We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Enjoyable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 169 hotels in Chicago
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most Enjoyable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days and nights. I must admit, I was somewhat apprehensive due to the location but in the end there was nothing to worry about! The bus was just across the street and it only took about 15 - 20 minutes to get downtown. We took it every day and never felt uncomfortable. The hotel itself was immaculately clean and new mattresses and pillows had been installed. It passed the inevitable wife's inspection! The room was massive and the TV and WiFi worked perfect! The bathroom was clean as a whistle and if we needed extra towels etc, the staff were more than happy to provide them. All the staff were friendly and helpful! The bar and dining room areas, although in the same hotel, are run by a separate entity but they too were very friendly and accommodating. The food was great and plentiful and breakfast is served til 11am each day. Prices are reasonable. We looked forward to ending each day relaxing in the bar area with a nightcap (or two) and the bar staff remembered us and greeted us with a smile and a hello each time. In the end we had a great time in Chicago, in no small part due to the wonderful experience staying at this hotel. A tip: ask for a room on the west side of the hotel as there is an el train that passes by and I heard some guest say it was a bit noisy. We had no issues of that nature. I was sad to leave the place actually.

Room Tip: Book on the west side of hotel as there is an el train that runs by the the east side about a block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Wow! I am pleased we were able to be part of your wonderful experience to Chicago. Thank you for your survey and we hope to see you on your return to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    254
    115
    41
    30
See reviews for
135
142
78
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The biggest problem with the South Loop hotel is that it isn't near anything, The rooms have all been redone. I had a spacious room with a king size bed that certainly served my needs for the 4 night I was there. The staff was friendly and hetlpful and the bar was noisy but decent. The breakfast buffet was standard stuff at average hotel prices.

We were there for a show at McCormick Place so we didnt rent a car (there is parking at the hotel but parking everywhere in Chicago is expensive). There is nothing close to the hotel to walk to and the show shuttle didnt stop at the hotel so we spent a lot of time waiting for cabs.

If you have a vehicle and are looking for a room at a decent price the South Loop hotel is for you.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevated subway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
I am sorry to hear you found the location inconvenient, but happy you had a positve experience with your accomodations and the hotel satff. We hope to see you next time on your visit back to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Finding the hotel easy. On a main street. Fenced parking with gate keeper. Secure doors for after hours entry. Double beds for our stay. Curved curtain rods for roomy shower. Quiet rooms for the most part. iDock alarm clocks to wake to alarm or your music. Lobby gift shop and office and computer room available. Free wifi in room. Nice art throughout. A mini fridge and a nice clean steam iron in room. Curtains provide amble light blockage to darken room. LCD tv by desk with Cat5 hookup.

Room Tip: The L runs on the East side so if you're a late sleeper pick another direction. If you wake the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
I am happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with us. Thank you for your knid words and we hope to see you on your return to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very good hotel for a family vacation. Clean, wide rooms, free parking, close to China town and close to the bus stop which can take you directly to downtown on state street. It is not a five star hotel but it is very comfortable, no much noises at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Glad to hear you found everything comfortable and found the location convient. I hope to see you on your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked this hotel on Hotwire at a decent price. We were looking for a hotel close to the city center with free parking- we like to drive up park and roam the city by foot. This hotel made that possible for us. Nice gated parking area, first come first serve, but as we parked and didn't need reentry this was not an issue for us. We were in town for a Bears game and this saved the parking cost at the game plus the crowds on the trains, a bit of a walk for most but fine for us. The hotel itself was a little further from the city center than I would have liked but the train is right there also as an option. Staff was great easy check-in even early. Room and beds were huge, clean, and comfortable. Add in the free wifi, fridge and windows that opened a bit we were really pleased and had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I am really happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable experince with us. I am also happy to hear that you found parking easy and convenient. Hope to see you on your next visit to the city. Bear Down!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a great time, and very relaxing stay.

A big surprise on Monday after we came back to the room to find a card, chocolates, and a balloon on the table for Amy's birthday etc. Then the bottle of Pepsi Next on the nightstand Thursday evening! Both were very above and beyond acts.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Happy Birthday! I am glad you had a great Birthday expereince and we hope to see you back to the hotel shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel. I was almost a little nervous about the cleanliness of this hotel. I was instantly relieved to see that this place was very clean and beautifully decorated. The staff here are polite and very hospitable I will be staying here every time I go to Chicago Definitely!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much. Can't wait to see you upon your return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chicago South Loop Hotel is the second closest hotel to McCormick Place Convention Center. It is located within the Chicago Museum District, Chinatown and Bronzeville neighborhood. The hotel is located 4 miles south of Chicago's City Center, 9 miles east of Chicago Midway Airport, and 22 miles Southwest of O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.