We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was good , too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Las Vegas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The food was good , too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We agree with other reviews about the size of the room, cleanliness, and the location, which were all great. We requested the quieter side and did not hear anything. We also found out they had gated parking, so we moved our car from the regular to the gated parking lot.

Not wanting to drive anymore, we decided to go to the bar to have something to eat and ordered the burger with fries. It was out of this world! A huge portioned burger with delicious fries. We ended up ordering more fries to take back to our room!

Room Tip: Request the quiet side of the hotel, and ask for the gated parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. Glad to hear that you such a positive experience with us. We also agree that the bar and restaurant do a great job. Next time try the grilled chicken sandwich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    288
    136
    53
    35
See reviews for
162
164
82
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Big room. Fridge. Clean. Located right on the bus route, which will take you directly to the Pier in less that 30 mins. Nowhere around there to get a coffee/food except a lackluster canteen on the main floor, but it was so easy to use local transport to get around the City I would go back there. Felt totally safe going in and out of hotel from the bus stop late at night, but I wouldn't recommend wandering around the neighbourhood at that time (but that was just me, not that I know for certain if there are any problems). Had read from previous posters that front desk was not that helpful, but I didn't experience that. They were fine. It is not a luxury hotel but was a good value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the Christmas holiday, based on other reviews we asked for a "quiet room". The Subway/Metra runs close to one side of this hotel, being on the parking lot side however it was very quiet.

Located close to McCormick place, Chinatown, Highway access and of course the Metra.

Very nice lobby, very friendly staff (and guests for that matter)

Not a 4 star property but nice and clean and comfortable with big rooms. Can't beat the prices.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from Metra/Subway are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

There aren't many places to eat nearby, but Millennium Park is only about 20 minutes by bus and there's a stop right on the corner of State and 26th (be sure to remember that, maybe even write it on your hand).

I've paid more to park downtown than I paid to spend the night at this lovely hotel. And although I feared it might be loud or seedy or unclean, it was perfectly fine on all three counts. The room was clean and truly large, which was only a problem because it made it hard for my aging eyes to see the flat screen tv from bed when I watched a the one basketball game I knew I couldn't miss.

The desk agents were swift and friendly.

Suggestion: Stop at a Walgreen's and purchase 3 or 4 one day travel passes on your way in ($5.75/day). You may not have to use your car again until you leave. Children under 7 don't have to have a pass.

I stayed here with my kids (6 and 11), and it was safe and quite, but we're pretty comfortable with big cities and public transport. It would be a great place for bicycling enthusiasts, because the lake-shore trails are nearby and easily accessed. If the weather's nice, it's an easy walk to the museum campus. We came in winter and were focused on the museums and ice-skating at Millennium Park, but now I hope comparable deals are available in the spring. Great for Obama fans, too, because Hyde Park is about the same distance south as Millennium Park is north.

If you like architecture, Mies van de Rohe and Frank Lloyd Wright are blocks away. If you are literary, then re-read a few chapters from Saul Bellow's "Humboldt's Gift" before you arrive.

This hotel has embraced a great business model. I hope they prosper. My only suggestion would be to rent bikes and sell packed lunches. I'll be back either way. Oh yeah: the room had a refrigerator and a huge bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hope to see you on your return to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was looking for a reasonable place to stay for a Bears game and was very pleased with this place. From the time we checked in until we left the staff was super friendly and helpful. They immediately upgraded our room upon check-in so that we could be close to the other couple that we were traveling with. Whenever we needed information or directions they were so helpful, even looking things up on the internet when they didn't have an answer for us. The room was very large and clean...no complaints at all...and the free parking was a bonus! We parked our vehicle and took a bus or walked from the hotel with ease, saving us the hassles and money otherwise spent when driving in Chicago. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hope to see you soon!

BEAR DOWN!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is fine if you're looking for a place to crash that is walkable to the McCormick Conference Center. I got a pretty decent rate, which was much, much cheaper than the conference's hotel block rooms. The location is only good if you are looking for the conference center. Otherwise, it's far from the El and not near anything fun. However, since I was only there for a conference, it was pretty ideal. The walk is about a half mile. It's farther to the Cermack Red Line El stop - more like .7 miles. I could have taken the State St. bus, but opted not to.

The room itself was OK - flat screen TV, clean bathroom, and everything worked. They don't give conditioner, which was a little annoying but not a huge deal. The bed was comfortable enough. Housekeeping was reliable.

Check in was easy. There was no complimentary breakfast, so I opted to eat at the pricey McCormick Center. If I have another conference, I would stay here again. If I'm being a only tourist, I would opt to stay downtown instead.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We will be getting new mattresses soon, which will make the room that much more comfortable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I was initially worried to stay at the hotel because of it's location, but I was pleasantly surprised at the ease of this place and getting around Chicago. The free, large, parking lot made the reasonable room price a real bargain. The staff were really kind. The room was a bit grungy but HUGE, and one can see pride of ownership and the remnant of bygone elegance of the place, in the public spaces. Easy to access free internet, food options within the building, a fantastic and hug bathroom, made staying here a real treat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all of the vibrant energy and excitement of Chicago, when you stay at the Chicago South Loop Hotel. Ideally located near McCormick Place and just minutes away from attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Chinatown, and Magnificent Mile shopping, our sophisticated boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of classic style, impeccable guests services and a prime location in the heart of Chicago's historic Bronzeville District. Whether you're visiting the Windy City for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy modernized and spacious guestrooms, central location and fabulous service from our welcoming hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.