We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago South Loop Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chicago South Loop Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chicago South Loop Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Bluffton, Ohio
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days while attending a conference at McCormick Place. My stay was extremely pleasant. Everyone at the hotel, restaurant, and bar were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, and well-attended. The coffee shop in the mornings was great for breakfast to go or eat in. The nicest part was the fact that it was one of the most affordable hotels within walking distance to McCormick Place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCSL, Front Office Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    254
    107
    43
    28
See reviews for
127
140
76
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rishton Lancashire England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 NIghts in Sept. Reception staff on arrival where very helpful rooms are large and looks like they had just been refurbished nice bathroom flat screen TV air con a bit noisy but as it was Sept did not need to use it. Location of the hotel is not central like they say but there is a good bus stop right at the door but it can take a good 30-40 mins at peak time.As we did not arrived until after 7 pm decided to eat in the Restuarant the food was good but was a bit pricey for what you got wine was expensive compared to everywhere else we went after this, but overall quite good there is nothing near this hotel for you to go to eat so the hotel as a monopoly at night. Loved Chicago but would probably stay somewhere nearer next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your survey. The bus is a convenient way to get downtown and Chinatown is just around the corner for some fantastic food ideas. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were in Chicago for the Chicago Marathon. We initially had a reservation closer to the start but it was over $100 more a night and at least $25 a day for parking. So I changed our reservation to the Chicago South Loop Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised! This hotel is an excellent value for the price. Front desk staff was very friendly. The room was larger than average, clean and quiet. Did I mention that parking was also free?? The only down side is that its 4 miles away from all the action but a cab was very easy to get. Overall a very good experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Front Office Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much. Glad to see you enjoyed your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was in Chicago in October 2012 to host a seminar. The Chicago South Loop Hotel was presented to me as an up and coming hotel near the south side of Chicago. I was pleased with the guest services as well as the cleanliness and size of the room. Staff members went out of their way to make sure that my stay was pleasant and comfortable. The next time I am in Chicago I plan to host my event at this hotel. SPJ

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Front Office Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
This is great to hear. Can not wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talihina, Oklahoma, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and always on hand for any help. It was fairly close to near by attractions.
The only thing they didn't have was a microwave in the room, which would've been easier to heat up left overs and snacks, but all in all it was a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Front Office Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We have placed a microwave in our business center for guest use. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised on our stay. This hotel is an excellent value for the price. Front desk staff were very friendly. The room was larger than average and had a refrigerator that I didn't expect but appreciated. I'm a light sleeper but the room was quiet and I slept very well. A request for extra pillows was attended to immediately. Parking is free and secure which is unheard of in a Chicago hotel. When we lived in Chicago 20 years ago this would have been a dicey area but it is gentrifying and I felt very safe. Public transit access is excellent and the interstate is easy to get to as well. I can't comment on the other facilities as we didn't use them - too busy!! All in all I was very pleased and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Front Office Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel experience was absolutely abysmal. I am generally a low maintenance traveler who is accustomed to budget hotels, so I was looking forward to this experience. The room itself was ok, but the service was appalling. Upon checking in, I asked about booking a cab for the morning. I was given a number and told to call the cab company. No big deal, although most hotels of this price will book cabs for you. I called from my room and was told that I was not allowed to book a cab independently, as the hotel has an account with the cab company. I then called the front desk to ask them to book a cab, and was advised to call back in the AM. I then proceeded to lose 2 hours of sleep due to a dying battery in a smoke alarm somewhere in the hallway. When the front desk was notified by multiple people on the floor, their response was that they could not respond until the guest occupying the room with the smoke alarm called. Upon waking, I found a bill for the LOCAL phone call made to the cab company because the front desk refused to book it for me. I called the front desk to ask for a cab, and was told that they were waiting outside the hotel. Upon checking out, they refused to waive the phone bill, despite the fact that there is NO NOTIFICATION ANYWHERE that even local phone calls are charged. And last, there was NO CAB waiting outside. I was told to wait 20 minutes for the cab I had tried to book 3 times. The service and stay were appalling. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDoyle76, Front Office Manager at Chicago South Loop Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Please allow me the opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you had while experiencing our hotel. The front desk is encouraged to do anything in their power to make a guest feel comfortable and I am sorry we fell short in this area. We have a direct line to a cab company and am not happy with the unneeded disservice you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicago South Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago South Loop Hotel

Address: 11 West 26th Street, and W 26th St, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago South Loop Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chicago South Loop Hotel is the second closest hotel to McCormick Place Convention Center. It is located within the Chicago Museum District, Chinatown and Bronzeville neighborhood. The hotel is located 4 miles south of Chicago's City Center, 9 miles east of Chicago Midway Airport, and 22 miles Southwest of O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Chicago South Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago South Loop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.