We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Gretna, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Remote but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I purchased this room from Hotwire so I knew for the price there had to be a catch but I took a chance. We wanted to take in the town with our grandchildren and this hotel was definitely not close to the attractions. The bus does run right past it so we used them quite a bit. Parking is free but 1st come, 1st serve so we chose to stay parked. Staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms clean with comfortable beds. Our room faced the entrance which was noisy at times and the train line was across the street and could also be noisy,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your survey. I am glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    288
    136
    53
    35
See reviews for
162
164
82
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weldon, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for three nights in July to attend concerts at Northerly Island. This hotel was a great price and had free parking compared to hotels down on Michigan Ave/closer to Northerly Island. The room was very big and clean and looked to be recently painted. Free Wi-Fi worked great even up on 4th floor. The front desk staff are very, very pleasant and helpful and so are the housekeeping staff...they provided trash bags on request for us to clean up our room and get rid of our take out from the night before and provided great recommendations for late night eats when asked. Parking is adjacent to the hotel and free, though one night of our stay it was full but we were able to park on the street directly in front of the hotel and we moved the car in the morning into the lot without issues. The big plus is the location, as it was only about a 7-8 minute drive to park at Soldier Field, with bumper to bumper traffic on Lakeshore (probably only 5 minutes on normal days). Gift store in lobby was helpful for when we needed a few essentials.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Its great to hear you had a great experience with us. Hope to see you back soon for many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Free parking and Internet a GREAT perk and value for this hotel on State Street near main bus line stop. Easy bus ride to navy pier and downtown stops. Staff very, very helpful and friendly.

Not a particular person as I often stay in hostels when traveling alone. Was surprised lamp shade in room was roughed up pretty bad. Nice basic room and clean but this detail should not have been overlooked in a hotel if this caliber. Picture submitted.

Still a great hotel and value and would return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your survey. And you are correct that the lampshade is not the message that the hotel is trying to convey. I apologize that the large detail was overlooked and thank you for bringing that to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location for the price. Very reasonable and parking was included. A short bus ride to downtown. The bus stop is only two blocks away from the hotel. The staff was helpful and courteous. The room was clean and good size. The bar attached to the hotel was a nice place to wind down after a day of sightseeing.
I accidentally put the pool was excellent, there is no pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your survey. I am really happy to see that not only did like our property, but that you had such a great expereince with the staff! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

First of all.. yes, this hotel is NOT in the center of downtown. That is good and bad. It's bad, obviously, because you're going to need to drive (or take a cab) to get down there (too far to walk.) However, this can actually be a big positive.

We stayed in two hotels a month ago when we visited Chicago. The first hotel was in the heart of North Michigan Ave, while the second was Chicago South Loop. The first hotel was small, expensive, and didn't have many amenities. It was in the middle of downtown which helped.

However, two days later we stayed in Chicago South Loop. Again, this hotel is away from downtown, but still only a ~20 mn drive. The hotel rooms are very, very nice. They are large, spacious, and very comfortable. Not only that.. the staff is AMAZING! They truly look out for you. They accommodated us very well and made sure we had everything we needed.

This hotel is closer to China Town and we were actually able to walk over there -- which was nice.

So yes.. this hotel isn't in the heart of downtown. But it's a great deal, great staff and great rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much and we are thrilled to see you enjoyed yourself. Hope to see you back shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Free parking, free internet and huge rooms!! We love this hotel. I had read some earlier reviews of this hotel and had thought the hotel might be noisy but we slept well every night in our super, comfy bed. We had a wonderful room with a sitting area, two walls of windows, walk-in closet, a fridge, plasma t.v. and gigantic bathtub!
The entire staff of this hotel is amazingly helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Ryan for helping make every request we had materialize. We jumped on the bus right in front of the hotel and were able to get to anywhere we wanted to go within 10-15 minutes. Never even needed to take a taxi. The hotel is very close to the McCormick Center and Chinatown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your survey and your positive comments. The work we do is to make our guest have experiences like this. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I loved that they include parking in the rate. Huge bonus. Also, property is within walking distance to convention center and easy access to great restaurants in Chinatown. We had some issues with elevators being out of order during our stay so hopefully those get cleaned up. Good size rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your survey. I am glag to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. Our apologies about the elevator being out of order. Everything is now back in working order and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.