We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savings near McCormick Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Guests Enjoy FREE PARKING
Ranked #110 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Savings near McCormick Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This boutique hotel appears to be smack in the middle of nowhere, but it is within walking distance of McCormick Place to the east, and Chinatown to the west. Free parking, reasonable rates and proximity to the convention center are the big draw for me. The staff are incredibly accommodating, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are committed to providing our guest with excellent customer service and accommodations to match and we are please you enjoyed your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    323
    154
    58
    42
See reviews for
186
186
86
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently spent a four day pleasure trip in Chicago, and found the Chicago South Loop Hotel ideally located - close to Midway Airport and the Hyde Park area, and an easy drive north into downtown. The hotel has been remodeled fairly recently, and the rooms were large and clean. Free wireless internet was included. Housekeeping staff was especially helpful and friendly. Overall, a good value for the price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you. We have heard some great feedback about the upgrades that have been made to both the rooms and the lobby; especially the new beds! We are pleased you enjoyed your experience and can’t wait to welcome to the city of Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

very pleasurable experience! Big rooms with comfortable beds with friendly service. Just got through spending 5 nights there. The negative reviews I read all worried about the location. Don't believe them! The CTA bus #29 stops right on the intersection of 26th and State, about 50 yards from the hotel, and will take you all the way to the Red Line train or to all the tourist locations on State. Once you get off on State you are just a block away from Michigan Ave. If you want a cab ride instead there was always one waiting. About a 10 minute walk from the McCormick Center and about 15 minutes from Chinatown.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend when you want to get the Chicago experience for a great price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for writing about your experience at our hotel. That is exactly the word we are trying to get out. We hope to see you on your next visit to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good overall experience, with the exception of incredibly rude staff in the breakfast cafe. They made us feel as if we were an inconvenience to them. Learn some customer service! Friendliness goes a long way!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I would like to apologize for the negative experience you encoutered at the restaurant. I will be informing their management staff about this survey. If you need anything in the future please do not hesitate to ask!

Ryan Doyle
rdoyle@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I used Chicago Loop Hotel while I was attending a convention at the McCormick Convention Center. The hotel is close to the convention center (a taxi ride is still necessary). It has clean and spacious rooms. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The rate was very competitive compared to other hotel in Chicago. The only challenge was to get a taxi in the evening as the area is away from downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you. It is true that we are an under $10 ride to McCormick place or around a fifteen minute walk. Glad to hear your experience with us was enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Clean comfortable and convenient. Nicely sized rooms. Free Parking in limited access, guarded parking lots. Breakfast in the small cafe/coffee shop ok, but avoid the restaurant's breakfast buffet. Lunch in the bar was very good. Spacious lobby was great for meeting friends. Closeness to IIT, McCormick Place and China Town is a plus. Group pricing for visit to IIT made this a Chicago bargain. Yes we recommend it, yes we will stay again.
Jackie was splendid at the registration desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Great to know you found your new spot in Chicago. I will be passing your kind words on to Jackie!!

Thank you and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The reviews made it sound better than it really is. Curtains and drapes hanging half off the wall, no covering on the bottom to the bed, exposed mattresses. Fire alarm goes off at 3 in the morning......everyone gets out of bed, into the hall....fire departments arrive to try and shut off alarm.
No coffee in the morning in the business center......yikes, get me out of here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had while experiencing our hotel. Although the false fire alarm is out of our control, I do apologize for the unneeded stress it caused.

If you need anything in the future please do not hesistate to contact me,

Ryan Doyle

312-225-7000
rdoyle@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#105 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Congress Plaza Hotel
Congress Plaza Hotel
#131 of 178 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 stars 1,786 reviews
Amber Inn
#141 of 178 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.