We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Odd hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Went to Chicago for a short trip. Got this hotel via Hotwire. Thought I got a deal, but it seems like most people get the hotel this way for a similar price, which isn't really all that much lower than their normal price. Normally stay in the downtown area but chose this one due to the lower price. Big mistake. Won't do that again. I don't believe this should be a 3 star hotel. Get better service and amenities at a 2.5 star hotel. Having read many of the other reviews here, I'd say they are almost all spot on - both the good and the bad. The lobby is nice. The elevators are in odd locations and seem like they are in service hallways or are service elevators. The staff was average at best. The rooms were nice, but lacked character. The in room fridge was nice. The beds were extremeley comfortable. Had a great night's sleep. No room service is available, but you can order food from Sarpino's, which is nearby, until 5am. The free parking, which was a major selling point for us, was a joke. Not nearly enough spaces for the number of rooms they have. You're lucky if you get one. Nothing to do or see in the immediate area. Can catch a bus into downtown right on the corner and connect with the L from there. I asked the front desk lady about walking to Roosevelt station. She said "Well, we're on 26th st and Rosevelt is on 12th St." with a tone that I couldn't determine if she was just informing me of the distance or she was implying I should know something about the safety of the neighborhoods between the two. I rephrased and asked if she would walk it. She said yes, she does. So, we did walk the 1-1.5 miles. It was an OK walk and once you get a few blocks from the hotel the area looks nicer and feels safe. But as others have said, I wouldn't do it at night. We took the bus on our way back. A plus was that the Walgreens by Roosevelt station sells 1 day or 3 day CTA passes, which are a good deal. All in all, the hassle factor and amenities are such that I would not consider staying there again no matter what the price. Just not worth it to me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your survey. I am sorry that you did not enjoy yourself more while at the hotel. The Chicago South Loop Hotel is committed to providing our guest with excellent customer service and accommodations to match. We apologize if we fell short in any of these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    255
    118
    41
    30
See reviews for
138
143
78
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel since they have opened. Each time I visit Chicago I try and book this hotel. My last stay was through Hotwire andI could only secure it for one day. Upon my arrival around 11:30 a.m. I requested to check in. The front desk clerk informed that there wasn't a room prepared yet but offered to allow us to leave our bags so we could begin our tour which was scheduled 90 minutes later. I explained I wanted to stay an additional night but was told they were sold out. I pleaded that if there were any cancelations to call me. The next day when I was checking out she told me that was unecessary because she found me a room. The location offers FREE parking and is also on the State Street bus line. The rooms were large and clean. This hotel is a gem in Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
So happy to hear you enjoyed yourself and pleased to hear that we were able to extend your reservation on such a busy few days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Nebraska
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Would give this a 3-star rating for mediocrity, but since it was slightly better than I expected, I am going with 4 stars. Parking was very convenient with adjacent free lot, rooms spacious and clean. Request a room away from the train tracks.

Half a block south is not a good area. Had to use caution walking back after the White Sox game - so if you're going to do some sightseeing, go north or take a taxi to downtown.

Nice greeter at the door, and pretty nice lady at the desk as well. One elevator was out of order - inconvenient. Staircases not clearly marked and tucked back, hard to find. Otherwise a decent stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself, but wish you had a more enjoyable experience. My apologies regarding the elevator being out of order. I hope to see you back, so we can show you what a hotel experience look like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been to the South Loop Hotel on three differnt occasions. It may seem a bit pricy at first glance, but look again: free parking in a high security gated area surounded by the hotel itself (elsewhere it runs around $30 a night), free wifi (elsewhere it can run $10 a night). Great staff! Josephine at the front desk is a real jewel. She is always upbeat and friendly. She goes out of her way to make you feel at home and get settled quickly. One of the best features of this hotel are the beds. I have never been in a more comfortable bed in my life. I get a better night's sleep at the South Loop Hotel than I get at home!
The hotel is not far from downtown. My wife and I walked to Soldier Field to see Lionel Messi and his friends play soccer over the weekend. It was a great 20 minute walk. Downtown is five minutes away by car.

Room Tip: For a bit more money, get one of the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the complimentary amenities; those items can add up fast! Thank you and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Excellent stay with view of downtown. Luxurious bathtub, nice bed, great workspace, and comfortable room. Train noise and sirens were comparable to what I experience at home, so it was home away from home. Great cab service, airport shuttle, and CTA bus route for transportation. The hotel has a great business center and excellent staff. It's great if you are staying a week because the hotel provides body wash and shampoo, as well as lotion. Avoid the hassle at the airport. Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Your experience is my hope with every guest! On behalf of our entire staff here at The Chicago South Loop Hotel, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Great location for conferences/conventions at mccormick place
Great price on hotwire listed as "Chicago south loop mccormick place"
Free parking
Free wifi
Train station nearby
Excellent service very quick and made sure we had everything we needed
Fitness room
Best shower-with jacuzzi tub and built in soap
Great towels
Soft beds
Big rooms
Flat screen tv
Fridge
Great pillows

Cons:
Bad area in my opinion
Some furniture outdated
Not a modern or luxury looking room
Mirrors on closet doors
Toliet room not separate
Full price is $150
One elevator was out of order at the time


Overall I would stay here again if I got ot on hotwire again, but I wouldn't pay full price for this. Great for business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your survey. Guest feedback is one of the best ways to gauge our performance and I would like to thank you for your willingness to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Chicago South Loop Hotel for a weekend. We got there early, after an 8 hour drive from Toronto. Our room was ready at noon, which was fantastic. The front desk staff were wonderful. The hotel is is nice and clean, the king size room was great, parking and internet were free. The hotel is located close to downtown and near to the lake. Overall we had a great time and would recommend it for a place to stay while in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chicago South Loop Hotel is the second closest hotel to McCormick Place Convention Center. It is located within the Chicago Museum District, Chinatown and Bronzeville neighborhood. The hotel is located 4 miles south of Chicago's City Center, 9 miles east of Chicago Midway Airport, and 22 miles Southwest of O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.