We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Guests Enjoy FREE PARKING
Ranked #110 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the best”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The reviews made it sound better than it really is. Curtains and drapes hanging half off the wall, no covering on the bottom to the bed, exposed mattresses. Fire alarm goes off at 3 in the morning......everyone gets out of bed, into the hall....fire departments arrive to try and shut off alarm.
No coffee in the morning in the business center......yikes, get me out of here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had while experiencing our hotel. Although the false fire alarm is out of our control, I do apologize for the unneeded stress it caused.

If you need anything in the future please do not hesistate to contact me,

Ryan Doyle

312-225-7000
rdoyle@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    323
    154
    58
    42
See reviews for
186
186
86
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milroy, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you are tired of small hotel rooms you need to try the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Nice large clean rooms, wonderful staff . only thing I would have liked to have had was a nice coffee shop,and room service. There was a "canateen" where you could get a simple breakfast, and coffee but you either sat on stools at a bar, or took the items back to your room.
There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel which I did not use so can not review the food. Gated Parking, secure entry to the hotel and a staff that will go the extra mile for you is reason enough to stay at this hotel.
My only complaint was the rude, and loud neighbors, who came in late and made all kinds of noise in the hallway. when asked to keep it quiet, I was told to shut up and go in my room. This problem was handled by the staff and no further noise was heard the rest of the night.
I had business at McCormick place and was able to park my car for free at the hotel and take a $6.00 cab ride the few blocks to the center and not worry about finding parking. I can not say enough about the staff who allowed me a late check-out which made my experience even better. I will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the Hotel. Hotel needs to sound proff the doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience and found the hotel so accommodating. I apologize for the noisy neighbors, but pleased to hear security was able to resolve the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed February 2013. No problems at all. A very comfortable hotel and another great thing...parking is free! The hotel was clean, rooms are large, refrigerator in the room, staff was very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was great. Easy taxi ride to McCormick Place for a little over $5. You could walk to McCormick if the weather was nice. After reading other reviews, we asked for a room on the quiet side and it was very quiet. We also parked in the gated lot which was right outside the lobby doors. Thanks to reading the other reviews we decided to stay and glad we did!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the quiet side after reading other reviews...it was very quiet. We parked in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is true that we are conviently located near McCormick Place. We also just had new beds placed in all the rooms! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I found a fantastic rate on H O T WR. Worth every penny. Less than 2 miles to McCormick Center. Free parking, not a place where you can walk to find things to do. I did not use the business center, it had a 4-5 computers and a printer. I used the fitness center, it was clean and all the equipment was in working order.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Great to hear that you really enjoyed our hotel. And you are right; McCormick Place is conviently close to the hotel. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We agree with other reviews about the size of the room, cleanliness, and the location, which were all great. We requested the quieter side and did not hear anything. We also found out they had gated parking, so we moved our car from the regular to the gated parking lot.

Not wanting to drive anymore, we decided to go to the bar to have something to eat and ordered the burger with fries. It was out of this world! A huge portioned burger with delicious fries. We ended up ordering more fries to take back to our room!

Room Tip: Request the quiet side of the hotel, and ask for the gated parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. Glad to hear that you such a positive experience with us. We also agree that the bar and restaurant do a great job. Next time try the grilled chicken sandwich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Big room. Fridge. Clean. Located right on the bus route, which will take you directly to the Pier in less that 30 mins. Nowhere around there to get a coffee/food except a lackluster canteen on the main floor, but it was so easy to use local transport to get around the City I would go back there. Felt totally safe going in and out of hotel from the bus stop late at night, but I wouldn't recommend wandering around the neighbourhood at that time (but that was just me, not that I know for certain if there are any problems). Had read from previous posters that front desk was not that helpful, but I didn't experience that. They were fine. It is not a luxury hotel but was a good value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the Christmas holiday, based on other reviews we asked for a "quiet room". The Subway/Metra runs close to one side of this hotel, being on the parking lot side however it was very quiet.

Located close to McCormick place, Chinatown, Highway access and of course the Metra.

Very nice lobby, very friendly staff (and guests for that matter)

Not a 4 star property but nice and clean and comfortable with big rooms. Can't beat the prices.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from Metra/Subway are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#105 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Congress Plaza Hotel
Congress Plaza Hotel
#131 of 178 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
Amber Inn
#141 of 178 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.