We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really Good Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Clean comfortable and convenient. Nicely sized rooms. Free Parking in limited access, guarded parking lots. Breakfast in the small cafe/coffee shop ok, but avoid the restaurant's breakfast buffet. Lunch in the bar was very good. Spacious lobby was great for meeting friends. Closeness to IIT, McCormick Place and China Town is a plus. Group pricing for visit to IIT made this a Chicago bargain. Yes we recommend it, yes we will stay again.
Jackie was splendid at the registration desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Great to know you found your new spot in Chicago. I will be passing your kind words on to Jackie!!

Thank you and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    245
    107
    41
    25
See reviews for
120
137
75
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The reviews made it sound better than it really is. Curtains and drapes hanging half off the wall, no covering on the bottom to the bed, exposed mattresses. Fire alarm goes off at 3 in the morning......everyone gets out of bed, into the hall....fire departments arrive to try and shut off alarm.
No coffee in the morning in the business center......yikes, get me out of here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had while experiencing our hotel. Although the false fire alarm is out of our control, I do apologize for the unneeded stress it caused.

If you need anything in the future please do not hesistate to contact me,

Ryan Doyle

312-225-7000
rdoyle@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milroy, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you are tired of small hotel rooms you need to try the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Nice large clean rooms, wonderful staff . only thing I would have liked to have had was a nice coffee shop,and room service. There was a "canateen" where you could get a simple breakfast, and coffee but you either sat on stools at a bar, or took the items back to your room.
There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel which I did not use so can not review the food. Gated Parking, secure entry to the hotel and a staff that will go the extra mile for you is reason enough to stay at this hotel.
My only complaint was the rude, and loud neighbors, who came in late and made all kinds of noise in the hallway. when asked to keep it quiet, I was told to shut up and go in my room. This problem was handled by the staff and no further noise was heard the rest of the night.
I had business at McCormick place and was able to park my car for free at the hotel and take a $6.00 cab ride the few blocks to the center and not worry about finding parking. I can not say enough about the staff who allowed me a late check-out which made my experience even better. I will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the Hotel. Hotel needs to sound proff the doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience and found the hotel so accommodating. I apologize for the noisy neighbors, but pleased to hear security was able to resolve the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed February 2013. No problems at all. A very comfortable hotel and another great thing...parking is free! The hotel was clean, rooms are large, refrigerator in the room, staff was very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was great. Easy taxi ride to McCormick Place for a little over $5. You could walk to McCormick if the weather was nice. After reading other reviews, we asked for a room on the quiet side and it was very quiet. We also parked in the gated lot which was right outside the lobby doors. Thanks to reading the other reviews we decided to stay and glad we did!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the quiet side after reading other reviews...it was very quiet. We parked in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is true that we are conviently located near McCormick Place. We also just had new beds placed in all the rooms! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I found a fantastic rate on H O T WR. Worth every penny. Less than 2 miles to McCormick Center. Free parking, not a place where you can walk to find things to do. I did not use the business center, it had a 4-5 computers and a printer. I used the fitness center, it was clean and all the equipment was in working order.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Great to hear that you really enjoyed our hotel. And you are right; McCormick Place is conviently close to the hotel. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We agree with other reviews about the size of the room, cleanliness, and the location, which were all great. We requested the quieter side and did not hear anything. We also found out they had gated parking, so we moved our car from the regular to the gated parking lot.

Not wanting to drive anymore, we decided to go to the bar to have something to eat and ordered the burger with fries. It was out of this world! A huge portioned burger with delicious fries. We ended up ordering more fries to take back to our room!

Room Tip: Request the quiet side of the hotel, and ask for the gated parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. Glad to hear that you such a positive experience with us. We also agree that the bar and restaurant do a great job. Next time try the grilled chicken sandwich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Big room. Fridge. Clean. Located right on the bus route, which will take you directly to the Pier in less that 30 mins. Nowhere around there to get a coffee/food except a lackluster canteen on the main floor, but it was so easy to use local transport to get around the City I would go back there. Felt totally safe going in and out of hotel from the bus stop late at night, but I wouldn't recommend wandering around the neighbourhood at that time (but that was just me, not that I know for certain if there are any problems). Had read from previous posters that front desk was not that helpful, but I didn't experience that. They were fine. It is not a luxury hotel but was a good value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chicago South Loop Hotel is the second closest hotel to McCormick Place Convention Center. It is located within the Chicago Museum District, Chinatown and Bronzeville neighborhood. The hotel is located 4 miles south of Chicago's City Center, 9 miles east of Chicago Midway Airport, and 22 miles Southwest of O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.