We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy walking and love the FREE parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Guests Enjoy FREE PARKING
Ranked #113 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Easy walking and love the FREE parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It was an easy check-in as was the rest of the stay. The room was nice and large. Many pillows so did not have to ask for more as is usually the case. The room was clean. Only drawback was no microwave in the room but there is one in the business center. Many PCs in the business center and a nice printer. Forgot to print a few things for work and used the business center to get the items printed. It was so nice that there was no additional cost for printing.

I agree with other reviews about not walking around after dark. I walked to my conference at McCormick place with ease. I did notice on my way out of town that the hotel is close to the White Sox field. Probably within walking distance for a day game.

Would get a 5 if there was a microwave in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and you don't hear anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your survey and honest review. You are right that we are right down the street from US Cellular Field; about a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute cab ride. Hope to see you make it back for a game....GO SOX!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    317
    152
    57
    42
See reviews for
178
182
85
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We planned a weekend trip to visit the Navy Pier, Field Museum and Museum of Science and Industry. This nice, out of the way hotel was clean, had brand new mattresses : ), lots of morning coffee from the pleasant hotel cleaning staff and fit our family needs perfectly. Our room key admitted us to the gated parking that was FREE, the staff was cheerful, courteous and helpful, and our stay was great. The desk receptionist, noticing we were three adults with a 5 year old in tow, quickly upgraded our room to add a sitting area and provided coloring pages and crayons for the little one's entertainment. She also remembered the 5 yr old and greeted her personally every time we left and returned to the hotel. And best of all, there was a Chicago road crew working in the street outside which provided endless entertainment for the little one watching the big "Scoop" (backhoe). Even with the windows open we could barely hear the "L" train. The lady in the gift shop was kind. This was just a super stay. We will definitely stay here on our next Chicago visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
WOW! I am so happy to hear that you had such a great experience. This is exactly what we are trying to make happen for all our guest. Thank you so much for your kind words and sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I attended a convention at McCormick Center, and didn't want to pay the price of the Hyatt next to McCormick. The Chicago South Loop Hotel proved to be ideal for my needs. First, it has a 24-hour business center and wireless internet in the guest rooms. The rooms themselves are quite clean and roomy (I was in a king bed room), with refrigerator and a coffee machine. And since the hotel is only a 10-minute walk from the McCormick Center and there is Free Parking (!) at this hotel, I could save a lot on parking fees. If you wish to go uptown, the bus stop is right across the street from the hotel.
I thought the area on the southside could be risky, but this part has been gentrified - there are nice residential town houses and a hospital on the way over to McCormick Center, so it has a reasonably safe feel.
I definitely will stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel on my next visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
I appreciate your kind words. Everything you said is true; and free parking is a huge plus in Chicago. I am pleased to hear you had a great experience and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times over the last year. Great south end location- close to freeway and McCormick Place. Not all of the rooms seem to be updated, but at least the beds are and they're very nice and comfortable. Even with a slightly outdated room, it is very clean and the staff was professional, helpful and friendly. Excellent value - at least $75 cheaper than comparable hotels in central city and parking is included. I will return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, De
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter is in school a few blocks away from here and this has been our go to hotel when visiting over the last few years. The great price, nice rooms, nice staff, and free parking can't be beat. If your real adventurous the bus line is on the corner and with a multi day pass you can leave your car parked for the day.

The only consistent issue here is the cafe. The staff is unfriendly with bad expensive coffee and food. It's been this way for awhile. I just walked out this time. I'm hoping one day they will fix this problem since there is no place nearby to get a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Glad to hear that you are enjoying the hotel. I do apologize for the negative encounters you had cafe. I can assure you that your comments were not unnoticed and will be addressed. Hope to see you on your return to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, and a short walk to the convention center. The price is right and the staff goes out of their way to help you.

Couple of travel tips- from Midway, take the Orange Line to Roosevelt. Great store right there for groceries. From there taxi or take the number 26 bus (South) it stops right

I stayed here for business and I will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and great advise. You are correct that the Orange Line train will lead you close to the hotel and right in front of a large grocery store. Small correcion; it is the #29 bus that will take you to the hotel from Roosevelt stop. Thank you for the helpful tips!

Another small tip is Google Maps has the CTA (Chicago Transit Authority) synced with their map application. So now you can type your destinations in, press the bus button and it will find the easiest way by bus or train to any location in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hotel at a fair price in a good South side location. It's been renovated to a nice new standard and the staff are friendly and helpful. It's not in walking distance to very many businesses, bar or restaurants, but there is plenty of free parking, so it's best if you have a car, or are willing to take the buses, which stop out front.

Bar and restaurant areas are very good as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We can't wait to see you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#107 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Chicago Downtown
Amber Inn
#140 of 178 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Congress Plaza Hotel
Congress Plaza Hotel
#129 of 178 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.