We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best natural History museum I have ever been to.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Field Museum

The Field Museum
1400 S Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60605-2496 (South Loop)
312 922 9410
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Field Museum like an insider
Special Offer
$96*
and up
Chicago CityPass
Ranked #20 of 953 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of America's premier natural history museums, the Field's "Live over Time" exhibit now houses "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus rex ever discovered.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best natural History museum I have ever been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I could spend a week here. DC has nothing on Chicago in this case. I could spend a week here. DC has nothing on Chicago in this case. I could spend a week here. DC has nothing on Chicago in this case. I could spend a week here. DC has nothing on Chicago in this case.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,537
    793
    301
    67
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Nature Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Although not quite as extensive as the Natural History Museum in NYC, it was very similar in many respects. Docents were numerous and very helpful

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Even if you have already seen dino exhibits elsewhere...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

don't miss this museum. The plaques frequently state, quite truthfully, that it is unknown how this or that happened, but that it is guessed that such and such caused this or that. The portrayals are extremely honest. We also enjoyed a special short-term exhibit. We were a few days too early for the special exhibit about the cave paintings in southern France. That hurt! But the exhibit may travel elsewhere, so we hope to catch up to it someday. It was kinda cool that a McDonalds restaurant was on-site. There were multiple hints that this museum cares about making the experience a good one for kids--as well as adults.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lions, and Tigers, and Bears, oh my! FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Anthropology, Sociology, Ancient History, Cultural, and Natural History all tied int together. There is a lot to see, learn, and read. I especially enjoyed the Evolving Planet where there were dinosaurs, an single-celled organisms. There was also a short film on the theories how dinos became extinct. . Another section I really found fascinating was Ice-age mammoth hunters, how families first settled in villages, empires of the Incas and Aztecs, and many other groups of people I never heard of. Learning about Ancient life was fascinating.
In other sections of the museum one can learn about plants, animals, and beautiful gems. Inside Ancient Egypt was fascinating learning about tombs and mummies.Mammals of Asia taught me about tigers, leopards and bears. The African exhibit was full of valuable information along with the Pacific Northwest. And wait to you see the shoe display! Lots and Lots of shoes, all kinds. North American Indians was fun and the dinosaur Sue is in the museum lobby proud and tall. We ate lunch in the cafeteria which was decently priced and the food was good. There is also a McDonalds in the museum as well. I was disappointed about parking being $22.00. I felt that was a complete rip off. Other than that it was a nice day. We spent about 5 hours at the museum including breaking for lunch. .

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All Day Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I will admit I made a trip to Illinois from MN just to be able to come here and see Sue. Stayed in a town with my boyfriend's family a few hours away, but we made the trip to Chicago that morning. The museum, if you are interested enough and want to get your money's worth, can be an all day event. You walk in and there are some exhibits off to your side but what really catches your attention is the T rex at the far end of the entry! I made my way straight toward it. They have specialists there walking around to inform you of the story of Sue from the evidence they have based on the conditions of her bones and where she was found--very cool and makes the experience better than having to read off of a plaque for example. When I was there during summer 2012, they also had a Genghis Khan exhibit and others I can't quite remember. The Egyptian exhibit is also pretty neat. The dinosaurs were by far my favorite part. The only downside is they have the world's most expensive McDonald's inside, and there aren't really other places to eat in the building which is unfortunate.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Field Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Field Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Field Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.