We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghetto Fabulous” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Olathe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ghetto Fabulous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Fabulous because it was very close to the convention center and chinatown.

Other than that it was pretty much ghetto from there. Constant police and ambulance sirens and the L train howl at night. To make it worse this hotel thought it would be a good idea to put a seedy night club near the lobby that stays open till 2:00 am. Which is fine expect our room was right above it, so we could hear every last song butchered by the killer karaoke...no joke....loud karaoke blasting through the walls at 1:00 am while on a business trip. Not to worry the staff assured me there was no manager on duty but we could have some ear plugs if we liked!! Awesome!! To put a big fat cherry on top the beds where apparently made of straw and destroyed any chance of sleeping we had at all!!! Could you take the money from the cover charge from your "bar" and buy some decent beds?! Hello circa 1980!

Next time i will pay a little more and avoid this wanna be hotel because its nothing more than a motel with lip stick.

Room Tip: Avoid the side with the club if you value sleep. Bring your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I would like to apologize for the experience you had at the hotel. I am sorry you had trouble sleeping due to the noise and the bedding. I can assure you that I will discuss this survey with the management staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    254
    116
    41
    30
See reviews for
136
142
78
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our rooms were large and comfortable, with a huge bathtub and mini-fridge in the suite.
A quiet location yet very close to everything we needed with an extra benefit of free parking which made our lives much easier. Front desk staff was excellent with the manager going above and beyond when we had to deal temporarily with no hot water due to a boiler problem. We were offered a room discount and another room to shower until hot water was returned to our side of the hotel... which happened expeditiously.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for the quieter side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Public Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much. We are happy you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Because of graduation and a convention in town, this was literally the only hotel that had an available room for my date of stay. Therefore, my expectations were quite low and that probably turned out to be a good thing. First, the receptionist was not friendly or welcoming upon check in. Second, our room overlooks the projects and within 30 seconds of being in the room, we saw a man urinate in public about 25 yards from the hotel. Third, there was a used washcloth hanging over the shower curtain rod in our bathroom. If the housekeepers missed this obvious object, what else did they overlook when "cleaning" the room before our check in? Lastly, a towel we took off the rack to use was dirty and covered in make-up stains when we went to use it. Was it clean? Doubtful, and if it had been washed, that is certainly not something that should be put in guests rooms. Suffice it to say that I would not recommend the South Loop Hotel nor will I be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I am sorry your experience at the hotel was not enjoyable. I can assure you that your comments were not unnoticed and have be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

if you are looking for a Free parking hotel close to chicago downtown with a good price, this is one of the best options. To get downtown the bus stop is in the oposite site ( front of this hotel ) . In 10 minutes you will be in Chicago downtown.
Rooms are clean and nice . We choose this hotel , because the free parking , Chicago have very expensive hotel / parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your survey. I agree that parking downtown is quite expensive and that our complimentary parking is a great hotel amenity. Glad to hear that you found the Chicago Bus System an easy way to travel and we hope to see you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Our room was clean and spacious as well as the bathroom. The hotel appears to be located in a shady area of town. We certainly wouldn't walk around after dark but unless you eat at the hotel you aren't close to any restaurants or shops. The frountier desk staff was extremely unfriendly, basically rude! The coffee shop posted opening at 7:30 am but at 7:45 am it wasn't opened. When we asked the front desk if the coffee shop would be open, the staff person said "it should but I'm not sure, it's out of our control". When we ordered dinner from the restaurant we were told they don't do room service and we would have to pick up the order... However when we went to pick up our order, the restaurant person had to come and unlock the door to let us in despite the fact that there were other people in the restaurant and they weren't sheduled to close for 2 more hours. Extremely VERY shady!! When we checked out again we were treated rudely . We were beginning to wonder if it was because we we Caucasian???

Room Tip: To choose a good room and experience...book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I am so sorry you had such a terrible experience at the hotel. The Chicago South Loop Hotel is committed to providing our guest with excellent customer service and accommodations to match, and we apologize if we fell short in any of these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a very large and clean room on the third floor. Room faced parking lot so it was quiet. Staff was helpful and parking was free. Very comfortable and it was a great value. Definitely recommend this hotel. Car was necessary for us to get to Hyde Park and south. Lobby is very spacious and business center was always available for computer/ printer use. Beds were new and very comfortable. Decor is well received. We would definitely come back again when we are in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Cannot wait to welcome you back to the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
192 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel was definitely more than I have expected! I loved it! The stay was awesome and the hotel was super clean and we had a ton of fun! The rooms were clean and the staff did anything they could to make a better stay for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Great to hear you had an excellent experience. Hope to see you next time for another great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chicago South Loop Hotel is the second closest hotel to McCormick Place Convention Center. It is located within the Chicago Museum District, Chinatown and Bronzeville neighborhood. The hotel is located 4 miles south of Chicago's City Center, 9 miles east of Chicago Midway Airport, and 22 miles Southwest of O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.