We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Shakopee, Minnesota
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We booked using hotwire, so we didn't know the name of the hotel until after we paid. We were from out of town and didn't know much about the area but were really happy that we ended up here. What appealed most to us was the free parking in the HUGE lot, and free wifi. The entire hotel looks really modern and clean. The rooms are very spacious and immaculate, and we were in a room where the only noise we heard was an occasional train coming by. The hotel is very near bus stops and train stops which help a lot. Other than that, there's not really much to see or do in the neighborhood surrounding the hotel. It's about a 15 minute walk to Chinatown through some shady spots, and lots of abandoned buildings, about a 10 minute bus ride (#29 or #4) for $2.25 to the hot part of State Street and Michigan Ave. Being off the beaten path has its pros and cons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your survey. I agree that this hotel has a lot to offer and is not hard to get anywhere using the CTA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    260
    111
    42
    28
See reviews for
130
141
76
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

You never know what's your going to get outside the big chains. We were looking for a hotel close to McCormick Place. We were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff was excellent. The beds may have been the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. This is my hotel of choice when I return to Chicago for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you. Great to hear that we are doing things right and will see you on your way back to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Although I have to agree with other reviewers on the noise level, this would be only one of very few complaints. Loved the large rooms with plenty of closet and counter space in bathrooms - especially in such a great location. By great location I mean walking distance to McCormick Place but during the daytime only - gets really seedy really fast. Clean if slightly aging towels, great bed, great staff, and overall a great choice for our group traveling on business. Tips: use the stairs or "service elevator" or you could be waiting a LONG time. This opens into public spaces so not sure why it's labeled "service" at all. Also get a room facing away from the elevated train if you are a light sleeper.
Overall, I didn't have super high expectations for this property but they easily exceeded them and I would be happy to return.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience and we hope to welcome you back for many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Fabulous because it was very close to the convention center and chinatown.

Other than that it was pretty much ghetto from there. Constant police and ambulance sirens and the L train howl at night. To make it worse this hotel thought it would be a good idea to put a seedy night club near the lobby that stays open till 2:00 am. Which is fine expect our room was right above it, so we could hear every last song butchered by the killer karaoke...no joke....loud karaoke blasting through the walls at 1:00 am while on a business trip. Not to worry the staff assured me there was no manager on duty but we could have some ear plugs if we liked!! Awesome!! To put a big fat cherry on top the beds where apparently made of straw and destroyed any chance of sleeping we had at all!!! Could you take the money from the cover charge from your "bar" and buy some decent beds?! Hello circa 1980!

Next time i will pay a little more and avoid this wanna be hotel because its nothing more than a motel with lip stick.

Room Tip: Avoid the side with the club if you value sleep. Bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I would like to apologize for the experience you had at the hotel. I am sorry you had trouble sleeping due to the noise and the bedding. I can assure you that I will discuss this survey with the management staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our rooms were large and comfortable, with a huge bathtub and mini-fridge in the suite.
A quiet location yet very close to everything we needed with an extra benefit of free parking which made our lives much easier. Front desk staff was excellent with the manager going above and beyond when we had to deal temporarily with no hot water due to a boiler problem. We were offered a room discount and another room to shower until hot water was returned to our side of the hotel... which happened expeditiously.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for the quieter side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Public Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much. We are happy you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Because of graduation and a convention in town, this was literally the only hotel that had an available room for my date of stay. Therefore, my expectations were quite low and that probably turned out to be a good thing. First, the receptionist was not friendly or welcoming upon check in. Second, our room overlooks the projects and within 30 seconds of being in the room, we saw a man urinate in public about 25 yards from the hotel. Third, there was a used washcloth hanging over the shower curtain rod in our bathroom. If the housekeepers missed this obvious object, what else did they overlook when "cleaning" the room before our check in? Lastly, a towel we took off the rack to use was dirty and covered in make-up stains when we went to use it. Was it clean? Doubtful, and if it had been washed, that is certainly not something that should be put in guests rooms. Suffice it to say that I would not recommend the South Loop Hotel nor will I be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I am sorry your experience at the hotel was not enjoyable. I can assure you that your comments were not unnoticed and have be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

if you are looking for a Free parking hotel close to chicago downtown with a good price, this is one of the best options. To get downtown the bus stop is in the oposite site ( front of this hotel ) . In 10 minutes you will be in Chicago downtown.
Rooms are clean and nice . We choose this hotel , because the free parking , Chicago have very expensive hotel / parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your survey. I agree that parking downtown is quite expensive and that our complimentary parking is a great hotel amenity. Glad to hear that you found the Chicago Bus System an easy way to travel and we hope to see you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chicago South Loop Hotel is the second closest hotel to McCormick Place Convention Center. It is located within the Chicago Museum District, Chinatown and Bronzeville neighborhood. The hotel is located 4 miles south of Chicago's City Center, 9 miles east of Chicago Midway Airport, and 22 miles Southwest of O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.