We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Norfolk, Va
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We've stayed here many times. Spacious rooms. Easy access. Free self-parking. Pleasant staff. No-fee Internet access. Fridge in room. Comfy beds. Yes, there is not a lot within walking distance, but public transit is so easy that it doesn't matter to me. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much. We try everyday to make guest feel this way. I will be passing this on to the rest of the team and hope to see you on your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    253
    107
    43
    28
See reviews for
127
140
76
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for a convention (C2E2) that was being held at McCormick. The hotel itself was very nice. I was surprised at the space in the room! I was there with two friends and there was plenty of space for all our bags and stuff. If you're going to a convention, you know how valuable room space can be. The rooms were clean as well. The tub in the bathroom was huge!

The hotel does offer free parking but if you're there during the weekend, I wouldn't move your car. We went out for dinner Saturday night and when we returned both lots were full and there was no street parking available. A space did free up after driving around the block a few times. The kicker was the car that was parked in the hotel lot wasn't a hotel guest! They had walked from somewhere.

As far as the walk to the convention center, it was fine. It was better than having to pay for parking at an expensive lot or parking garage. If you're looking for a place close to the center without having to shell out a ton of money, be sure to check this place out.

As far as staff goes, everyone I encountered were extremely nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your survey. The hotel rooms we have here are quite large. As far as parking I would like to apologize. It seems that everyone coming in that weekend decided to drive. Can't wait for C2E2 returns so I can see more great costumes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night a couple of weeks ago and thought it was quite easy to get to (right on State St.). The location isn't wonderful as far as having a lot to do within an easy walking distance, however, the hotel itself is nice and served its purpose! The rooms are big and clean and the staff was helpful. Price was affordable and even though the location isn't great for walking to attractions (although, we DID walk to Chinatown!), it is easy to get closer to downtown via the 29 bus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you. You are correct that you do have some easy transportation options to the heart of downtown. I also do enjoy the walk through Chinatown. We hope to see you on your return to the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Pros: The rooms were very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. There was free parking - one parking lot had key only access. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. Very economical. I would definitely return for a weekday only trip.

Cons:
1. Security, as it regards to the club/bar attached to the hotel. I was flagged down by a group of people to open the locked door between the hotel and the club/bar. I ducked my head into the nearby boutique to ask if it was okay (it's locked for a reason...). Somehow the group got in and one of the group said some insulting, yet stupid things because we didn't open the door when first asked. He was very confrontational, and probably had no qualms about getting in a lady's face. I feel that if there was security at that door, I wouldn't, as a guest, have to make a security decision.
2. Cafe. I believe that my group wasn't the only group in the hotel. The cafe wasn't adequately staffed for the amount of people in the hotel. It took a half hour to get an order of hash browns. Other people's simple orders took that long also.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, away from the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your survey. I would like to apologize for the experiences you encountered, but can assure that your comments were not unnoticed and will be addressed. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It was an easy check-in as was the rest of the stay. The room was nice and large. Many pillows so did not have to ask for more as is usually the case. The room was clean. Only drawback was no microwave in the room but there is one in the business center. Many PCs in the business center and a nice printer. Forgot to print a few things for work and used the business center to get the items printed. It was so nice that there was no additional cost for printing.

I agree with other reviews about not walking around after dark. I walked to my conference at McCormick place with ease. I did notice on my way out of town that the hotel is close to the White Sox field. Probably within walking distance for a day game.

Would get a 5 if there was a microwave in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and you don't hear anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your survey and honest review. You are right that we are right down the street from US Cellular Field; about a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute cab ride. Hope to see you make it back for a game....GO SOX!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We planned a weekend trip to visit the Navy Pier, Field Museum and Museum of Science and Industry. This nice, out of the way hotel was clean, had brand new mattresses : ), lots of morning coffee from the pleasant hotel cleaning staff and fit our family needs perfectly. Our room key admitted us to the gated parking that was FREE, the staff was cheerful, courteous and helpful, and our stay was great. The desk receptionist, noticing we were three adults with a 5 year old in tow, quickly upgraded our room to add a sitting area and provided coloring pages and crayons for the little one's entertainment. She also remembered the 5 yr old and greeted her personally every time we left and returned to the hotel. And best of all, there was a Chicago road crew working in the street outside which provided endless entertainment for the little one watching the big "Scoop" (backhoe). Even with the windows open we could barely hear the "L" train. The lady in the gift shop was kind. This was just a super stay. We will definitely stay here on our next Chicago visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
WOW! I am so happy to hear that you had such a great experience. This is exactly what we are trying to make happen for all our guest. Thank you so much for your kind words and sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I attended a convention at McCormick Center, and didn't want to pay the price of the Hyatt next to McCormick. The Chicago South Loop Hotel proved to be ideal for my needs. First, it has a 24-hour business center and wireless internet in the guest rooms. The rooms themselves are quite clean and roomy (I was in a king bed room), with refrigerator and a coffee machine. And since the hotel is only a 10-minute walk from the McCormick Center and there is Free Parking (!) at this hotel, I could save a lot on parking fees. If you wish to go uptown, the bus stop is right across the street from the hotel.
I thought the area on the southside could be risky, but this part has been gentrified - there are nice residential town houses and a hospital on the way over to McCormick Center, so it has a reasonably safe feel.
I definitely will stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel on my next visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
I appreciate your kind words. Everything you said is true; and free parking is a huge plus in Chicago. I am pleased to hear you had a great experience and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chicago South Loop Hotel is the second closest hotel to McCormick Place Convention Center. It is located within the Chicago Museum District, Chinatown and Bronzeville neighborhood. The hotel is located 4 miles south of Chicago's City Center, 9 miles east of Chicago Midway Airport, and 22 miles Southwest of O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.