We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile) (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
American Girl Specials
Ranked #62 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
1 review
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We always book with Hilton because the quality of their hotels is very consistent. This experience far exceeded what we expected! Nikita checked us in and made sure we were happy, having fun, and comfortable throughout our entire visit! All of the staff were very helpful and friendly, but Nikita was above and beyond! The room was clean and nice and the views were amazing! We will definitely be staying with them in the future!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
51
53
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Hampton Inn on a recent business trip. The rooms are enormous and include couches, tv tables, and all the usual stuff. The breakfast offering (included) is extensive and will last you until lunch. They include waffles, omelettes, bacon, muffins, bagels, cereal, oatmeal...

The only reason I didn't give the hotel 5 stars is its location near the hospital. The sirens woke me up the first night, but I did sleep through on subsequent nights. Despite this, I would definitely stay here again.

The hotel is located near train and bus stops and is just a few short steps from Michigan Avenue. I didn't have a car and used public transportation and my feet for the entire trip. I highly recommend a few restaurants nearby the hotel: Gino's East is right around the corner (great pizza). Giordano's, another pizza joint, is a few blocks away, as is Eataly (don't miss the nutella crepes!).

The John Hancock Center is a few blocks north, the Navy Pier just to the east, and the Chicago Institute of Art and Millenium Park are walkable, but is also an easy bus ride to the south (maybe 1/2 mile).

Room Tip: The higher floors might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was the hotel of choice for the out-of-town guests attending a family wedding & no one was disappointed with the hotel or the ammenities. This is probably the cleanest hotel we've ever stayed at! The complimentary hot breakfast was a great way to start the day & we all enjoyed the freshly brewed coffee offered 24/7. We all loved this hotel & willl definitely stay here again & look for this hotel in other parts of the country!

Room Tip: I would be surprised if all the rooms weren't excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't say enough about this hotel - every aspect - highly highly recommend a stay there. Room was clean, beds very comfortable, fromt desk staff super friendly and helpful and the breakfast was plentiful.

Room Tip: Rooms were clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is located below Michigan Avenue and is right next to a fire station. We heard sirens quite a few times during the night which can be a problem for those not used to this. Room was fine but nothing special. There was a safe in the room but no refrigerator or microwave.
Bed was O.K. But again nothing special. Water pressure in shower was good and counter space was nice. We had an issue with a loud bachelorette group on our floor and they had been told to quiet down by staff but were still noisy. Not fault of hotel but a problem for us sleeping at night.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. They lock front doors at night which was nice for security. They had a very nice complimentary breakfast buffet with more than enough seating. Michigan Avenue was very walkable from here and Navy Pier was about a 20 minute walk away.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

With a phenomenal location, this Hampton Inn provided us exceptional service from check-in, to housekeeping, to check-out. All stellar service - 5 Star all the way! With 40 floors, we were given a king great suite on floor 34, and had breathtaking views abounding!

The Magnificent Mile area of downtown is a fabulous location for shopping, dining, sight-seeing, and exploring.

Would happily come back next time in the Windy City!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea,me
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed on the thirtieth floor. The property is on the edge of little Italy and next door to two medical centers. I had to adjust to the late night sirens of medical vehicles. Beds were extremely comfortable. My room had huge wingows, a couch, a desk, and two queen sized beds and a small fridge. I am a Hilton gold awards member. The only problem encountered was that they forgot my wake up call at 2:30am. Luckily I did not miss my flight home. I was pretty aggrivated, though! Free breakfast was on par with other Hampto Inns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Windows on E. Huron.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 160 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#58 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Avenue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.