We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Close to Loop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Garrison, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Value Close to Loop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hotel at a fair price in a good South side location. It's been renovated to a nice new standard and the staff are friendly and helpful. It's not in walking distance to very many businesses, bar or restaurants, but there is plenty of free parking, so it's best if you have a car, or are willing to take the buses, which stop out front.

Bar and restaurant areas are very good as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We can't wait to see you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    268
    130
    46
    33
See reviews for
152
153
78
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Chicago South Loop Hotel for a few nights in late February. The hotel is actually situated in an area that is still in the process of gentrification, so there are not a lot of businesses within walking distance; it is not an area that you want to be walking around, especially if you are from out-of-town and don't know the area. As a Chicago native familiar with this neighborhood, I would recommend this hotel to travelers with their own car, and the hotel has 2 parking lots (one gated with hotel key entry) to accommodate such travelers.

The hotel itself is still fairly new and nicely maintained. The hotel staff are friendly, albeit their front desk staff are not the most organized and there was a wait to check-in. The rooms are very clean and pretty standard fare. The beds are comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. There is a bar and restaurant on-site. We were planning on eating breakfast there, but the restaurant was closed and dark, when we tried going there. In the rooms, there is a binder of menus from local restaurants that will deliver to this hotel and there are a few restaurants within a 10 minute drive (like Carmen's Pizza on 24th & Archer).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your response. The complimentary parking at the hotel is a great amentity and a rarity around the Chicago area. I am sorry to hear that you never got a chance to experience the restaurant, you will have to give them a try on your return. They do make an amazing mushroom risotto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This boutique hotel appears to be smack in the middle of nowhere, but it is within walking distance of McCormick Place to the east, and Chinatown to the west. Free parking, reasonable rates and proximity to the convention center are the big draw for me. The staff are incredibly accommodating, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are committed to providing our guest with excellent customer service and accommodations to match and we are please you enjoyed your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently spent a four day pleasure trip in Chicago, and found the Chicago South Loop Hotel ideally located - close to Midway Airport and the Hyde Park area, and an easy drive north into downtown. The hotel has been remodeled fairly recently, and the rooms were large and clean. Free wireless internet was included. Housekeeping staff was especially helpful and friendly. Overall, a good value for the price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you. We have heard some great feedback about the upgrades that have been made to both the rooms and the lobby; especially the new beds! We are pleased you enjoyed your experience and can’t wait to welcome to the city of Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

very pleasurable experience! Big rooms with comfortable beds with friendly service. Just got through spending 5 nights there. The negative reviews I read all worried about the location. Don't believe them! The CTA bus #29 stops right on the intersection of 26th and State, about 50 yards from the hotel, and will take you all the way to the Red Line train or to all the tourist locations on State. Once you get off on State you are just a block away from Michigan Ave. If you want a cab ride instead there was always one waiting. About a 10 minute walk from the McCormick Center and about 15 minutes from Chinatown.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend when you want to get the Chicago experience for a great price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for writing about your experience at our hotel. That is exactly the word we are trying to get out. We hope to see you on your next visit to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Good overall experience, with the exception of incredibly rude staff in the breakfast cafe. They made us feel as if we were an inconvenience to them. Learn some customer service! Friendliness goes a long way!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I would like to apologize for the negative experience you encoutered at the restaurant. I will be informing their management staff about this survey. If you need anything in the future please do not hesitate to ask!

Ryan Doyle
rdoyle@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I used Chicago Loop Hotel while I was attending a convention at the McCormick Convention Center. The hotel is close to the convention center (a taxi ride is still necessary). It has clean and spacious rooms. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The rate was very competitive compared to other hotel in Chicago. The only challenge was to get a taxi in the evening as the area is away from downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you. It is true that we are an under $10 ride to McCormick place or around a fifteen minute walk. Glad to hear your experience with us was enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chicago South Loop Hotel is the second closest hotel to McCormick Place Convention Center. It is located within the Chicago Museum District, Chinatown and Bronzeville neighborhood. The hotel is located 4 miles south of Chicago's City Center, 9 miles east of Chicago Midway Airport, and 22 miles Southwest of O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.