We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adler Planetarium

Adler Planetarium
1300 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60605 (South Loop)
312 922 7827
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Adler Planetarium like an insider
$35*
and up
Ranked #95 of 952 things to do in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Adler has a prime location on the lake, but keeps its eyes on the stars.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It’s a bit of a disappointment. It’s seems like you don’t get access to the interesting parts without paying extra. The normal entrence only gives access to some pretty boring exhibitions, and it's a mess finding out what's including and what is not. And the chicken-sandwich in the cafe was very disappointing as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    227
    195
    85
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
1,129 reviews 1,129 reviews
601 attraction reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
580 helpful votes 580 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibits for young and old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spent Sunday morning here with spouse. Arrived at 9:30am as it opened. No crowds. Basic admission with one show (Night Sky Live). Spent our time in the Jim Lovell exhibits (lots of artifacts, films, etc) and really enjoyed the early astronomers and telescopes exhibits.

Planetarium show was interesting (more factual than entertaining) to show what's visible in the night sky (even in urban Chicago) and he was happy to answer my questions one-on-one after the show.

Nice gift shop, too, for space fans young and old.

Parking can be hard if Bears fans take all the nearby parking spots at Soldier Field. Easy walk (or cab ride) from downtown hotels. Near Field Museum and Shedd Aquarium, too. Food available.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Va
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had some nice exhibits. The views from the place of the lake and city were spectacular. The movie we saw (Space Junk) was informative. I really liked the 100-year old planetarium we could go up inside. Overall a decent space museum, nothing too fancy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Enjoyed our visit here. It's quite mixed - some exhibits obviously aimed at children and some suitable for adults who may have some prior astronomy knowledge. The shows are fun. We were left hungry as although they state that lunch is available until 2pm, when we went to the cafe at 1.50 they had already closed the kitchen which was frustrating.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gem of a Chicago museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It may not get the press or the adulation of some other Chicago museums (Shedd, Field, Science and Industry), but the Alder is a great museum in a wonderful location. We've been members for years. Last night, I took my six year old son for an "astro overnight" - sleeping in the museum and enjoying all it has to offer in the process. The "Planet XPlorers" exhibit is wonderful for small children, while the various sky shows, demos, and exhibits offered plenty to keep our first-grader engaged. Definitely worth a visit while in Chicago!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adler Planetarium also viewed

 

Been to Adler Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adler Planetarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.