We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the last "Great Movie Palaces"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chicago Theatre

The Chicago Theatre
175 N. State Street, Chicago, IL 60601
312-462-6301
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Book a Tour
Ranked #14 of 307 Attractions in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Chicago's breath-taking National Landmark Theatre hosts concerts, comedians, theatrical productions and special events every year. The 3,600 seat auditorium is seven stories high, and the vertical "C-H-I-C-A-G-O," sign is one of the few such signs in existence today. A symbol of State Street and Chicago, the marquee is a landmark in itself, as is the Wurlitzer pipe organ. Patrons can also go behind-the-scenes on their educational venue tour, which runs a few times a week.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the last "Great Movie Palaces"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

As a Chicagoan, I was supportive of the theatre restoration back in the early 80's. Since I remember seeing double feature first run films back in the 50's and enjoyed live entertainment by the Four Freshman, the Crewcuts, Rosemary Clooney, etc. between films, I was delighted to see it restored and providing a great stage for top entertainers today. An anchor on State Street in the Loop.... a must see for visitors of our fine city.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    107
    14
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Magnificant, well-maintained venue; excellent acoustics for Frankie Valli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

During a brief business meeting in Chicago, we had the opportunity to see Frankie Valli, live, in concert at the Chicago Theater. The theater is very well maintained in it's original French Baroque style and seems suspended in time from it's opening in 1921. This was our first visit there and greatly enjoyed absorbing the architectural magnificence of the structure. We had seats in the front of a small box at the front of the mezzanine, and the acoustics were fantastic (as was Mr. Valli's voice, even after many years).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Radiolab at the Chicago Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife got us tickets to Radiolab Live for my birthday. It was my first time at the Chicago Theatre and so when we went into the foyer I actualy needed a moment to take it all in.

The level of detail all around the building is phenomenal. The main hall is probably the most beautiful auditorium I have seen so far.

The show itself was phenomenal and though we got side seats we could see everything and enjoy high sound quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a great intimate venue and would love to go back again! Such beautiful detail all around and not a bad seat in the house. Only one washroom for each sex which made the wait a little tedious but worth it to be in such a unique piece of history!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Book of Morman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went to see this musical in June at The Bank of America Theatre. Venue is awesome! Great sound, comfortable seats. The show was awesome as well! Would love to go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chicago Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chicago Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.