We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Institute of Chicago

Art Institute of Chicago
111 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-6404
312 443 3600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$80*
and up
Go Chicago Card
Ranked #1 of 307 Attractions in Chicago
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This Classical Renaissance structure, guarded by two bronze lions at its entrance, boasts one of the world's great art collections, including the trademark "American Gothic."
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We enjoyed the American collection and the Art Institute has one of the best museum shops I've been to.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,169
    1,127
    165
    29
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Impressionism galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This museum has a wonderful selections of paintings, especially Monet and Manet, as well as numerous other famous, well known pieces. I spent the most time in the impressionist wing, but strolled through the rest of the museum too, lasting about five hours. If you love paintings, this is the place to go.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss the miniatures on the lower level”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have been many times to this amazing museum but had never seen the miniature rooms on the lower level. It is now my favorite permanent exhibit

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Art Museum in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I might be biased because I live in Chicago, but I've visited numerous art museums in other countries and cities, and the Art Institute of Chicago has by far the best the best collection! It's a must see if you visit Chicago and have any interest at all in art. Don't miss it, and make sure you have more than just a couple hours - I could spend the entire day there!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Include this on your list when visiting Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I grew up in Chicago and never visited when I was living there. Now, I put it on my "tourist" list. Friends and family rarely accompany me as they take this treasure for granted. I have been there three times over the past 10 years. This time I took my time to savor the exhibits. Everything was great with one small exception which had nothing to do with the exhibits.

The coat check area seems to be disorganized. It cost me a scarf.

Otherwise, I plan to visit again and again while holding on to my personal effects.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Institute of Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Art Institute of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Institute of Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.