We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Guests Enjoy FREE PARKING
Ranked #107 of 182 Hotels in Chicago
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

very pleasurable experience! Big rooms with comfortable beds with friendly service. Just got through spending 5 nights there. The negative reviews I read all worried about the location. Don't believe them! The CTA bus #29 stops right on the intersection of 26th and State, about 50 yards from the hotel, and will take you all the way to the Red Line train or to all the tourist locations on State. Once you get off on State you are just a block away from Michigan Ave. If you want a cab ride instead there was always one waiting. About a 10 minute walk from the McCormick Center and about 15 minutes from Chinatown.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend when you want to get the Chicago experience for a great price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petej65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for writing about your experience at our hotel. That is exactly the word we are trying to get out. We hope to see you on your next visit to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good overall experience, with the exception of incredibly rude staff in the breakfast cafe. They made us feel as if we were an inconvenience to them. Learn some customer service! Friendliness goes a long way!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mg320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I would like to apologize for the negative experience you encoutered at the restaurant. I will be informing their management staff about this survey. If you need anything in the future please do not hesitate to ask!

Ryan Doyle
rdoyle@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I used Chicago Loop Hotel while I was attending a convention at the McCormick Convention Center. The hotel is close to the convention center (a taxi ride is still necessary). It has clean and spacious rooms. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The rate was very competitive compared to other hotel in Chicago. The only challenge was to get a taxi in the evening as the area is away from downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbusafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you. It is true that we are an under $10 ride to McCormick place or around a fifteen minute walk. Glad to hear your experience with us was enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Clean comfortable and convenient. Nicely sized rooms. Free Parking in limited access, guarded parking lots. Breakfast in the small cafe/coffee shop ok, but avoid the restaurant's breakfast buffet. Lunch in the bar was very good. Spacious lobby was great for meeting friends. Closeness to IIT, McCormick Place and China Town is a plus. Group pricing for visit to IIT made this a Chicago bargain. Yes we recommend it, yes we will stay again.
Jackie was splendid at the registration desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Great to know you found your new spot in Chicago. I will be passing your kind words on to Jackie!!

Thank you and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The reviews made it sound better than it really is. Curtains and drapes hanging half off the wall, no covering on the bottom to the bed, exposed mattresses. Fire alarm goes off at 3 in the morning......everyone gets out of bed, into the hall....fire departments arrive to try and shut off alarm.
No coffee in the morning in the business center......yikes, get me out of here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had while experiencing our hotel. Although the false fire alarm is out of our control, I do apologize for the unneeded stress it caused.

If you need anything in the future please do not hesistate to contact me,

Ryan Doyle

312-225-7000
rdoyle@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milroy, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are tired of small hotel rooms you need to try the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Nice large clean rooms, wonderful staff . only thing I would have liked to have had was a nice coffee shop,and room service. There was a "canateen" where you could get a simple breakfast, and coffee but you either sat on stools at a bar, or took the items back to your room.
There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel which I did not use so can not review the food. Gated Parking, secure entry to the hotel and a staff that will go the extra mile for you is reason enough to stay at this hotel.
My only complaint was the rude, and loud neighbors, who came in late and made all kinds of noise in the hallway. when asked to keep it quiet, I was told to shut up and go in my room. This problem was handled by the staff and no further noise was heard the rest of the night.
I had business at McCormick place and was able to park my car for free at the hotel and take a $6.00 cab ride the few blocks to the center and not worry about finding parking. I can not say enough about the staff who allowed me a late check-out which made my experience even better. I will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the Hotel. Hotel needs to sound proff the doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodore C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience and found the hotel so accommodating. I apologize for the noisy neighbors, but pleased to hear security was able to resolve the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed February 2013. No problems at all. A very comfortable hotel and another great thing...parking is free! The hotel was clean, rooms are large, refrigerator in the room, staff was very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was great. Easy taxi ride to McCormick Place for a little over $5. You could walk to McCormick if the weather was nice. After reading other reviews, we asked for a room on the quiet side and it was very quiet. We also parked in the gated lot which was right outside the lobby doors. Thanks to reading the other reviews we decided to stay and glad we did!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the quiet side after reading other reviews...it was very quiet. We parked in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB411_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is true that we are conviently located near McCormick Place. We also just had new beds placed in all the rooms! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#122 of 182 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 stars 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#120 of 182 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Congress Plaza Hotel
Congress Plaza Hotel
#136 of 182 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 stars 1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, South State Street and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 182 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing