We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful bridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michigan Avenue Bridge

Michigan Avenue Bridge
Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$94*
and up
Chicago CityPass
Ranked #39 of 307 Attractions in Chicago
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The view from the bridge is one of the best vistas the city has to offer.
detroit
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“beautiful bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is truly a lovely bridge but very short, You really do get a great view when you stop in the middle, I took some great pictures. The only thing is there is so much traffic going across and crowds of people walking over it, that you don't really see the beauty of it. I reminded me of Tower Bridge in London. Great views of the skyline but cold and windy. There were no boats there except one that does the tours of the city by boat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    72
    17
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best place to see Chicago River dyed green on St Paddys Day !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We picked a spot early this morning by the bridge to see the river turn green. It was pretty crowded for sure, but something we had to see at least once. Police were constantly yelling at people stopping to take pictures and slowing down pedestrian traffic.

Other than St Paddys Day, its just another bridge.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“WALK ACROSS IT IS ABOUT IT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Well tourists will want to see it and walk across it - watch out for locals who hate tourists that stop on bridge to take a picture. You might get bumped or a nasty comment. If you visit on St. Pat's day, you can see the river dyed green.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lots of Downtown Action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I really like to stand on the bridge and watch the boats, people and to see the buildings. There is alot to see from that point.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful in June!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Chicago is simply amazing. I am attaching a picture I took from the bridge in June 2012. This city is full of energy and you can not beat the restaurants/shops. Make sure you walk down to Giordano's pizza! No need for a car, you can walk, bus around the city. Giordano's is within the "LOOP" We walked down to the beach too, and there is a great walk-way to walk along Lake Michigan...so beautiful in April, May, June!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michigan Avenue Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Michigan Avenue Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michigan Avenue Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.