We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a good cleaning and handyman” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North to your Saves list
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North
410 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Be VIP at Shedd Aquarium
Ranked #63 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“In need of a good cleaning and handyman”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel shares one building with Residence Inn. Pictures nice but don't be fooled. The desk attendant "baldy" couldn't suggest any places to eat, "Its Friday and Valentines Day, order carry out. Then started sneezing and said "It's you!" rudely while he backed away.( We found a place with no waiting after stopping at an Irish pub.) Baldy was on the Residence Inn side. I guess I shouldn't have crossed over! The living room was dark. One stand lamp, broken, small frige broken, hide a bed SHOT. (The springs dangling down.) Dirty stained sofa, Lights over beds looked like a hospital room. A large stain on the wall that dripped down towards the bed. Over all a Wonderful location and no bed bugs. Just look out!! The pictures are not what you get.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Each associate lives the mission of being " the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago." I'm very sorry you thought our service was rude. We took great preparation the days prior to Valentines' Day to locate restaurants that had availability this evening. I will be forwarding your comments to our Director of Services, Director of Engineering, and our Front Desk Managers so that we can ensure that every guest has a memorable stay.

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    240
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
209
97
35
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked thru springhill hotel website, upgraded to high floor with great view, two double beds. Very nicely decorated and spacious. computer desk with ergonomic chair, pull out sofa sleeper, microwave with sealed paper plates and sealed cutlery, frig, full tub and shower and stool in bath with sink area outside. Loved the lightweight white duvet bed linens and plush bath linens. Loved the floor to ceiling windows and window coverings. Very comfortable. Free wifi. 32" flat screen tv. Many selections at free breakfast: small omelets with salsa, breads, muffins, make your own waffles (with choc chips), yogurt, milk, juices, coffee, dry cereals or oatmeal with walnuts, dried cranberries, honey, brown sugar, fresh fruits, all delicious! Very clean throughout. On site parking ramp at $47 a day and room rate $143, total $190 for a very comfortable stay for my adult daughter and me. Able to walk to concert at House of Blues and to many area attractions and eateries. Only one night, wish we could have stayed two nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-Star review! I am so happy to hear you and your daughter enjoyed the stay. Our mission at this hotel is to be the "cleanest and friendliest" hotel in downtown Chicago. I had to smile as soon as I read the title of your review! I'll make sure I forward this review to the rest of our staff. Thank you again and hopefully we can have you back soon for that 2-night stay!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Took my 3 kids to the city for a long weekend. Had a king room with a pull out bed. Plenty of room for the 4 of us. Guest services was very prompt when bringing extra blanket, ice, ect. Breakfast was very good. Plenty of choices for even my pickiest eater. Not far from bus stops. Room service could have had more choices, however plenty of good places within walking distance including Ed Debevic's. Would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for the 4-Star review! The SpringHill Suites brand definitely does have a great breakfast with very many options. I'm glad to hear you and the family loved the food and your suite was comfortable for your family of four. We hope to have you back again the next time you are in River North area!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. First, the staff was very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. Upon checking in, we were given room 2625, a corner room with a tremendous view. The room was very large with two double beds and a separate living area with a large fold out sofa/bed. There is a swivel flat screen tv that that be pointed towards the bed or towards the living room. There is a small refrigerator as well as a microwave.

The hotel is located within an area with a large concentration of restaurants. All types of food are within easy walking distance.

While the included breakfast buffet was very good, the only negative was the prefabricated, precooked scrambled and fried egg patties which did appear on Sunday morning. These things were just awful and prevent a 5 star rating. The rest of the mornings that we were there, the Buffett had real scrambled eggs.

I would also like to add that a daily rate of $94 in the heart of Chicago (breakfast included) was an exceptional value.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to help prevent noise from the street. There is a fire station within a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm very sorry you did not like all aspects of the breakfast. We will see what can be done to improve upon this aspect. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nice hotel in a central location in Chicago. I am in the city frequently and enjoy my stays here. The staff is friendly and the rooms are typical for Springhill Suites. Breakfast is well prepared and complete with many choices! Their evening appetizer and snacks are also nice. The fitness center is outstanding! Keep up the great work guys!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice 4-Star review! I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you again and we will look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed at this property Feb 2-4. Great downtown location - walking distance to any type of food you want(although we drove about 4 blks). It seems like a great place to stay in warmer weather because of all the shops and resturants. Check-in was a breeze. Make sure you get the parking garage option when booking this hotel, parking is not the best downtown. Our rooms were very comfortable and each was designed differently. The beds were sink-in for a wonderful nights rest. My only disappointment was the lighting was not designed with the night reader in mind. Instead of a clock radio I would have liked to have a desk lamp between the bed instead of the industrial style fixtures (they were tooooooo bright). All associates were very friendly-front desk, housekeeping and dining room staff etc went out of their way to make sure our stay was awesome. Thumbs up for this location...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I am so glad you enjoyed our hotel's great location. We take great pride in our guest satisfaction and are always looking to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in downtown Chicago! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back soon!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here Dec. 11-13 for work. The hotel is a short walk from the Clark/Lake station so it's easy to get to and from O'Hare. Short walk to everything: shopping, restaurants, theater. The room was typical Springhill Suites, pretty much as pictured and very comfortable and well appointed. Floor to ceiling windows gave great light and the living/work area was great. Breakfast is included and there is an excellent selection that changes each day. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. The night I arrived I asked for a recommendation for a close, casual place to get a quick bite to eat and the staff recommendation was right on. The breakfast staff is also very friendly and welcoming asking how everything was and if I needed anything else. The all day coffee/tea bar is also a great amenity.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Manager at Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5-Star review! Our associates take great pride in being the friendliest in Chicago and I am so glad we were of great assistance during your stay. We truly hope to ahve you back the next time you are in the River North area!

Sincerely,

Dan Harwood
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North

Address: 410 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Business Hotel in Chicago
#62 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springhill Suites Chicago River North is located just north of the Loop in the city's most spectacular neighborhood to shop, dine, and stay. It is close to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, North Avenue Beach, and Millennium Park. Guest rooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, plush bedding, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. The property offers a complimentary new breakfast buffet, indoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness room. Lunch and dinner are available on-site at HUB 51, a contemporary American Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springhill Suites Chicago Downtown / River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.