area around this hotel is largely abandoned. There is not much there ... there is a bus stop and plenty of cabs on state street so it's easy to get downtown from 26th and State. Coming back home one night we walked from the red line train stop in Chinatown, and it was kinda lonely out there ... but that's the price of free parking I guess.

Room Tip: Our west side room was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your survey. I am happy that you found the free parking convient and the Chicago CTA an easy way to get around. We hope to welcome you back to the city soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I, as well as another couple stayed at this hotel for one night this past weekend. Luckily we were able to check in early and then use their free parking lot. The room was huge and tidy. The linens were wrinkled and there was a plastic cup that had been used and left in the bathroom, but everything else was good. The bathroom was large and I loved the shower. It had beautiful tile and a huge tub. Our room did face the train that goes by. I read the reviews about how disrupting and noisy it is; however, after exploring the city all day, we were exhausted and sleep came easy for us. The staff was lovely at both check in and check out. Overall, a nice hotel at a great price. The free parking is a huge plus. We took a cab from the hotel to the Water Tower mall and after tipping the driver, it was about $16. Coming back to the hotel cost about the same. Definitely cheaper than parking in the city (which will run about $50 for the day) and worth not having to deal with the hassle of driving in Chicago traffic and trying to park in a garage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your survey. I am really happy to see you enjoyed your room and the hotel. The free parking is a huge plus in the city of Chicago. We hope to see you again on your next drive into the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a hire car and in Chicago for a week. So booked this for the free parking.
Our room was a decent size and we had 2 queen size beds and a seating area. Good size bath and shower above. Good pressure, lots of hot water.
We had read reviews about noise etc so asked for a quiet room on check in. We were on the west side facing car park. Yes there are trains but didn't disturb us at all.
Transport - The "El" had been out of action for 5 months at Cermak. So we were confined to buses. Lots of huffing and puffing from me but in reality the 29 bus is frequent and runs from outside and stops outside, Chicago is on a grid system, and the 1 and 4 buses run down Michicgan which is a 3 minute walk. So depending on where you are in the City, the 1 or 4 might be more convenient.
Didn't do any food or drink in the hotel. But did go to Yolk for breakfast. Went twice...yummy...you'll only need breakfast and can skip lunch.... and dinner

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. The CTA system can seem a little confusing at first, but with a little explanation I am happy to hear it worked for you. Yolk for breakfast is indeed recommended and will leave you full for sometime! Glad to hear you had a great trip and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's a nice hotel. I just went there last weekend and well-designed, good bathroom and bed. My girlfriend and I went there and enjoyed there. This hotel is not in a bad area, it is just surrounded by buildings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I am happy to hear you had a wonderful experience at the hotel. I agree that the hotel is not in a bad area, rather it is an area that is not full of restaurants and shops, so you do not get the desired foot traffic. But I am glad you enjoyed youreself and look forward to greeting you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The rooms are huge! The hotel is spacious with super-friendly, efficient and helpful staff. Went out of their way to store our bags while we took a side trip. We had read that the train noise from the Loop might be a problem - didn't bother us.
At first we were concerned that it was a bit out of 'town' - as we weren't driving, but then discovered that the No.29 bus, which runs frequently, arrives and departs right outside the door and connects in 10 minutes to Chicago's (rightly) famous Loop rail system. The Loop is cheap and efficient (with a 3-day pass) and connects to absolutely everything.
Would happily recommend the South Loop to anyone.

Room Tip: Away from Loop train side if possible, but no big deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Front Office Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you. I agree that the #29 bus will take you right downtown, is convenient and comes by the hotel regularly. I am glad to hear you had a wonderful visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chicago South Loop Hotel is the second closest hotel to McCormick Place Convention Center. It is located within the Chicago Museum District, Chinatown and Bronzeville neighborhood. The hotel is located 4 miles south of Chicago's City Center, 9 miles east of Chicago Midway Airport, and 22 miles Southwest of O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.