We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Field Museum

The Field Museum
1400 S Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60605-2496
312 922 9410
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$94*
and up
Chicago CityPass
Ranked #26 of 307 Attractions in Chicago
Type: Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Observatories/ Planetariums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of America's premier natural history museums, the Field's "Live over Time" exhibit now houses "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus rex ever discovered.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Glastonbury, CT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Huge Museum, great traveling exhibit about Genghis Khan.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    687
    262
    63
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This museum was very cool, very big and it took a while to see everything. Will definately go back, the Mummie Exhibit was very interesting. You must plan on being in this museum all day!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brings cultures, animals and history to life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Chicago's premier museum does more than entertain, it teaches painlessly. From kids to adults, there is something for everyone at the Field. A skeleton of the largest dinosaur, aborigine villages, Egyptian mummies. Be sure to see the videos of museum researchers who trek to the ends of the earth to save endangered species.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My least favorite museum in Chicago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Let's just say it's no Smithsonian or New York. There are lots of replicas, and one dinosaur.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braidwood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gigantic museum with lots to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I went on a Friday with 3 of my friends and none of us had ever been to the Field Museum before. We decided just to get the regular admission (no special exhibits) and we spent several hours at the museum and still felt like there was lots to see. Although I do not have kids and might not be the best judge, it seemes that this museum would appeal to kids as well as adults - there seems to be plenty of hands-on or simpler explanations and colors and sounds to keep the kids entertained while also providing higher-level info so that adults won't be bored, either. The dinosaurs (and the entire exhibit, really) are really worth seeing. The 4 of us really enjoyed our time and I think I'd definitely go back - I really enjoyed the portions of the museum that I saw on our visit, and there is still so much to see! Also, we used the parking garage right at the museum and liked the convenience of easily finding a spot - and the price really isn't too bad if you're staying for a few hours at the museum or visiting multiple museums/attractions in the area.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Field Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Field Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Field Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.