We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adler Planetarium

Adler Planetarium
1300 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60605 (South Loop)
312 922 7827
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Adler Planetarium like an insider
$35*
and up
Ranked #95 of 953 things to do in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Adler has a prime location on the lake, but keeps its eyes on the stars.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Educational”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed using our CityPass to visit the Planetarium. I am not a huge space/science lover, but still enjoyed this visit. We really enjoyed that a movie and the Atwood Sphere experience was included with our pass. We didn't need a lot of time here, so it's probably best it was part of our pass. Otherwise, I would probably bypass this on my trip, but that's just my opinion. If you like space and really get into that, it is a neat thing to see.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    228
    195
    85
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not really for adults”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I've gone here a couple of times since I moved to Chicago and the displays and the interactive exhibits are very good if you are a child but the most of the things to see are directed at children.

I don't mean to say it is bad by any terms but if you are a child you will enjoy it, the same way adults will enjoy the Art institute.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I am a memeber so I feel that is a great bargain. I can go as many times as I want with my grandchildren. The Sky Shows are great. There is a lot of hands on activities. There are also people in the halls doing experiments.There is an early navigational instrument display. There is also a section tracing early navigation around the world. You can also learn about the Maya and astronomy or you can learn about space explorations. These are just a few of the many things you can see. I have two teenagers and a toddler and they all seem to love the planetarium.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great for rich kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our grandsons, ages 8 and 10, really enjoyed parts of this. It is very pricey, however. It cost us $76 to get in. Lockers were $2. Lunch set us back close to $40 in the cafe inside the building and no free refills on the (almost medium size) $2 drink. Parking was $22. We saw one movie and it was okay-- Undiscovered Worlds. I fell asleep a couple of times. The museum has many interactive parts to it which the boys enjoyed. They especially liked the play area where they could send a rocket up, wear space backpacks, try a space toilet and bed, walk through space, etc. They spent at least an hour in there. I just question the need for such a high price. The place was packed, though, so I guess I'm the only one questioning it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, MN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A fun place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have traveled a lot, and always visit the planetarium if the place has one. This is another in a long line of great ones. My wife brings something to poke me with because I always go to sleep at some point during the presentation, sometimes immediately after the lights go out. As we whizzed around the universe I am always amazed at the ingenuity and detail of the presentations. The Adler was one of the best. A fine presentation at a fair price. Go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adler Planetarium also viewed

 

Been to Adler Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adler Planetarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.