We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient to McCormick Place, but you get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very convenient to McCormick Place, but you get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

You get what you pay for at this hotel, however, if your budget allows it and you are attending a convention at McCormick Place, book early and stay at the Hyatt across the street from the convention center.
Pros:
-Very close to McCormick Place, five minutes by Taxi, if you have a problem getting a taxi and don't want to wait too long, you can walk it (however it's not a short walk). I don't recommend it at night.
-Wifi with good signal, throughout the hotel and in room.
-Refrigerator in room
-Comfortable Bed
-Free parking if you have a car with you.
-Good service at front desk.
Cons:
-Discusting stains on carpet, chairs, needs some good cleaning.
-Everything appears to be worn out.
-Towels are very old, they have lost their white color. Had to request more towels to get better ones, still old, but better than previous ones.
-Lights on bed stands on both sides were not working
-My associate who was staying in another room found hair in the bed, so most likely it was not cleaned since the last occupant.
-Very bland rooms with no decor on walls, looks like a cheap motel room. The bed did not even have a bedskirt, the mattress was visible. The drapes were so cheap, you had to be careful not to rip it as you tried closing it.
-It's close to the train, so if you are a light sleeper, you may have an issue with the train passing by every so often.
This hotel was selected by the company I work for, if it was up to me, I would not select this hotel. If this hotel was not near the convention center I don't think it would get that many guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your survey. The Chicago South Loop Hotel is committed to providing our guest with excellent customer service and accommodations to match. We apologize if we fell short in any of these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    261
    121
    44
    33
See reviews for
146
147
78
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was ok. I went there on a business trip whilst at a congress at McCormick place. Hotel was reasonably located for congress center (10 minutes on shuttle bus so fine if the congress center is running a shuttle). This hotel is not near downtown Chicago though, and there are very few shops and restaurants nearby. A cab to downtown cost around $20.

The room was average- quite large but dated, with poor lighting. My shower tray didn't have sides so water ran all over the bathroom when I used the shower. I think this problem was unique to my room though, as my colleagues said theirs were fine.

Of major concern is that the housekeeping staff left my door open one day, meaning anyone could push it and go in my room! Nothing was stolen, and the front desk staff assured me the issue would be addressed with the housekeeping manager.

On the positive side, this hotel had good free wifi throughout and the front desk staff were friendly. Rooms were large and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to fill out a survey. I would like to apologize for the negative experiences you encountered with the hotel. I am glad it was handled appropriately by the front desk, but apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We booked using hotwire, so we didn't know the name of the hotel until after we paid. We were from out of town and didn't know much about the area but were really happy that we ended up here. What appealed most to us was the free parking in the HUGE lot, and free wifi. The entire hotel looks really modern and clean. The rooms are very spacious and immaculate, and we were in a room where the only noise we heard was an occasional train coming by. The hotel is very near bus stops and train stops which help a lot. Other than that, there's not really much to see or do in the neighborhood surrounding the hotel. It's about a 15 minute walk to Chinatown through some shady spots, and lots of abandoned buildings, about a 10 minute bus ride (#29 or #4) for $2.25 to the hot part of State Street and Michigan Ave. Being off the beaten path has its pros and cons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your survey. I agree that this hotel has a lot to offer and is not hard to get anywhere using the CTA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

You never know what's your going to get outside the big chains. We were looking for a hotel close to McCormick Place. We were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff was excellent. The beds may have been the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. This is my hotel of choice when I return to Chicago for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you. Great to hear that we are doing things right and will see you on your way back to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Although I have to agree with other reviewers on the noise level, this would be only one of very few complaints. Loved the large rooms with plenty of closet and counter space in bathrooms - especially in such a great location. By great location I mean walking distance to McCormick Place but during the daytime only - gets really seedy really fast. Clean if slightly aging towels, great bed, great staff, and overall a great choice for our group traveling on business. Tips: use the stairs or "service elevator" or you could be waiting a LONG time. This opens into public spaces so not sure why it's labeled "service" at all. Also get a room facing away from the elevated train if you are a light sleeper.
Overall, I didn't have super high expectations for this property but they easily exceeded them and I would be happy to return.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to welcome you back for many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Fabulous because it was very close to the convention center and chinatown.

Other than that it was pretty much ghetto from there. Constant police and ambulance sirens and the L train howl at night. To make it worse this hotel thought it would be a good idea to put a seedy night club near the lobby that stays open till 2:00 am. Which is fine expect our room was right above it, so we could hear every last song butchered by the killer karaoke...no joke....loud karaoke blasting through the walls at 1:00 am while on a business trip. Not to worry the staff assured me there was no manager on duty but we could have some ear plugs if we liked!! Awesome!! To put a big fat cherry on top the beds where apparently made of straw and destroyed any chance of sleeping we had at all!!! Could you take the money from the cover charge from your "bar" and buy some decent beds?! Hello circa 1980!

Next time i will pay a little more and avoid this wanna be hotel because its nothing more than a motel with lip stick.

Room Tip: Avoid the side with the club if you value sleep. Bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I would like to apologize for the experience you had at the hotel. I am sorry you had trouble sleeping due to the noise and the bedding. I can assure you that I will discuss this survey with the management staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our rooms were large and comfortable, with a huge bathtub and mini-fridge in the suite.
A quiet location yet very close to everything we needed with an extra benefit of free parking which made our lives much easier. Front desk staff was excellent with the manager going above and beyond when we had to deal temporarily with no hot water due to a boiler problem. We were offered a room discount and another room to shower until hot water was returned to our side of the hotel... which happened expeditiously.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for the quieter side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Public Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much. We are happy you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chicago South Loop Hotel is the second closest hotel to McCormick Place Convention Center. It is located within the Chicago Museum District, Chinatown and Bronzeville neighborhood. The hotel is located 4 miles south of Chicago's City Center, 9 miles east of Chicago Midway Airport, and 22 miles Southwest of O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.