We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun if you're interested in what they have” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Broadcast Communications

Museum of Broadcast Communications
360 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60610 (Near North Side)
312 245 8200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 307 Attractions in Chicago
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC) is one of only three broadcast museums in America and home to the nation’s only Radio Hall of Fame. The Museum will re-open in its new 70,000-square-foot facility on State and Kinzie Streets in 2006.
Lakewood, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fun if you're interested in what they have”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was glad to have found a discount coupon for the admission as I think I would have been disappointed to have paid the full price. It is a great place for people interested in the history of radio and TV, especially with connections to Chicago media.
Lots of plaques on the walls to accompany photos and a few videos but, as other reviewers have mentioned, not enough actual items on display. Hopefully, as time goes by many more pieces will be added.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    12
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great memories here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went to the MBC on a free day. They have some great exhibits on the upper floor of some old TV shows - that really took me back. They also have the old TV archives available to the public.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

After waiting 6 years for this museum to reopen in a new location, we found the "new, improved facility" lacking in the excellent exhibits and displays of the old museum. Among the missing were the artifacts of Howdy Doody, Kukla, Fran and Ollie, the original "Suzy Snowflake, Hard rock, Coco and Joe" and other programing originating from the Chicago area in the early days of radio and televison. Their emphasis seems to be on MBC "hall of fame" inductees and have done a good job with that aspect of the museum.
Sadly, we were expecting more from the Museum of Broadcast Commications!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Still evolving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was so excited that this once free museum, that had closed, was now open and relocated. Having said that... right now, the price of admission was more a contribution to the museum, and a tribute to the once quaint trip through the past that once was.. a very unique Chicago cultural icon... than anything that truly was worth paying to see. They are still working on the exhibits and the place will evolve. Fans of the medium may get a kick out of it as it stands but for the casual observer it is not worth the price of admission. You can watch I Love Lucy at home for free.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Area
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great if you grew up with WGN kids shows!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited this museum on a groupon at a good price. I went with a person who also grew up in the Chicago area during the 60's. We enjoyed the upper floor with Bozo circus display, Ray Raynor display and Garfield Goose. There is a radio hall of fame with plaques honoring those inducted, there is a nice display of old TV's and radios. Good for Baby Boomers.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Broadcast Communications also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Broadcast Communications? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Broadcast Communications, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.